Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [RESOLVED] No 'virtual reality' option in options menu in HTC Vive mode

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC

    [RESOLVED] No 'virtual reality' option in options menu in HTC Vive mode

    Hello,
    I just bought and downloaded Project Cars (version 11.0), and tried launching it in HTC Vive VR mode. However, the options menu does not contain a 'virtual reality' tab, just a blank space below 'audio'. Any ideas why that would be?

    Cheers,
    Sebastian

  2. #2
    Kart Driver My993C2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Western Canada
    Posts
    10
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Seban678 View Post
    Hello,
    I just bought and downloaded Project Cars (version 11.0), and tried launching it in HTC Vive VR mode. However, the options menu does not contain a 'virtual reality' tab, just a blank space below 'audio'. Any ideas why that would be?

    Cheers,
    Sebastian
    Did you launch SteamVR first?

  3. #3
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by My993C2 View Post
    Did you launch SteamVR first?
    Yes, I tried launching with Steam VR off and with it on, same result.

  4. #4
    Kart Driver My993C2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Western Canada
    Posts
    10
    Platform
    PC
    And you are launching Project Cars from inside of the Steam VR interface? or are you launching it some other way?

  5. #5
    WMD Member Schadows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France, Paris
    Posts
    1,168
    Platform
    PC
    If the game is displayed in the headset, I don't see any reason for the "Virtual Reality" line not to appear on the main option screen.

    I would suggest to check the files integrity (right clic on the game in Steam > properties > local files > verify integrity of game cache ...)
    OS: Win10 x64 | CPU: i5 4690K OC@4.4GHz | GPU: Zotac GTX 970 AMP! Extreme OC@1500MHz | RAM: 16GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10 | Controller: Logitech G25 + Nixim mod v2 (brake) | Display: HTC Vive | Sound: Virtual 7.1 Headset | Launch options: none | Visual settings

  6. #6
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    The game isn't displayed in the headset at all, I didn't mention it because I thought it would only get displayed there during races. But since my first post, I downloaded some other games and it seems only the Valve titles (the tutorials, The Lab, Destinations) are working. All other applications I've tested (PCARS, Nvidia fun house, Waltz of the Wizard, VorpX) don't detect the headset for some reason.

    So it's probably not a problem with the game, but if anyone has encountered that issue and knows what causes it, please let me know

    Btw the game cache integrity test came back fine.

  7. #7
    WMD Member Schadows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    France, Paris
    Posts
    1,168
    Platform
    PC
    Ah ok, the game should be displayed in the headset from the start (Namco Bandai logo), but as a floating 2D screen in the steamvr environment. Only once the race start will you be put in the car.

    As for starting the game in the helmet, I can only suggest those :
    - What is you game version ? Are you sure you are up to date ?
    - Have you tried starting the game from the steam vr dashboard (in the headset) ?
    - Have you tried to uncheck the Desktop theatre in the game properties (right click > Properties) ?
    OS: Win10 x64 | CPU: i5 4690K OC@4.4GHz | GPU: Zotac GTX 970 AMP! Extreme OC@1500MHz | RAM: 16GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10 | Controller: Logitech G25 + Nixim mod v2 (brake) | Display: HTC Vive | Sound: Virtual 7.1 Headset | Launch options: none | Visual settings

  8. #8
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    Well, I solved the problem.

    I'm not sure where it came from, but it might have something to do with Steam and the Vive desktop application not being installed on the same drive. I used the nuclear approach and did a clean windows install, and put both pieces of software on the same drive and now it works just fine.

    Thanks for your help anyway, loving the game so far
    Cheers.
    The following 2 users likes this Post: cluck, Ryzza5


Similar Threads

  1. VR's windowed mode mirror has gone. How to get it back? (HTC Vive)
    By LosSantosSheriff in forum Virtual Reality Devices Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-06-2016, 04:54
  2. Option menu accessible from on track pause menu
    By xxTheGoDxx in forum Feature Suggestions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-08-2015, 16:14
  3. Options Menu When in Garage
    By Racinglova in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-08-2015, 13:30
  4. Game Options Menu Available in Session
    By mkstatto in forum Feature Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-07-2015, 11:44
  5. options & help menu issues
    By Whyte46 in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2015, 16:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •