Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Game doesnt start

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC

    Game doesnt start

    Hi,

    just bought Project cards today via steam.

    Download was ok, but game doesnt start. There is no error message at all.
    After clicking any link to the game, there is a gray box stating "Project Cars is starting", which disappears after about 2 seconds and thats it.

    I uninstalled and reinstalled the game allready, as well as the latest graphics drivers. Steam checked the files as well, no errors.

    PC:
    I7 3770
    16GB RAM
    Geforce GTX 520 Ti
    Win 10

    It seems to do nothing, as there is no folder or file in documents folder (like grafic settings as supposed to delete in several scenarios with errors)

    Is there any help?

  2. #2
    WMD Member cluck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    In the trophy cabinet, polishing my 2016 MVP trophy
    Posts
    4,948
    Platform
    PC
    Quick question but do you have a Project CARS folder at all in 'Documents'? If so, is there a dbgsession folder and are there any files or folders inside that?
    PC Setup : Intel Core i5-8600K w/BeQuiet 240mm Silent Loop water cooler (overclocked to 4.5GHz) // MSI GTX 980 Gaming GPU // Asus Xonar DX PCI-E soundcard // Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 7 motherboard // 2 x 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR4-2666MHz RAM // Fractal Design Newton R3 800W PSU // Windows 10 64-bit // Fractal Design Define R4 case w/5 cooling fans // Logitech G29 wheel // Fanatec Clubsport v3 Pedals // Thrustmaster TH8RS shifter // NEC 24" LCD 2470WNX 1920x1200 60Hz // Oculus Rift DK2 // GT Omega Cockpit Pro w/extra bracing //

  3. #3
    Moderator Bealdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    9,002
    Platform
    PC
    Unfortunately your GPU is very slow (probably too slow). Try running the game with the start command -dx9.
    You can set this in Steam via game properties.
    Main Rig: CPU I7 4790K@Stock | GPU Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB | RAM 16GB DDR3 1866Mhz | MB Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 3 | SSD Samsung 850 EVO 120GB | HDD Seagate SATA 1TB | O.S. Win 10 Pro 64bit | Wheel Logitech G27
    Second Rig: CPU Q6600@2,80GHz | GPU Nvidia GTX 460 1GB | RAM 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB ASUS P5Q SE2 | HDD WD SATA 320GB | O.S. Win 7 64bit
    STEAM ID: Bealdor

    The forum search is a powerful tool, if you know how to use it...

    Please check out our Project CARS 2 FAQ and Tips

    PCARS 1 Known Issues threads: PC / PS4 / XB1

  4. #4
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    7,691
    Platform
    PC
    Yeah probably 1GB of vRam isn't going to cut it.
    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 385.69)| Displays: 55" LG 4K UHD TV @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim mod springs (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A few helpful links for you



  5. #5
    WMD Member cluck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    In the trophy cabinet, polishing my 2016 MVP trophy
    Posts
    4,948
    Platform
    PC
    According to NVidia's site, it is a DX11 card though but yes, the 1GB VRAM might be a limiting factor - although there are some versions of the card with 2GB.
    PC Setup : Intel Core i5-8600K w/BeQuiet 240mm Silent Loop water cooler (overclocked to 4.5GHz) // MSI GTX 980 Gaming GPU // Asus Xonar DX PCI-E soundcard // Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 7 motherboard // 2 x 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR4-2666MHz RAM // Fractal Design Newton R3 800W PSU // Windows 10 64-bit // Fractal Design Define R4 case w/5 cooling fans // Logitech G29 wheel // Fanatec Clubsport v3 Pedals // Thrustmaster TH8RS shifter // NEC 24" LCD 2470WNX 1920x1200 60Hz // Oculus Rift DK2 // GT Omega Cockpit Pro w/extra bracing //

  6. #6
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC
    @cluck
    No, there is no folder at all.

    @Bealdor
    I tried that already - with the same result.

    @all
    While this is not the fastest and newest GPU, it is well above the minimum requirement of a GTX 260 with 1GB VRAM, i suppose.
    Anyway, it should tell me, if the requirements are not met, and not just do nothing, aint i right?

  7. #7
    WMD Member cluck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    In the trophy cabinet, polishing my 2016 MVP trophy
    Posts
    4,948
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by cougar77 View Post
    @cluck
    No, there is no folder at all.

    @Bealdor
    I tried that already - with the same result.

    @all
    While this is not the fastest and newest GPU, it is well above the minimum requirement of a GTX 260 with 1GB VRAM, i suppose.
    Anyway, it should tell me, if the requirements are not met, and not just do nothing, aint i right?
    sadly, no. I don't know many games (if any) that tell you if your system is below spec when trying to run them.

    Does your GPU have 1GB or 2GB of RAM onboard? Not sure what monitor you have but if it's quite a high-resolution one, try reducing the desktop resolution to 1920x1080 and launching pCARS again.

    Only other thing that springs to mind is AV/Firewall software. What program are you using for that? There have been problems reported in the past with a few packages (I recall Avira and Avast cropping up more than once) and the solution for those people was to create an exception in the firewall to allow the pCARS executable to communicate.
    PC Setup : Intel Core i5-8600K w/BeQuiet 240mm Silent Loop water cooler (overclocked to 4.5GHz) // MSI GTX 980 Gaming GPU // Asus Xonar DX PCI-E soundcard // Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 7 motherboard // 2 x 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR4-2666MHz RAM // Fractal Design Newton R3 800W PSU // Windows 10 64-bit // Fractal Design Define R4 case w/5 cooling fans // Logitech G29 wheel // Fanatec Clubsport v3 Pedals // Thrustmaster TH8RS shifter // NEC 24" LCD 2470WNX 1920x1200 60Hz // Oculus Rift DK2 // GT Omega Cockpit Pro w/extra bracing //

  8. #8
    Moderator Bealdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    9,002
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by cougar77 View Post
    @cluck
    No, there is no folder at all.

    @Bealdor
    I tried that already - with the same result.

    @all
    While this is not the fastest and newest GPU, it is well above the minimum requirement of a GTX 260 with 1GB VRAM, i suppose.
    Anyway, it should tell me, if the requirements are not met, and not just do nothing, aint i right?
    Unfortunately a GT 520 is way below a GTX 260 performance wise although it is newer. The issue is not the 1GB VRAM but all the other technical specs (memory bandwidth, render processors, etc.).
    I see no way for you to get this game running and recommend a better GPU, the rest of your rig is decent enough to run PCARS in high/ultra settings but the GPU doesn't cut it.
    Main Rig: CPU I7 4790K@Stock | GPU Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB | RAM 16GB DDR3 1866Mhz | MB Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 3 | SSD Samsung 850 EVO 120GB | HDD Seagate SATA 1TB | O.S. Win 10 Pro 64bit | Wheel Logitech G27
    Second Rig: CPU Q6600@2,80GHz | GPU Nvidia GTX 460 1GB | RAM 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB ASUS P5Q SE2 | HDD WD SATA 320GB | O.S. Win 7 64bit
    STEAM ID: Bealdor

    The forum search is a powerful tool, if you know how to use it...

    Please check out our Project CARS 2 FAQ and Tips

    PCARS 1 Known Issues threads: PC / PS4 / XB1

  9. #9
    WMD Member cluck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    In the trophy cabinet, polishing my 2016 MVP trophy
    Posts
    4,948
    Platform
    PC
    I'm curious as to exactly what GPU the OP has. There is no GTX 520 Ti card that I can find?

    EDIT : You're right though Bealdor, if it is just a GT 520 then it is a VERY poor card - it's about 1/10 the performance of the GTX 260
    Last edited by cluck; 08-05-2016 at 21:07.
    PC Setup : Intel Core i5-8600K w/BeQuiet 240mm Silent Loop water cooler (overclocked to 4.5GHz) // MSI GTX 980 Gaming GPU // Asus Xonar DX PCI-E soundcard // Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 7 motherboard // 2 x 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR4-2666MHz RAM // Fractal Design Newton R3 800W PSU // Windows 10 64-bit // Fractal Design Define R4 case w/5 cooling fans // Logitech G29 wheel // Fanatec Clubsport v3 Pedals // Thrustmaster TH8RS shifter // NEC 24" LCD 2470WNX 1920x1200 60Hz // Oculus Rift DK2 // GT Omega Cockpit Pro w/extra bracing //

Similar Threads

  1. Game won't start
    By obiwan651 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-03-2016, 08:33
  2. Game won't start from start screen
    By DrRage in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 24-06-2015, 18:48
  3. i cannot start the game
    By danny597 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-06-2015, 13:38
  4. Video On Start up - Streamline Game Start
    By mkstatto in forum Feature Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2015, 07:21
  5. [RESOLVED - START LOGITECH PROFILER FIRST] Game will not start.
    By RichS77 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29-05-2015, 12:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •