Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 74

Thread: Command Line / Launch Options

  1. #21
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    169
    Platform
    PC
    Is this a working shortcut?

    "G:\Program Files\Project CARS\pCARS64.exe" -novr -devcameras " -pthreads 4"

    I've read somewhere that parameters containing spaces (pthreads 4) need quotes.

  2. #22
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    5,788
    Platform
    PC
    ^^^^
    \Steam\steamapps\common\pCars\pCARS64.exe -novr -devcameras -pthreads 4

    Or you could use steam launch options....

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	launch options 2.JPG 
Views:	804 
Size:	35.3 KB 
ID:	202349
    Last edited by Roger Prynne; 14-05-2015 at 15:25.
    Addressing expectations on realism and simulation - Project CARS PC Leaderboards - Learn how to race properly - Forum Resources for Pcars
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A good explanation of the different tyre types - FFB Guide - Official FFB Guide - A new home for all your setups - How to use the Advance Search
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 378.66)| Displays: 50" LG 4K UHD TV 3840x2160 @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim brake mod (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - Anniversary

    The following 2 users likes this Post: N0body Of The Goat, thisisbleep


  3. #23
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    169
    Platform
    PC
    thanks! so no need for quotes

  4. #24
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    5,788
    Platform
    PC
    Not on this occasion no.
    Addressing expectations on realism and simulation - Project CARS PC Leaderboards - Learn how to race properly - Forum Resources for Pcars
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A good explanation of the different tyre types - FFB Guide - Official FFB Guide - A new home for all your setups - How to use the Advance Search
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 378.66)| Displays: 50" LG 4K UHD TV 3840x2160 @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim brake mod (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - Anniversary


  5. #25
    WMD Member Terronium-12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    11
    I may have found an answer for our downsampling needs, that is until the command line is restored (?). The only problem is I can't get it to cooperate at current but perhaps someone else will have luck...

    http://blog.metaclassofnil.com/?page_id=582

    It works with every other game I've tried it with thus far with no tinkering involved. Perhaps pCars is a special case, or so I hope.
    Core i5-3570K/XSPC Rasa RS360 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | G.Skill Sniper 12GB DDR3-1600 | ASUS GTX 970 STRIX | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | Samsung Spinpoint HD103SJ 1TB | Seagate Expansion Drive 1TB | Gateway FHD2402: 1920x1080

    Logitech G27 | Forceware 352.84 WHQL | Corsair Vengeance 1500 5.1/7.1 Headset | T-12's SweetFX V1 // T-12's SweetFX V2 // T-12's SweetFX V3

  6. #26
    Moderator Aldo Zampatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ushuaia, Argentina - Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    1,091
    Platform
    PC
    I think I tried it while ago. Didn't work but don't remember why. I'll give it another go next week
    Systems tested with Project CARS 2:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4790K - nVidia GTX 1080ti - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 7700HQ - nVidia GTX 1050 - 16GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 6700HQ - nvidia GTX 980m - 8GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i5 4670K - 2x AMD 7970 - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4700HQ - nVidia 970M - 16GB RAM - (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


  7. #27
    WMD Member Terronium-12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    11
    That's not particularly promising, coupled with another failed attempt on my end. Ugh.
    Core i5-3570K/XSPC Rasa RS360 | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | G.Skill Sniper 12GB DDR3-1600 | ASUS GTX 970 STRIX | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | Samsung Spinpoint HD103SJ 1TB | Seagate Expansion Drive 1TB | Gateway FHD2402: 1920x1080

    Logitech G27 | Forceware 352.84 WHQL | Corsair Vengeance 1500 5.1/7.1 Headset | T-12's SweetFX V1 // T-12's SweetFX V2 // T-12's SweetFX V3

  8. #28
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    138
    Platform
    PC
    Excuse my ignorance, but what is pthreads in laymans terms ergo >2 e.g. 4 should improve performance (FPS)?

  9. #29
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    5,788
    Platform
    PC
    -pthreads 4 for example on a quad core would use one thread per wheel.
    Makes a lot of difference for me on my aging PC.
    Addressing expectations on realism and simulation - Project CARS PC Leaderboards - Learn how to race properly - Forum Resources for Pcars
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A good explanation of the different tyre types - FFB Guide - Official FFB Guide - A new home for all your setups - How to use the Advance Search
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 378.66)| Displays: 50" LG 4K UHD TV 3840x2160 @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim brake mod (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - Anniversary


  10. #30
    Moderator Aldo Zampatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ushuaia, Argentina - Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    1,091
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Prynne View Post
    -pthreads 4 for example on a quad core would use one thread per wheel.
    Makes a lot of difference for me on my aging PC.
    Default is 2 (thus the dual core minimum requirement), You can use 3 or 4 additionally. In high-end systems, I haven't see it making a lot of difference, but as Roger correctly stated, some chaps with lower/mid-end system found it very useful
    Systems tested with Project CARS 2:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4790K - nVidia GTX 1080ti - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 7700HQ - nVidia GTX 1050 - 16GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 6700HQ - nvidia GTX 980m - 8GB RAM (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i5 4670K - 2x AMD 7970 - 16GB RAM (Desktop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Core i7 4700HQ - nVidia 970M - 16GB RAM - (Laptop)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Similar Threads

  1. Game does not launch past first title screen (Fatal Error)
    By slashbasher24 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28-02-2017, 18:20
  2. Game minimises on launch - cannot open
    By WeAreTheC0SM0S in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2015, 06:24
  3. Xbox shut down launch race
    By KRidiK Envyy in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2015, 19:12
  4. Command line for the dev mode?
    By tonaz in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 17:18
  5. Career Options ish
    By twistedvaccine in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 11:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •