Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Game doesn't even start up, (Black Screen)

  1. #1
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    8
    Platform
    PC

    Angry Game doesn't even start up, (Black Screen)

    When I launch the game through steam, it launches the game, but then goes full black. I can't alt tab, i cant ctrl + alt + del, i cant turn off my computer, and my keyboard and mouse goes dead. Wtf am I supposed to do/?

  2. #2
    Superkart Pilot Cuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Reston Virginia
    Posts
    191
    Platform
    PC
    Are you using Logitech wheel? I had this problem and ended up launching game from the Logitech Profiler. That fixed it.
    PC: Intel Haswell Core i7 5820K (water cooled); ASUS X99-Pro ATX 2011-3 Motherboard; Crucial 16GB 4x4 DDR4 2400 DIMM; EVGA nVIDIA GeFORCE GTX 1080; TrackIR, ButtKicker Gmr2
    Wheel: Fanatec CSW V2, CSR Elite Pedals; HTC Vive; Widows 10; NVIDIA driver 372.70

  3. #3
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,120
    Quote Originally Posted by 17kangm View Post
    When I launch the game through steam, it launches the game, but then goes full black. I can't alt tab, i cant ctrl + alt + del, i cant turn off my computer, and my keyboard and mouse goes dead. Wtf am I supposed to do/?
    Well you could start by actually giving some details, like has it ever worked and just stopped... what hardware have you got... we will try and help, but mind reading is not a particular specialism around here

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  4. #4
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    7,691
    Platform
    PC
    Yeah please put you system specs in your sig so we can see what we are dealing with.
    What programs have you got running in the background?
    What wheel are you using?
    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 385.69)| Displays: 55" LG 4K UHD TV @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim mod springs (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A few helpful links for you



  5. #5
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC
    Hi,

    I'm having the same problem as 17kangm.
    When launching the game it just goes to black screen and I have to force a restart.

    I had the game working fine before I reinstalled windows. No other new programms installed after reinstall.
    I've read that it could be a problem with logitech, although it worked fine before...

    Things I've tried:
    Disconnecting wheel before boot
    Connecting wheel after boot
    Starting game with/without wheel connected
    Deleting 'graphicsconfigdx11.xml'
    Starting game as admin from the following locations: .exe file, Steam, Desktop shortcut, AMD Gaming evolved, Logitech Profiler

    I've also verified the files a few times in Steam and searched forums for 5 hrs but to no avail.

    The game did start successfully twice today. Once on the very first start after install without wheel connected, and once from AMD Gaming evolved. Cannot be repeated, though

    Any ideas would be great.

    Cheers
    PC - Win 8.1 64 bit - MSI 970A G43 - AMD Radeon R9 270x - AMD FX 8320 - 8GB RAM - Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB

    Logitech GE Force G27

  6. #6
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    175
    Platform
    PC
    im only getting the black screen sometimes, and only when i try to tab back into the game..

    today its happened 3x, only other software running is Task Manager, Logitech profiler, Steam, AV, AI suite II, CCleaner monitor
    AMD FX 6300 3.5g Black Edition / GTX 1060 6Gb / DDR3 16g@1333MHz / Win 10 / Logitech DF Pro

  7. #7
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Windy View Post
    Hi,

    I'm having the same problem as 17kangm.
    When launching the game it just goes to black screen and I have to force a restart.

    I had the game working fine before I reinstalled windows. No other new programms installed after reinstall.
    I've read that it could be a problem with logitech, although it worked fine before...

    Things I've tried:
    Disconnecting wheel before boot
    Connecting wheel after boot
    Starting game with/without wheel connected
    Deleting 'graphicsconfigdx11.xml'
    Starting game as admin from the following locations: .exe file, Steam, Desktop shortcut, AMD Gaming evolved, Logitech Profiler

    I've also verified the files a few times in Steam and searched forums for 5 hrs but to no avail.

    The game did start successfully twice today. Once on the very first start after install without wheel connected, and once from AMD Gaming evolved. Cannot be repeated, though

    Any ideas would be great.

    Cheers
    ********[SOLVED]********

    Switched Comodo Firewall to 'game mode' which prevents any notifications popping up.
    Even though I had added exceptions to all relevant programms, I guess it was still causing issues...
    PC - Win 8.1 64 bit - MSI 970A G43 - AMD Radeon R9 270x - AMD FX 8320 - 8GB RAM - Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB

    Logitech GE Force G27
    The following user likes this Post: Mahjik


Similar Threads

  1. [CLOSED] The Black Screen Bug (game still running)
    By Umer Ahmad in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-07-2015, 13:45
  2. Game loads to black screen then goes back to desktop
    By dfultPlyr in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2015, 05:21
  3. Black screen when the game starts
    By Scorpion50 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-05-2015, 18:47
  4. Game menu massive slow down after black screen.
    By Glen Orpheus in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-05-2015, 20:12
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-05-2015, 15:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •