Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Future of Project Cars as an eSport [open discussion and questions for SMS]

Rookie
    Platform
    PS4

Future of Project Cars as an eSport [open discussion and questions for SMS]

Hi everyone,

As I am a new member, I will first introduce myself before starting with my actual post. My name is Rik, I am 26 years old and living in the Netherlands. Currently I am in my last year of college focusing mainly on intellectual property law (Dutch law as well as European/international law). After project cars came out, I decided to buy myself a t300 GTE and a Playseat Challenge to start my simracing adventure. Until now I am still focusing on career mode (trying to learn all the settings), but I will for sure trying some online leagues in the future. Needless to say I am having a blast with this game, so thank you Slightly Mad Studios and all the developers that have put so much work into this game.

Basically I created this thread to start an open discussion with all stakeholders (SMS, players, pro teams and maybe even possible sponsors) about Project Cars and its place in the eSports scene. At this moment there are some efforts being made with the SMS-R Championship and the collaboration with ESL. I have read multiple posts about this subject in the forums, but it is still not clear to me what the vision of Slightly Mad Studios is in regard to Project Cars as an eSport. Therefore it would be nice if a representative of Slightly Mad Studios could answer the following questions to create some more clarity.

- What is the vision of Slightly Mad Studios in regard to Project Cars being an eSport in a broader sense (i.e. what are you guys aiming for)?
    - What are your thoughts about the possible prize money and how would you fund the competitions?
    - What are your thoughts about the structure of racing leagues and would you be willing to host/organize a ‘World Championship’ yourself (see iRacing for example)?