Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: "Automatic tyre choice" question

  1. #1
    WMD Member Alex911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    8

    "Automatic tyre choice" question

    Hi,

    Does anybody know what kind of tyres are fitted at the beginning of a race if you choose "automatic by weather" in the settings?

    For wet/dry, it is pretty obvious. But what about soft/medium slicks? Does it go with temperature, or is the softer compound selected by default?

    It is even more confusing when a car can be fitted with road or trackday tyres? What happens then?

    Of course, you can just force what you want in the settings. But as it has to be saved, it will then become the default choice for that track. So if it is raining next time you start an online race, for example, you will be at the start with your last choice tyres (slick), right?

    I just would like to know if there is any known logic implemented?
    CPU Intel Core2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz | RAM 8Gb DDR2-1066 | GPU ATI Radeon HD6870 1024Mo| OS Win 7 64-bit SP1 | Wheel Logitech G27

  2. #2
    Umer Ahmad
    Guest
    iirc, if Dry weather you will be fitted with MEDIUMS. That's all, no considerations for temperature, elevation, clouds, sun angle or anything else.

  3. #3
    WMD Member Jussi Viljami Karjalainen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3,277
    Platform
    PC
    With road cars you get tyres that are supposed to be the closest representatives of the tyres you'd get when you buy the car. So most of the Road C cars for example will get the All Weathers and most of the Road A will get the Mediums. I'm not aware of any that get the track tyre by default, because that's not what you'd get for a car you drive on the road.

    But this is easy to check: Set your setup up for automatic tyres, go to a track in different conditions and check what the tyres are with the telemetry.
    CPU: Intel i7 2600K @ 4,6 GHz | GPU: Gigabyte GTX 770 4GB Windforce 3 | MOBO: ASUS P8P67 Pro | RAM: 4 x 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600 | Sound: ASUS Xonar U7 | PSU: NZXT HALE90 650W 80+ Gold | OS: Win8 x64 | Wheel: Thrustmaster T500 RS GT wheel/pedals, Logitech G25 shifter | Monitor: 2x23" IPS-LCD 1920x1080 60Hz & 42" 1920x1080 60Hz | SpeedTest | PingTest | PingTest to UK
    Sim history: IndyCar Racing I & II, F1GP2, Grand Prix Legends, Sports Car GT, Richard Burns Rally, GT Legends, Race/GT-R Evolution/Race On/etc., RaceRoom Racing Experience, SimRaceWay, Live For Speed, netKar Pro, Assetto Corsa, rFactor 1 & 2, among others...

    My road car OEM style setups (updated occasionally when I find new info) over at P.CARS Setups Database

    My Suspension Calculator spreadsheet for Project CARS v1.3.5.2 - Updated on 16.10.2016!

    Suspension Calculator now available on the P.CARS Setups Database website!

    Next Gen = More Biscuit!
    The following user likes this Post:


  4. #4
    WMD Member Alex911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    8
    Thank you guys. It makes it a bit clearer now.
    CPU Intel Core2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz | RAM 8Gb DDR2-1066 | GPU ATI Radeon HD6870 1024Mo| OS Win 7 64-bit SP1 | Wheel Logitech G27

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 27
    Last Post: 14-09-2015, 18:52
  2. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 24-07-2015, 09:30
  3. [ANSWERED] Question about tyre choice.
    By Vic Flange in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-06-2015, 06:17
  4. Telemetry varying between "Free Practice" & "Time Trial"?
    By Ripgroove in forum The Garage - Car Setup Talk
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 27-05-2015, 08:04
  5. "Community Ambassador" Trophy Question
    By Lynsch in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19-05-2015, 23:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •