Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Not saving setup.

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot Black_Gold_Saw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    170
    Platform
    PC

    Not saving setup.

    Hello,

    I got this problem now out of nowhere, that I can't save a setup in qualy or in race.
    I never make a setup in the garage beqause I don't know how the car will handle.

    Can someone tell me how to fix this problem?
    I can only drive default setups?
    Case -Alienware Area 51 Late 2014
    Monitor/OS -LG 34UC97 34" 3440x1440 (Curved) / Windows 8.1
    GPU/STORAGE -SLI Nvidia GTX 980 Reference Cards / 128GB SSD + 2TB HDD
    CPU/RAM -Intel I7 5820K 6 Cores, 3.3Ghz - 3.8Ghz Boost / 16GB Quad Channel DDR4 2.133Mhz (4x4GB)

    ProjectCARS Setup -Xbox one Controller / No Traction Control / Anti brake system On / Manual Gearing / Helmet View

  2. #2
    Moderator Sankyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    8,182
    Platform
    PC
    All cars? All tracks?

    You can try to back up your profile and delete it (or just rename it), and start with a new profile just to see whether that helps.
    CPU i7 7700K | RAM Corsair 16GB 2400MHz | GPU Asus GTX1080 Ti OC 11GB | Mobo Asus Strix Z270H | Audio SB Zx @ 5.1/AKG K401 | OS Win 10 x64 | Screen LG 27EA63V-P 27" 1920x1080 | Controllers Fanatec CSW v2.5 + UH, CSP v3, CSS SQ, CSH | Misc TrackIR 4 Pro, Playseat Revolution, DS button box

    With the right to say what you think comes the obligation to think about what you say.
    I'd rather have questions that cannot be answered than answers that cannot be questioned - Richard Feynman
    Teach how to think, not what to think

  3. #3
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    134
    Platform
    PC
    So uh will this be addressed by the devs at all?

    I mean this is what, the 3rd of 4th now in the in the last week?

    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...-my-car-setups
    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...et-ups-(Fixed)
    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...not-save-setup

    I am waiting for the new DLC to drop, so I can check if my "new" profile will be broken again, and need to make another "new" profile.

    No one is dealing with the root cause of what is breaking this in the first place.
    The following user likes this Post: Sampo


  4. #4
    Superkart Pilot Black_Gold_Saw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    170
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Remco Van Dijk View Post
    All cars? All tracks?

    You can try to back up your profile and delete it (or just rename it), and start with a new profile just to see whether that helps.
    All cars, and every track combo I tried to play.
    How do i find the file to back-up my profile data? and saved setups?
    EDIT: Found the file already
    Case -Alienware Area 51 Late 2014
    Monitor/OS -LG 34UC97 34" 3440x1440 (Curved) / Windows 8.1
    GPU/STORAGE -SLI Nvidia GTX 980 Reference Cards / 128GB SSD + 2TB HDD
    CPU/RAM -Intel I7 5820K 6 Cores, 3.3Ghz - 3.8Ghz Boost / 16GB Quad Channel DDR4 2.133Mhz (4x4GB)

    ProjectCARS Setup -Xbox one Controller / No Traction Control / Anti brake system On / Manual Gearing / Helmet View

  5. #5
    Moderator Bealdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    9,565
    Platform
    PC
    Just rename this file: \<your Steam folder>\userdata\<your user ID\234630\local\default.sav
    Main Rig: CPU I7 4790K@Stock | GPU Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB | RAM 16GB DDR3 1866Mhz | MB Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 3 | SSD Samsung 850 EVO 120GB | HDD Seagate SATA 1TB | O.S. Win 10 Pro 64bit | Wheel Logitech G27
    Second Rig: CPU Q6600@2,80GHz | GPU Nvidia GTX 460 1GB | RAM 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB ASUS P5Q SE2 | HDD WD SATA 320GB | O.S. Win 7 64bit
    STEAM ID: Bealdor

    The forum search is a powerful tool, if you know how to use it...

    Please check out our Project CARS 2 FAQ and Tips

    PCARS 1 Known Issues threads: PC / PS4 / XB1

  6. #6
    Superkart Pilot Black_Gold_Saw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    170
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Bealdor View Post
    Just rename this file: \<your Steam folder>\userdata\<your user ID\234630\local\default.sav
    I just did that, renamed it I lost all stats. Even the online stats.
    But I can now save teh setups.

    But i'd like to keep my stats and hold my current setups. Any idea?
    I did remove savegame, and place it back. didnt work.

    Renaming causes a new savegame somehow and thus losing it all
    Last edited by Black_Gold_Saw; 22-02-2016 at 17:12.
    Case -Alienware Area 51 Late 2014
    Monitor/OS -LG 34UC97 34" 3440x1440 (Curved) / Windows 8.1
    GPU/STORAGE -SLI Nvidia GTX 980 Reference Cards / 128GB SSD + 2TB HDD
    CPU/RAM -Intel I7 5820K 6 Cores, 3.3Ghz - 3.8Ghz Boost / 16GB Quad Channel DDR4 2.133Mhz (4x4GB)

    ProjectCARS Setup -Xbox one Controller / No Traction Control / Anti brake system On / Manual Gearing / Helmet View

  7. #7
    WMD Member Sampo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    706
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Bealdor View Post
    Just rename this file: \<your Steam folder>\userdata\<your user ID\234630\local\default.sav
    Any idea if that long standing bug with save files is still going to be looked at? At least the save file should have a CRC check, so that the game can inform the player if the file is corrupted. If there already is a corruption check, then it's time to check all the save/load/init routines in the game. If deleting the savegame is something that helps people with problems, then the savegame routines must be bugged.
    CPU Intel i7-9700K @ 4.9 GHz all cores | Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | RAM 16GB DDR4 3200MHz | GPU nVidia RTX2070 Super 8GB (442.19) | Audio Realtek 5.1 on MB | Screen AOC U3477PQU | OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Wheel Logitech G27
    In-game settings: 3440x1440 | Texture Resolution HIGH | AF 16x | VSync ON (adaptive) | AA None | Reflections HIGH | Envmap HIGH | Vehicle HIGH | World HIGH | Shadows HIGH | Motion Blur NO | Render Frames Ahead 1 | Particles HIGH/HIGH/HIGH

    PC2Info, a PC program that shows most stats the game provides over UDP

  8. #8
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    134
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Black_Gold_Saw View Post
    I just did that, renamed it I lost all stats. Even the online stats.
    But I can now save teh setups.

    But i'd like to keep my stats and hold my current setups. Any idea?
    I did remove savegame, and place it back. didnt work.

    Renaming causes a new savegame somehow and thus losing it all
    This is exactly it, and the reason why I think the "fix" is not really a fix if we are not fixing whats broken in the first place, but just basically start over. With yours can you not save setup for all cars? Or just some cars? For me its only the DLCs from Renault pack on. And since I bought the game just before that, I wonder if its just the DLC after I installed the game. One thing I want to try after the American DLC comes out, is actually reinstalling the game, does the game progress actually gets backed up online, or just the default.sav file?

    Moreover its not just the save game, its all the setups you've ever created under your old career, and also universal FFB settings, and key assignments.

    Right now I am basically juggling 2 default.sav. One is my old career where I still have every old stuff, the other allows me to play any DLC added on later and save their setup. And if I want to use my old setup in the new career from non-DLC car, I'd have to boot up the game with the old .sav, find the setup I want, take like cell phone pictures of it, then quit the game, rename .sav to use the "new" .sav, and boot that up to manually change the setup again.
    Last edited by RacingManiac; 22-02-2016 at 18:30.

Similar Threads

  1. Online Time Trials Setup not saving from garage setup
    By bcicciar in forum The Garage - Car Setup Talk
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26-08-2015, 20:15
  2. Online Time Trials Setup not saving from garage setup (video)
    By bcicciar in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-08-2015, 15:20
  3. Saving FFB setup
    By jjdavis in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2015, 22:55
  4. Setup not saving- At All
    By WhiteNinja636 in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-06-2015, 14:12
  5. Setup of car and forcefeedback not saving
    By ScorpionR3D in forum PS4 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-05-2015, 07:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •