Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 89

Thread: My budget triple PLP set up.

  1. #1
    GT4 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,091
    Platform
    PC

    My budget triple PLP set up.

    So I recently had my main monitor die on me (PCars broke it, honest)and needed a quick fix, I cooked up this idea of a cheap triple set up and found a Samsung 26" 1920x1200 screen cheap and thought about a PLP set up as I don't have the space for an LLL set up, did some calculations on screen size using an online calculator and found I could use a couple of 17"s on the sides in 5:4 ratio with 1280x1024 flipped to give 1024x1280, so I bought a couple of Dell 1708fp that allow rotate, swivel and up/down movement so no expensive mounts needed

    So yesterday it all arrived and I threw it together and fired it up, I can't use Nvidia surround as it doesn't do PLP, so after a bit of research I found Softth but that is DX9 only for the time being, then discovered window size in the Steam options, chucked it on 3968x1200 and voila, needs a bit of lining up and colour correction and I can't do bezel correction but the whole lot only cost 110 for the 3 screens and I am running it on my old GTX770 which is doing a good job at near 60fps!!!

    Anyway here are a couple of shots I took, I am still playing with colour and lining up but it really immerses you in the game so much more, it's great being able to see the apex's.

    Next thing is to get it borderless and get rid of the Windows stuff.

    The desktop picture I got lined up better after playing with monitor config in Nvidia, seems I have to have the position of the side ones slightly different in relation to the centre, still not perfect but nothing ever is, for now I'm a happy racer.

    Enjoy

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0191.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	188.4 KB 
ID:	221145Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0195.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	185.1 KB 
ID:	221146
    'Racers Without Borders'
    https://steamcommunity.com/groups/RW...GINTERNATIONAL
    https://discord.gg/b7g9wGf
    http://rwbracing.club/
    Commodore 64, 64K RAM, Tape Drive, Grundig TV. Overclocked ;-)

  2. #2
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    314
    Platform
    PS4
    Thats sweet lookin' man.
    The following user likes this Post: Charger


  3. #3
    GT4 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,091
    Platform
    PC
    It's cheap and sweet lol, I'm a tight git!
    'Racers Without Borders'
    https://steamcommunity.com/groups/RW...GINTERNATIONAL
    https://discord.gg/b7g9wGf
    http://rwbracing.club/
    Commodore 64, 64K RAM, Tape Drive, Grundig TV. Overclocked ;-)

  4. #4
    WMD Member John Hargreaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    2,190
    Platform
    PC
    Looks fantastic there, could you explain in a bit more detail about how you did this? I have tried softTH in the past, but as you say it's dx9 only. Did you set up your windows desktop with that combination first? I'd be up for trying this but I didn't think it was possible.
    i7-7700K/GigaByte RTX 2080/Win10 64bit/32Gb RAM/Asus Xonar DX+Beyer Dynamic DT990 Pro headphones/LG 34" UM65 @2560x1080/Oculus CV1/HP Reverb/Logitech G29+G25 shifter/DSD P2 button box

    WMD1 + WMD2 Member

  5. #5
    GT4 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,091
    Platform
    PC
    No problem John, the windows desktop picture is a test one I downloaded from google in a 5760x1200 resolution so it's big enough to cover my 3768x1200 setting and then set it to background and set windows to tile and it puts it across 3 monitors, simple.

    The monitors are still independent ie 312 or 213, 3/2 are portrait 1024x1280, centre is landscape 1920x1200 so the res of the side ones is enough to cover the height of my centre one giving an overall res of 3768x1200 or 1280 as the centre will do 1920x1280 but it pushes the wheel down a bit, I'm still playing with it, the only thing in the NV panel was to set orientation and then move the sides up to match the top of the centre although the right side I had to set slightly lower than the left to get it lined up.

    Don't try enabling NVidia surround as it cocks everything up and the middle was black and the sides went back to landscape, a few reboots later and I was back again.

    As you can see the bezel is staggered a bit but you don't really notice it and it looks worse in the pictures as I have the sides angled in to about 30degrees.

    To get PCars running on all 3 I set the res in game to my centre primary max monitors i.e 1920x1200 @60hz and windowed, then go into Steam launch option for PCars and set -windowsize 3968,1200 and it fires up on the centre and right one and I drag it across all 3 to fill them, it's a workaround but it's decent enough.

    Next thing is to get the borderless gaming software running so I can get rid of the Windows bars but I am working on it, I only spent a couple of hours and a few beers last night setting it up so it needs refining.

    This is the calculator I used to get the actual screen size vertically to match, don't forget though that monitors although they say are 26" or 20" etc are actually 25.5" and 20.1" and others are probably similar, http://www.silisoftware.com/tools/screen.php

    You only have to put in the diagonal screen size and the ratio and it will tell you the dimensions.

    This is also a good site for PLP setups http://plp-gaming.wikia.com/wiki/Goo...Monitor_Setups
    Last edited by Charger; 30-10-2015 at 19:48.
    'Racers Without Borders'
    https://steamcommunity.com/groups/RW...GINTERNATIONAL
    https://discord.gg/b7g9wGf
    http://rwbracing.club/
    Commodore 64, 64K RAM, Tape Drive, Grundig TV. Overclocked ;-)
    The following user likes this Post: John Hargreaves


  6. #6
    WMD Member Gavin Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    211
    Platform
    PC
    Seeing things like this makes me want to buy 2 more monitors, but that moneys ear marked for VR when that eventually shows it's face.
    Processor: AMD Piledriver FX-8 8350 4GHz Overclocked 4.5GHz | Videocard: Asus GTX 980 | Gamepad: Fanatec Clubsport V2 Wheel Base + Formula Rim + Clubsport V2 |
    Network Card: Asus PCE-N15 Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX | Sound Card/Headphones: Razer Kraken 7.1 | Monitor/s: Asus VN247H 24" Super Narrow Bezel
    Memory: Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR3 | PSU: OCW 650W | Keyboard+Mouse: Logitech G510 + Madcatz R.A.T 3 | OS: Windows 7 x64

  7. #7
    GT4 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,091
    Platform
    PC
    The 2 17's were only 20 each delivered lol, they also came with soundbars which will getting used in a 5.1 set up lol, bargain. Looking at your screen being 24" they would work with yours as well, I can give you the link to the seller as they have a load more!
    'Racers Without Borders'
    https://steamcommunity.com/groups/RW...GINTERNATIONAL
    https://discord.gg/b7g9wGf
    http://rwbracing.club/
    Commodore 64, 64K RAM, Tape Drive, Grundig TV. Overclocked ;-)

  8. #8
    WMD Member MAARTEN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    367
    Platform
    PC
    Great setup for little money
    My rig: Playseat Evolution - T500RS wheel with T3PA pro pedals - TH8A shifter - GT Omega monitorstand. PC-specs: ASUS Z97-A motherboard, Intel Core i7 4790K 4Ghz 8 MB, ASUS Geforce GTX 980TI 6GB, 16GB DDR3 RAM, 250 GB SSD, 2TB HD, Win 10. 3 X ACER 24" XB240H 144 Hz G-sync. Buttkicker Gamer 2 + Simvibe software. Derek SpeareDesigns P1 button box.
    Pics of my rig -- My Youtube-channel
    The following user likes this Post: Charger


  9. #9
    GT4 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,091
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by MAARTEN View Post
    Great setup for little money
    I'll swap you for your setup and a couple of beers your way?
    'Racers Without Borders'
    https://steamcommunity.com/groups/RW...GINTERNATIONAL
    https://discord.gg/b7g9wGf
    http://rwbracing.club/
    Commodore 64, 64K RAM, Tape Drive, Grundig TV. Overclocked ;-)
    The following user likes this Post: MAARTEN


  10. #10
    WMD Member MAARTEN's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    367
    Platform
    PC
    Hahaha naaa don't think so. Hard earned cash behind this rig
    My rig: Playseat Evolution - T500RS wheel with T3PA pro pedals - TH8A shifter - GT Omega monitorstand. PC-specs: ASUS Z97-A motherboard, Intel Core i7 4790K 4Ghz 8 MB, ASUS Geforce GTX 980TI 6GB, 16GB DDR3 RAM, 250 GB SSD, 2TB HD, Win 10. 3 X ACER 24" XB240H 144 Hz G-sync. Buttkicker Gamer 2 + Simvibe software. Derek SpeareDesigns P1 button box.
    Pics of my rig -- My Youtube-channel
    The following user likes this Post: Charger


Similar Threads

  1. Wheel recommendations for casual PC user on a budget.
    By balderz002 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 09-10-2015, 15:25
  2. Perfect budget set up :- Thrustmaster T100 wheelstandracing stand
    By Flystar in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-08-2015, 17:57
  3. Project CARS - PC Advice - budget, main and high end examples
    By Lars Rosenquist in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24-06-2015, 11:07
  4. Need help finding a good budget FFB Wheel for PC
    By Fallen_Tyrael in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 31-05-2015, 20:00
  5. Triple screen
    By Marty4games in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2015, 07:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •