Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 74

Thread: Command Line / Launch Options

  1. #11
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    15
    Platform
    PC
    Ok, so -dx11mt raised my FPS by about 3-5 on Azure Coast in a thunderstorm. Adding -pthreads4 after that dropped the FPS back to where it was before.
    http://steamcommunity.com/id/WildKarrde/
    AMD FX-8150 8-Core 3.6Ghz Processor - 32GB DDR3 2133 RAM - PNY GTX 770 OC2 4GB Video - 256GB SSD - Windows 10 - Logitech G27
    The following 2 users likes this Post: TMoney, yusupov


  2. #12
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    882
    Platform
    PC
    nice, thx for reporting.

    i did -fpscap 63 & mt & noticed either microstutter or low framerate, i was doing career mode & just felt like racing so i didnt bother putting fraps on. going to remove the fpscap for now & see if it goes away, v-sync seems fine anyway
    Thrustmaster TX/CSR Elites/TH8a Shifter
    980OC/5820k@4.5/8GB DDR4@2400(stock)/WINDOWS 10

  3. #13
    Moderator Aldo Zampatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ushuaia, Argentina - Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    1,779
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by yusupov View Post
    nice, thx for reporting.

    i did -fpscap 63 & mt & noticed either microstutter or low framerate, i was doing career mode & just felt like racing so i didnt bother putting fraps on. going to remove the fpscap for now & see if it goes away, v-sync seems fine anyway
    try those two independently please if you can
    Systems tested with Project CARS 2:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4790K - nVidia GTX 1080ti - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 7700HQ - nVidia GTX 1050 - 16GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 6700HQ - nvidia GTX 980m - 8GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i5 4670K - 2x AMD 7970 - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4700HQ - nVidia 970M - 16GB RAM - (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


  4. #14
    WMD Member TMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by yusupov View Post
    nice, thx for reporting.

    i did -fpscap 63 & mt & noticed either microstutter or low framerate, i was doing career mode & just felt like racing so i didnt bother putting fraps on. going to remove the fpscap for now & see if it goes away, v-sync seems fine anyway
    63? Well what's nice about the fps cap is it doesn't effect performance when you dip below your refresh rate like vsync does. But that's the idea of adaptive vsync I guess.
    CPU: i7 920 4.02GHz - H100 | GPU: EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX 3GB | Racing Wheel: Logitech G25

    Motherboard: EVGA X58 Classified 3 | Audio: Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro with 5.1 Surround | Display: Asus 26" 1920X1200

    RAM: 12GB Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz | PSU: Corsair HX1050 | Keyboard+Mouse: Logitech G15 & G500 | OS: Windows 8 64-bit

  5. #15
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    882
    Platform
    PC
    well the reason i (used to, at least) always use FPS cap when possible is bc supposedly vsync causes input lag, im using it nowadays in a few sims & dont notice anything tho
    Thrustmaster TX/CSR Elites/TH8a Shifter
    980OC/5820k@4.5/8GB DDR4@2400(stock)/WINDOWS 10

  6. #16
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    882
    Platform
    PC
    also can only say w/ MT enabled im not noticing any of the issues but i havent replicated the situation yet, when i go back to career ill try both by themselves & see if i/fraps notices anything
    Thrustmaster TX/CSR Elites/TH8a Shifter
    980OC/5820k@4.5/8GB DDR4@2400(stock)/WINDOWS 10

  7. #17
    Moderator Aldo Zampatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ushuaia, Argentina - Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    1,779
    Platform
    PC
    I love how VSYNC looks, and I hate input lag, so a few tricks to eliminate or reduce input lag to a minimum are enabling VSYNC and limiting your framerate just one frame below your sync

    For a 60hz VSYNC, limit your framerate to 59.

    Also, equally (if not better) good is to turn render frames ahead =1. You can even combine everything and input lag shouldn't be an issue for most people.

    Beware that others are more prone to input lag and even this solution/workaround won't be sufficient for them and that's just perfect
    Systems tested with Project CARS 2:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4790K - nVidia GTX 1080ti - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 7700HQ - nVidia GTX 1050 - 16GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 6700HQ - nvidia GTX 980m - 8GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i5 4670K - 2x AMD 7970 - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4700HQ - nVidia 970M - 16GB RAM - (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The following 3 users likes this Post: Chanur, Joris GvK, yusupov


  8. #18
    WMD Member Terronium-12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    11
    Wait, so alt+enter works again for resizing the window?
    Core i5-3570K/XSPC Rasa RS360 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | G.Skill Sniper 12GB DDR3-1600 | ASUS GTX 970 STRIX | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | Samsung Spinpoint HD103SJ 1TB | Seagate Expansion Drive 1TB | Gateway FHD2402: 1920x1080

    Logitech G27 | Forceware 352.84 WHQL | Corsair Vengeance 1500 5.1/7.1 Headset | T-12's SweetFX V1 // T-12's SweetFX V2 // T-12's SweetFX V3

  9. #19
    Moderator Aldo Zampatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ushuaia, Argentina - Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    1,779
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Terronium-12 View Post
    Wait, so alt+enter works again for resizing the window?
    Nope it doesn't. At least on both of my systems
    Systems tested with Project CARS 2:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4790K - nVidia GTX 1080ti - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 7700HQ - nVidia GTX 1050 - 16GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 6700HQ - nvidia GTX 980m - 8GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i5 4670K - 2x AMD 7970 - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4700HQ - nVidia 970M - 16GB RAM - (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


  10. #20
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Southampton UK
    Posts
    1,013
    IT is still a very much WIP and sometimes game files lose sync between pCARS and the tool, but you can use...

    -autods (create a server using a publicly available dedicated server)
    -searchds "x" (where "x" is the name of the dedicated server you wish to create a server on)
    i7 5820k @ stock (for now) | Gigabye X99 Gaming 5P | 16GB DDR4 3000MHz @2133 (for now) | Sapphire Nitro R9 390 | Fanatec GT3 RS v1 & Clubsport Pedals | Windows 10 home| Samsung 512GB NMVe | 512GB MX100 SSD | BenQ XL2730Z
    The following user likes this Post: Riccardo De Rosa


Similar Threads

  1. Game does not launch past first title screen (Fatal Error)
    By slashbasher24 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28-02-2017, 19:20
  2. Game minimises on launch - cannot open
    By WeAreTheC0SM0S in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2015, 06:24
  3. Xbox shut down launch race
    By KRidiK Envyy in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2015, 19:12
  4. Command line for the dev mode?
    By tonaz in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 17:18
  5. Career Options ish
    By twistedvaccine in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 11:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •