Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 257

Thread: HTC Vive Discussion

  1. #1
    WMD Member cluck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    In the trophy cabinet, polishing my 2016 MVP trophy
    Posts
    5,299
    Platform
    PC

    HTC Vive Discussion

    You now have a dedicated thread to discuss the HTC Vive, which received official support in Project CARS with Patch 11 - Link to patch 11 notes

    Who's got one? Who's tried the patch? How is it working for you? Any tips, tricks you have to share, share them here

    Bealdor edit:

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen Viljoen View Post
    Due to the extent of the Virtual Reality updates, we strongly recommend that you delete the configuration files that store the various settings. These are found in "\Users\<username>\Documents\Project CARS" and are the files with XML extension.
    Last edited by Bealdor; 13-05-2016 at 05:42.
    PC Setup : Intel Core i5-8600K w/BeQuiet 240mm Silent Loop water cooler (overclocked to 4.5GHz) // MSI GTX 980 Gaming GPU // Asus Xonar DX PCI-E soundcard // Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 7 motherboard // 2 x 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR4-2666MHz RAM // Fractal Design Newton R3 800W PSU // Windows 10 64-bit // Fractal Design Define R4 case w/5 cooling fans // NEC 24" LCD 2470WNX 1920x1200 60Hz //
    The following 3 users likes this Post: Bealdor, Roger Prynne, Schadows


  2. #2
    WMD Member Schadows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France, Paris
    Posts
    1,169
    Platform
    PC
    Ok that's it, I'm leaving work early today ! Gotta try this baby asap ^^
    OS: Win10 x64 | CPU: i5 4690K OC@4.2GHz | GPU: Zotac RTX 2080 AMP | RAM: 16GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10 | Controller: Logitech G25 + Nixim mod v2 (brake) | Display: Pimax 5K+ VR headset | Sound: Virtual 7.1 Headset | Launch options: none
    The following user likes this Post: cluck


  3. #3
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thank you for adding Vive support.

    Sadly, now pCARS starts windowed and it can't be made to run full screen in native 5760x1080? A screenshot of the menu screen is 2160x1200, so it appears to be locked to the Vive's combined resolution?

    I noticed the reflection in the LCD display (BMW Z4 GT3) showed some white/red, which I think were barriers or curbstones? (Donnington GP, standing still before last turn)

  4. #4
    Moderator Bealdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    9,518
    Platform
    PC
    Did you delete your config files as suggested in the patch notes thread?
    Main Rig: CPU I7 4790K@Stock | GPU Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB | RAM 16GB DDR3 1866Mhz | MB Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 3 | SSD Samsung 850 EVO 120GB | HDD Seagate SATA 1TB | O.S. Win 10 Pro 64bit | Wheel Logitech G27
    Second Rig: CPU Q6600@2,80GHz | GPU Nvidia GTX 460 1GB | RAM 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB ASUS P5Q SE2 | HDD WD SATA 320GB | O.S. Win 7 64bit
    STEAM ID: Bealdor

    The forum search is a powerful tool, if you know how to use it...

    Please check out our Project CARS 2 FAQ and Tips

    PCARS 1 Known Issues threads: PC / PS4 / XB1

  5. #5
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Bealdor View Post
    Did you delete your config files as suggested in the patch notes thread?
    I did delete the first two, but not the Oculus and OpenVR ones. The "graphicsconfigopenvrdx11" returned, but the other one, of which I forgot the name) is MIA?


    [EDIT] Found it in the recycle bin, called "graphicsconfigdx11".

    [EDIT 2] After deleting all the XML files, then starting pCARS from Steam library and selecting the first option (non-VR), the game starts full screen again.
    The graphicsconfigdx11.xml has reappeared.

    After activating VR and starting pCARS in VR mode, both the openVR settings reappeared too. All is well!
    Last edited by JAMF; 13-05-2016 at 16:33.

  6. #6
    Superkart Pilot surtic86's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    145
    Platform
    PC
    Thanks for the HTC VIVE Support!

    Short test and it works...

    But what Resolution do you use for Window Mode? I don't get a nice Setup for this without distorcer.
    | CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700X | GPU: RX Vega 64 | RAM: 32GB| VR: HTC VIVE | Wheel: Fanatec |

  7. #7
    Kart Driver MarshallMcBride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    9
    Platform
    PC
    Just tried a nice race with the HTC Vive. I'm really impressed how much more fun it is to race in VR (even though the resolution isn't that high in the first VR generation).
    I like the way the user interface is integrated in the 3d world. Not annoying but locatable if you need it.

    The one thing that impressed me most is that I seem to drive significantly better with VR. Being able to incline my head in the direction of the curves and the better sense of speed you get seem to improve my driving results.

    One thing I noticed is that the sun is really bright when driving at sunset, is there an option to dimm the sun light in that situation without reducing overall brightness?. Shielding the eyes with my hands didn't work and I wasn't able to open the sun visor :-)

  8. #8
    Moderator Bealdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    9,518
    Platform
    PC
    You could try to turn off some of the visual FX like lens flare, sun flare, bloom or prepuscular rays. I'm not sure which exact one will help you but I'm sure one if them does.
    Main Rig: CPU I7 4790K@Stock | GPU Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB | RAM 16GB DDR3 1866Mhz | MB Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 3 | SSD Samsung 850 EVO 120GB | HDD Seagate SATA 1TB | O.S. Win 10 Pro 64bit | Wheel Logitech G27
    Second Rig: CPU Q6600@2,80GHz | GPU Nvidia GTX 460 1GB | RAM 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB ASUS P5Q SE2 | HDD WD SATA 320GB | O.S. Win 7 64bit
    STEAM ID: Bealdor

    The forum search is a powerful tool, if you know how to use it...

    Please check out our Project CARS 2 FAQ and Tips

    PCARS 1 Known Issues threads: PC / PS4 / XB1

  9. #9
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    9
    What resolution should we be using?
    Intel i7-6700K CPU @ 4.40GHz/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming mobo/16GB DDR4/GTX 1080ti 11GB/W10
    Control - SimXperience Accuforce/HE Pro Pedals/CSS SQ/Motion - SimXperience 2dof/Tactile - SimVibe
    Display - 3 x Acer XZ271 monitors/Oculus Rift CV1/Samsung Odyssey WMR/

  10. #10
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    10
    If you launch for the Vive, it's automatic (or should be).

    If for the desktop, it appears there is a bug, stretching a 2160x1200 windowed view to the width of your selected resolution.
    The following user likes this Post: museumsteve


Similar Threads

  1. Are you looking at the HTC Vive / SteamVR?
    By presuming ed in forum Virtual Reality Devices Support
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 12-05-2016, 16:17
  2. Rift, Vive headsets
    By ARNAGEist in forum Virtual Reality Devices Support
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-09-2015, 09:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •