Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lotus 98T [Case Study][Tune Guide] on Zolder & Sakitto GP

Platform
    PC

Lotus 98T [Case Study][Tune Guide] on Zolder & Sakitto GP

Hi! I'm here to shed some light on how to tune the fearsome monster that is the Lotus 98Twin Turbo - Senna's Legendary Vehicle. Not too long ago, I could barely beat the AI at 50%, but with this tune 100% is easy and record lap times are possible (I'm a terrible driver). So, I decided to write this up to help out.

This will be a case study that will describe problems with the car on the track followed by tuning solutions. The goal is to demonstrate not only how to tune this turbo car, but a general approach to all tuning.

Objective: Fast and Consistent lap times on track Zolder with Lotus 98T Turbo.
    Personal Record: 1:17:445 with 26L of Fuel(fuel consumption off) & 4.7 Wastegate Pressure.
    This would be #5 on Time trial (top 4%), but they use 5L of fuel and likely full 6.0 Wastegate. We're making a tune for longer races capable of not blowing the engine.
    Physical Input: PS4 Controller (tapping type player style)
    Setup: http://projectcarssetups.eu/#/viewsetup/74470224

1st DRIVE: You take your default tune of the Lotus and take a drive (enough to gain some heat in tires). Set the weather to whatever you will be racing. I start with Clear Skies and 12pm (sunlight) during September(personal choice).
    Observations:
    • Front Tires are too cool (far from 100C). Brakes are strong, the back doesn't give out when hard braking without turning (you would normally strengthen brakes if the back is fine on straight braking.). The brake duct seems a bit too hot (reaching 700C fast).

Response:
    • Lower Front tire pressure, Symmetrically. Lower the rear slightly.
    • Open the brake duct to 70%.

2nd DRIVE: We want to drive, because a major change like tire pressure demands test drives.
    Observations: