Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Project cars won't load on Oculus Rift from steam

  1. #41
    WMD Member Derek Speare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida USA
    Posts
    30
    No, I just get a quck Steam dialog that says, "preparing to launch Project Cars" and then it goes right up on the screen with the SMS/WMD splash screen and then the startup sequence of video, etc. :/
    derekspearedesigns.com | i7-5930 | 32gb Ram | EVGA 980ti | Evo 850 1tb | Lots of sim racing goodies | CV1 (DK2 retired) | Win7 SP1 | DSD FTW!

    PCars Supporter Since October 2011 - All DLC Owned

  2. #42
    WMD Member crowtrobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    622
    Quote Originally Posted by Derek Speare View Post
    No, I just get a quck Steam dialog that says, "preparing to launch Project Cars" and then it goes right up on the screen with the SMS/WMD splash screen and then the startup sequence of video, etc. :/
    Are you sure your pCARS is up to date then? You should be getting a prompt asking to launch normally, Vive via SteamVR, or Oculus via Other VR. Did you add the -novr launch option at some point?

    Newest version of pCARS was working with my DK2 just before I sold it, and it's working with now with my Vive.
    i7 5820k @ 3.8 | EVGA GTX780Ti | MSI X99 SLI Plus | 16GB DDR4@2400 | EVGA 750 W | W10 x64 | Thrustmaster T300 | HTC Vive
    The following 4 users likes this Post: AdamVi, beetes_juice, Derek Speare


  3. #43
    WMD Member Derek Speare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida USA
    Posts
    30
    MY APOLOGIES FOR SENDING EVERYONE ON A WILD GOOSE CHASE!




    I have been starting PCars from my desktop icon since I've been using it. I don't interact with Steam frequently and prefer desktop icons. Heretofore just double clicking on the icon runs PCars on the Oculus. It was Crotrobot's query to look at things in Steam more closely that allowed me to see that I was completely stepping on my own you-know-what.

    The error is mine, and my apologies for it. I did not know I needed to right click on PCars in my Steam Library and specifically select "Start Pcars with Oculus...". Doing that fired it right up...perfectly...and much to my chagrin.

    Now, to beg up a question: Is there a way to set a flag in the startup so that it gets forced to use the Oculus to save from having to open steam and right click it specifically?

    Thanks to everyone for the attention and assistance!

    Quote Originally Posted by crowtrobot View Post
    Are you sure your pCARS is up to date then? You should be getting a prompt asking to launch normally, Vive via SteamVR, or Oculus via Other VR. Did you add the -novr launch option at some point?

    Newest version of pCARS was working with my DK2 just before I sold it, and it's working with now with my Vive.
    Cheers! Now I am good and your prodding helped!
    derekspearedesigns.com | i7-5930 | 32gb Ram | EVGA 980ti | Evo 850 1tb | Lots of sim racing goodies | CV1 (DK2 retired) | Win7 SP1 | DSD FTW!

    PCars Supporter Since October 2011 - All DLC Owned
    The following 8 users likes this Post: AdamVi, beetes_juice, cluck, crowtrobot, ctd, John Hargreaves, Sankyo


  4. #44
    Moderator Sankyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    8,087
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Derek Speare View Post
    MY APOLOGIES FOR SENDING EVERYONE ON A WILD GOOSE CHASE!




    I have been starting PCars from my desktop icon since I've been using it. I don't interact with Steam frequently and prefer desktop icons. Heretofore just double clicking on the icon runs PCars on the Oculus. It was Crotrobot's query to look at things in Steam more closely that allowed me to see that I was completely stepping on my own you-know-what.

    The error is mine, and my apologies for it. I did not know I needed to right click on PCars in my Steam Library and specifically select "Start Pcars with Oculus...". Doing that fired it right up...perfectly...and much to my chagrin.

    Now, to beg up a question: Is there a way to set a flag in the startup so that it gets forced to use the Oculus to save from having to open steam and right click it specifically?

    Thanks to everyone for the attention and assistance!



    Cheers! Now I am good and your prodding helped!
    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...=1#post1282210
    CPU i7 7700K | RAM Corsair 16GB 2400MHz | GPU Asus GTX1080 Ti OC 11GB | Mobo Asus Strix Z270H | Audio SB Zx @ 5.1/AKG K401 | OS Win 10 x64 | Screen LG 27EA63V-P 27" 1920x1080 | Controllers Fanatec CSW v2.5 + UH, CSP v3, CSS SQ, CSH | Misc TrackIR 4 Pro, Playseat Revolution, DS button box

    With the right to say what you think comes the obligation to think about what you say.
    I'd rather have questions that cannot be answered than answers that cannot be questioned - Richard Feynman
    Teach how to think, not what to think
    The following 2 users likes this Post: cluck, Derek Speare


  5. #45
    WMD Member John Hargreaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    2,161
    Platform
    PC
    Glad you got sorted Derek, it's one of those tiny irritating details that will cause endless trouble. I had a similarly irritating internet connection problem the other week that I knew damn well was one tiny microscopic tickbox somewhere causing it, but I ended up stripping down the whole PC and rebuilding it from scratch. 'Tis the lot of a PC gamer.
    i7-7700K/GigaByte RTX 2080/Win10 64bit/32Gb RAM/Asus Xonar DX+Beyer Dynamic DT990 Pro headphones/LG 34" UM65 @2560x1080/Oculus CV1/HP Reverb/Logitech G29+G25 shifter/DSD P2 button box

    WMD1 + WMD2 Member
    The following user likes this Post: Derek Speare


  6. #46
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    1
    Platform
    PC
    I'm having the same problem here. Project Cars won't start on Oculus 1.4. This was a huge waste of money to pay for it. Is there any way to make this work? It looks like this has been a problem for 6 months.

  7. #47
    WMD Member cluck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    In the trophy cabinet, polishing my 2016 MVP trophy
    Posts
    5,299
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by arshapro View Post
    I'm having the same problem here. Project Cars won't start on Oculus 1.4. This was a huge waste of money to pay for it. Is there any way to make this work? It looks like this has been a problem for 6 months.
    How'd you work that part out? The Rift CV1 (and DK2) was only enabled for the Steam version of Project CARS at the beginning of April (with Patch 10.1).

    As for it not working, does your Rift display in the Oculus Home system? Do you get the 'which version would you like to launch' menu when you start Project CARS and do you select the 3rd option?
    PC Setup : Intel Core i5-8600K w/BeQuiet 240mm Silent Loop water cooler (overclocked to 4.5GHz) // MSI GTX 980 Gaming GPU // Asus Xonar DX PCI-E soundcard // Gigabyte z370 Aorus Gaming 7 motherboard // 2 x 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR4-2666MHz RAM // Fractal Design Newton R3 800W PSU // Windows 10 64-bit // Fractal Design Define R4 case w/5 cooling fans // NEC 24" LCD 2470WNX 1920x1200 60Hz //

  8. #48
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA, Wisconsin
    Posts
    301
    Some possible solutions may be to clean out your existing profile and start fresh. In my case, I had to do it both in Pcars and the Oculus install as mine stalled (CV1 detection) during installation and showed errors related to USB connections. In either case, you don't have to re-install everything, just clean out some logs and config files, reboot, start the software and re-configure. Doing so fixed most of my issues except some USB errors that required updating the USB drivers as Windows didn't automatically install the proper ones; it took me a while to track those down. Also, be sure you have updated your video driver.

    Pcars - delete the configuration files that store the various settings. These are found in "\Users\<username>\Documents\Project CARS" and are the files with XML extension."

    Oculus - If you had any install issues with the Oculus software or hardware detection, deleting all Oculus-related folders in your AppData (Users/name/Appdata/check present folders for Oculus folders) directory will reset the set-up procedure. Then the next time you start Oculus, it will start the setup process from the beginning again. If it continues, there may be a USB issue or other hardware conflict needing resolution.

    USB - Fresco Logic USB see Fresco Website for latest driver & Utility (also applies to add-in USB PCIe cards using Fresco-Logic USB)
    Intel also has a Utility to update/repair the Extensible Host Controller (USB)
    MSi Z270 Pro Mobo . CPU Intel i7 7700k . RAM 32GB . OS Windows 10 . GPU Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080Ti SC . Audio Creative ZX . Klipsch 4.1 Speakers / Sennheiser Headphones . Controller SimX AccuForce Pro / OSW Small Mige (SimuCube 10k) / HE-Pro Pedals / Fanatec CSS-SQ Shifter / Fanatec Hand-brake . Displays BenQ GW2760s (triples) / Oculus Rift Cv1 . Chassis Custom 80/20 frame . SimVibe / iNuke NU3000DSP amp / BK-LFE (Extensions Mode) / iNuke NU1000 / ADX Bass-Shakers X2 (Chassis Mode)

  9. #49
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1
    Platform
    PC
    After i choose the car and track and hit start on project cars 2 on steam it wont load up on Oculus rift but i`m getting VR on project cars 1. I have the HP Omen GTX1060 VR Ready PC.
    Last edited by Metalsoda; 07-11-2017 at 09:03.

  10. #50
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,201
    Quote Originally Posted by Metalsoda View Post
    After i choose the car and track and hit start on project cars 2 on steam it wont load up on Oculus rift but i`m getting VR on project cars 1. I have the HP Omen GTX1060 VR Ready PC.
    Does it work on a normal screen....

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

Similar Threads

  1. Project CARS - PC Patch 10.1 - Oculus Rift VR support on the Steam platform
    By Stephen Viljoen in forum News & Announcements
    Replies: 269
    Last Post: 25-06-2016, 14:56
  2. oculus rift dk2 steam vr problems. Help me please.
    By spinamadeus in forum Virtual Reality Devices Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2016, 16:21
  3. Oculus Rift not working anymore on Project CARS, please help!
    By JDMricist in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16-01-2016, 22:26
  4. Oculus Rift - break lights of other cars invisible
    By supermelon in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16-07-2015, 14:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •