Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: custom livery only showing up all black

  1. #1
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC

    custom livery only showing up all black

    Ok - I've tried and tried and am super frustrated...
    I cant figure out what I'm doing wrong...

    I downloaded the editable template for a vehicle from this site...
    I've been editing it for a while and have something I want to test...
    I've been working on it and saving it as a .psd file in photoshop CS6 as I've been working on it...
    I'm finally ready to try it in the game...
    I have the image nose up and have done a SAVE AS and have titled it AUDI_R8_LMS_LIVERY_PLAYER and saved it as a .dds file
    I have then taken this image and replaced the same named filed in the right folder in my steam app
    but when I go in the game the car shows up as all black


    what am I doing wrong here... I cant figure it out for the life of me - it seems like everyone is able to do this so easily and for someone that normally knows his way around a computer - I'm at a loss

    HELP

    if this is some easy thing if jacked up - please let me know
    otherwise if someone wants to walk me through this like I'm a 2 year old - we may be at that stage too...

    thx

  2. #2
    Superkart Pilot Reiche's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    569
    Platform
    PC
    Guess I can't help you too much cause I'm using Gimp.. Did you save it as DXT1 (I think, can't check it because I'm online on my iPhone) and with mipmaps? Did you create a flat file first?

  3. #3
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC
    I did merge all my layers and flatten it before saving it as a dds file
    What is a DXT1 file??
    Is that what I need to save it as - everything I read was edit the photo, save it as a dds file, replace the file in that textures folder.....

  4. #4
    Superkart Pilot Reiche's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    569
    Platform
    PC
    It's a way to compress the file, don't know too much about it in detail, just what is mentioned in Ryno's Painting Tips..

  5. #5
    WMD Member Neil Bateman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    751
    Platform
    PC
    Dxt1 and dxt5 are 2 of the options you can select before saving as dds, i think its dxt1 and then select all mip maps before saving.
    CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K 3.90GHz Turbo | MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 7 Intel Z97 | MEMORY: 16.00GB Kingston HyperX Fury 1600Mhz | GPU: 2 x MSI GTX970 4GB GAMING TWIN FROZER SLI | Primary Monitor: BenQ 27" XL2730Z 2560 x 1440 (WQHD) 144Hz | Secondry Monitor: HannsG HG216D" 22" 1680 x 1050 60Hz | Tablet: 9" Inch Quad Core Camera Android 4.4 16GB | PSU: Super Flower Leadex Gold 650 W | Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3 | Speakers: Dell MMS 5650 5.1 | OS Drive: 120GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO | Games Drive: Samsung 120GB 850 Evo SSD |Back Up Drive: 1TB Hitachi HDS721010CLA332 ATA Device (SATA) | External Storage: 1TB Western Digital WD Ext HDD | OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit |Cockpit: GT Omega Pro Racing Simulator Professional - RS6 Seat | Wheel: Logitech G27 | Pedals: Thrustmaster T3PA PRO | Headset: Gamdias HEPHAESTUS GHS2000 | Keyboard/Mouse: Logitech MX3200 cordless. |



    DX11 | 2560x1440 | POST PROCESSING FILTER: ON | LENS FLARE: ON | SUN FLARE EXT: FULL| SUN FLARE INT: FULL | BLOOM: ON | RAIN DROPS: ON | CREPSULAR RAYS: YES | SCREEN DIRT: YES | TEXT RES: HIGH | TEXT FILT: 16X | AA: DS2M | FXAA: HIGH | SMAA: OFF | REFLECTIONS:HIGH | ENVIRONMENT: HIGH | CAR: ULTRA | TRACK: ULTRA | SHADOW: ULTRA | M BLUR: LOW | RENDER FRAMES: 2 | GRASS: LOW | PARTICLE LEVEL: HIGH | PARTICLE DENSITY: HIGH | STRETCHED HEADLIGHTS: YES |

  6. #6
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC
    I must be missing this step
    I may have to go back to square one and re-read stuff....
    I'm not doing anything with that step whatever it is....

    I think I need someone to explain this in English for me me...

    What settings do the liveries need to be saved with?
    You save them as simple "DXT1" DDS with all MIP maps.
    Set the DDS plugin to "create new mip maps".
    The DDS file should be saved as a square image, so if a PSD file is not square (e.g. 4096x6144 pixels), you first need to resize it to 4096x4096 before exporting it to DDS).



    Whenever I go to save my flattened work I just hit save as and then I type in the file name and put .dds after it...

    That must be wrong....

    Also my image isn't square it's the regular template I downloaded from the site...
    I must resize it first apparently ???
    Last edited by the_Real_Ole; 19-09-2015 at 18:00.

  7. #7
    WMD Member Neil Bateman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    751
    Platform
    PC
    You dont resize, load up your psd, flatten image, click save as and in save options select dxt1 from drop down menu, then select all mipmaps, then save as a dds file which should be in the list along with bmp or jpeg.

    Once its saved that is your dds file and you just need to name it correctly without adding .dds at the end, if you have show file extentions enabled in windows you will see .dds at the end of the file name, if do not show file extentions enabled you wont see .dds after file name but you dont add .dds yourself.

    EDIT: Dont think anyone mentioned You must install the dds plugin for photoshop from nvidia, just do a google search for photoshop dds plugin.
    Last edited by Neil Bateman; 25-09-2015 at 10:39.
    CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K 3.90GHz Turbo | MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 7 Intel Z97 | MEMORY: 16.00GB Kingston HyperX Fury 1600Mhz | GPU: 2 x MSI GTX970 4GB GAMING TWIN FROZER SLI | Primary Monitor: BenQ 27" XL2730Z 2560 x 1440 (WQHD) 144Hz | Secondry Monitor: HannsG HG216D" 22" 1680 x 1050 60Hz | Tablet: 9" Inch Quad Core Camera Android 4.4 16GB | PSU: Super Flower Leadex Gold 650 W | Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3 | Speakers: Dell MMS 5650 5.1 | OS Drive: 120GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO | Games Drive: Samsung 120GB 850 Evo SSD |Back Up Drive: 1TB Hitachi HDS721010CLA332 ATA Device (SATA) | External Storage: 1TB Western Digital WD Ext HDD | OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit |Cockpit: GT Omega Pro Racing Simulator Professional - RS6 Seat | Wheel: Logitech G27 | Pedals: Thrustmaster T3PA PRO | Headset: Gamdias HEPHAESTUS GHS2000 | Keyboard/Mouse: Logitech MX3200 cordless. |



    DX11 | 2560x1440 | POST PROCESSING FILTER: ON | LENS FLARE: ON | SUN FLARE EXT: FULL| SUN FLARE INT: FULL | BLOOM: ON | RAIN DROPS: ON | CREPSULAR RAYS: YES | SCREEN DIRT: YES | TEXT RES: HIGH | TEXT FILT: 16X | AA: DS2M | FXAA: HIGH | SMAA: OFF | REFLECTIONS:HIGH | ENVIRONMENT: HIGH | CAR: ULTRA | TRACK: ULTRA | SHADOW: ULTRA | M BLUR: LOW | RENDER FRAMES: 2 | GRASS: LOW | PARTICLE LEVEL: HIGH | PARTICLE DENSITY: HIGH | STRETCHED HEADLIGHTS: YES |

  8. #8
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC
    Thank you - I think the plugin is the step im missing......... I'll start there and play around with it
    Thx

Similar Threads

  1. Enable custom livery's in multiplayer
    By 321Respawn in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13-09-2015, 21:24
  2. Custom livery in multiplayer mod
    By david42fr in forum Multiplayer
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-09-2015, 17:02
  3. How to make the AI using the custom livery?
    By C9 Leu in forum The Paint Shop - Car Painting & Designs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24-06-2015, 13:02
  4. Cars can have only one Custom Livery?
    By SharpEyez in forum The Paint Shop - Car Painting & Designs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19-06-2015, 07:03
  5. Can't change to custom Livery
    By Westbeef in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2015, 22:35

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •