Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Vintage stockcar inventational

  1. #1
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    72
    Platform
    PS4

    Vintage stockcar inventational

    Why don't they run on the correct layout at Watkins Glen. Being a huge NASCAR fan, it bugs the mess out of me

  2. #2
    GT3 Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florianópolis
    Posts
    4,996
    Platform
    XBOX1
    Nascar used the boot befor 86... maybe it's just that.

  3. #3
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    403
    I'm pretty sure that NO chicane and NO boot was used by NASCAR back in the time of the CAPER (1990), I'll try to find a video.

    Yep 175 mph on back straight back then, no boot and no chicane used


    Race start at 5.50

    Nice on board cockpit camera lap with Ricky Rudd at 10.29

    Last edited by ONT; 22-07-2015 at 00:43.
    Full control of car at start, pit stops, flags and after the end of a race FTW.

    Keep it real



    CBM 64
    OS: Commodore KERNAL/Commodore BASIC 2.0 GEOS
    CPU: MOS Technology 6510 0.985 MHz
    Memory: 64 kB RAM + 20 kB ROM
    Graphics: VIC-II (320 × 200, 16 colors, sprites, raster interrupt)
    Sound: SID 6581 (3× Osc, 4× wave, filter, ADSR, ring)
    Overclocked a little to run pCARS
    The following user likes this Post: 3800racingfool


  4. #4
    GT3 Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florianópolis
    Posts
    4,996
    Platform
    XBOX1
    Quote Originally Posted by ONT View Post
    I'm pretty sure that the chicane was NOT used by NASCAR back in the time of the CAPEER I'll try to find a video.

    Yep 175 mph on back straight back then

    I don't think so, Caper is 90, so short circuit.

    Edit: Ninja'd

  5. #5
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    403
    Quote Originally Posted by SOi TheReaper View Post
    I don't think so, Caper is 90, so short circuit.

    Edit: Ninja'd
    lol nothing get's by You


    Would be cool if SMS added a "Classic NASCAR" layout for this track, true to the times (1990).....Ian say the word..... pretty please... with sugar on top.
    Full control of car at start, pit stops, flags and after the end of a race FTW.

    Keep it real



    CBM 64
    OS: Commodore KERNAL/Commodore BASIC 2.0 GEOS
    CPU: MOS Technology 6510 0.985 MHz
    Memory: 64 kB RAM + 20 kB ROM
    Graphics: VIC-II (320 × 200, 16 colors, sprites, raster interrupt)
    Sound: SID 6581 (3× Osc, 4× wave, filter, ADSR, ring)
    Overclocked a little to run pCARS

  6. #6
    GT3 Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florianópolis
    Posts
    4,996
    Platform
    XBOX1
    Quote Originally Posted by ONT View Post
    lol nothing get's by You


    Would be cool if SMS added a "Classic NASCAR" layout for this track, true to the times (1990).....Ian say the word..... pretty please... with sugar on top.
    They only need to move the cones on the chicane? I think so...
    The following user likes this Post: ONT


  7. #7
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    545
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by ONT View Post
    I'm pretty sure that NO chicane and NO boot was used by NASCAR back in the time of the CAPER (1990), I'll try to find a video.

    Yep 175 mph on back straight back then, no boot and no chicane used


    Race start at 5.50

    Nice on board cockpit camera lap with Ricky Rudd at 10.29

    *video*
    Dear god that video brought back so many memories.
    Project Cars 2 is coming here! Okay enough with the silly signatures... I gotta find something better to put here.
    The following user likes this Post: ONT


  8. #8
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Parts unknown
    Posts
    221
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    Yeah they had to make changes to the Glen after J.D. mcDuffie's crash back in 91 I think. I didn't see that race, but I have since seen that crash on YouTube .

  9. #9
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Parts unknown
    Posts
    221
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    I just came across an article on McDuffie's death by Ed Hinton. They had to add the chicane because of that crash in 91. To lower the speed, because they were entering turn 5 at over 175.

  10. #10
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    72
    Platform
    PS4
    And why don't the races start with a rolling start?

Similar Threads

  1. Caper Monterey Stockcar (NO CHAT!)
    By Fernando Pedace in forum PCARS - Vehicles Custom Paints Download Database
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 26-07-2017, 04:28
  2. Lotus Vintage F1
    By aarontms in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19-06-2015, 08:56
  3. PS4-fair Stockcar Driver
    By JayChristmas in forum Multiplayer
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-06-2015, 10:39
  4. Stockcar with G27 in manual mode BUG REPORT
    By cashxx in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-05-2015, 13:59
  5. Vintage GT 67 Mk IV Challenge
    By GtAce36 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2015, 22:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •