Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: In Game Picture Taking

  1. #1
    Kart Driver DMackVB757's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    32
    Platform
    PC

    In Game Picture Taking

    How can I secure a jpeg file using the in game camera feature? I'm not talking about screen shots, i want control of the view range, etc. It says that the files are uploaded to some cloud service of some kind. Problem: anytime I touch chrome while the game is running, i get a total system crash. I dont want any cloud service, i just want my jpeg so I can photoshop, etc. My goal is to have nice pic of my custom paintjob that I can use as my forum signature that I see so many of you doing. Advice?

  2. #2
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    7,580
    Platform
    PC
    Steam uses F12 for screen shots... or you could use an external app, like Fraps, Bandicam, Msi Afterburner etc etc.
    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 385.69)| Displays: 55" LG 4K UHD TV @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim mod springs (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A few helpful links for you


    The following user likes this Post: BullWinkle


  3. #3
    WMD Member BullWinkle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    East Coast, Canada
    Posts
    1,065
    Platform
    PC
    In Steam under settings you can disable Cloud. (recommended).

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\userdata\YourID\760\remote\234630\screenshots
    I believe is where the screenshots are located locally.
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 Motherboard / AMD FX-8350 Vishera 8-Core CPU@4.0Ghz / 8GB G.Skill RipJaws 2X4GB DDR3-1866,
    Samsung 250GB 850 EVO (SSD) / SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX480 8GB/OC 1342Mhz / Crimson ReLive 17.4.3 Drivers.
    TrackIR 5, ver 5.2 final drivers |Logitech G27
    240 Gig HD | Claro Plus++ sound card | Win7_64 | BenQ V2400W | Corsair TX850W Power Supply

    In-game settings: @ 1920 X 1200 | Texture Rez HIGH | Post Filter On | LensFlare OFF | Bloom OFF | Haze OFF | Detailed Grass-Med | HDR Photo | Tex Filter 16x | Game_VSync OFF | SMAA Off | FXAA Off |Reflections MED | Vehicle Ultra | Track Ultra | Shadows MED | Motion Blur OFF | Render Ahead 2 |
    Steam CMD line Options:-dx11mt -pthreads 4 -fpscap 60 -skipcrowds -skipidiots

    Proud to be a 5% club member
    Steam : Bullwinkle
    The following user likes this Post: Roger Prynne


  4. #4
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    7,580
    Platform
    PC
    Ah I just realized you said "i want control of the view range, etc." none of those Screenshot programs will do that.
    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 385.69)| Displays: 55" LG 4K UHD TV @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim mod springs (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A few helpful links for you



  5. #5
    Kart Driver DMackVB757's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    32
    Platform
    PC
    I dont want screen shots. Im talking about the "take picture" feature thats available while viewing a replay in free practice mode. Files are not populated in the above referenced folder for "take picture" only screen shots show up there.

  6. #6
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    1,915
    Quote Originally Posted by DMackVB757 View Post
    I dont want screen shots. Im talking about the "take picture" feature thats available while viewing a replay in free practice mode. Files are not populated in the above referenced folder for "take picture" only screen shots show up there.
    They end up in <Steam>\userdata\<your id >\234630\local\project cars\media .. they are stored as med files, same as the replay files (and no, I have no idea how you get that to a jpeg or any other format)

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + Clubsport pedals + shifter set - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i3-4130T - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  7. #7
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    1,915
    About the best you can do, is pause the replay, switch to the tail cam, hit the "eye" to hide the controls and then use various keys (on the numpad and others) to move around. Then use steam or whatever for a screen shot

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + Clubsport pedals + shifter set - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i3-4130T - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad
    The following 2 users likes this Post: cluck, Roger Prynne


  8. #8
    Kart Driver DMackVB757's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    32
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mad Al View Post
    About the best you can do, is pause the replay, switch to the tail cam, hit the "eye" to hide the controls and then use various keys (on the numpad and others) to move around. Then use steam or whatever for a screen shot
    That sounds perfect. Wasn't aware of that option. Thanks, Ill give it a try.

Similar Threads

  1. "Sorry, Project Cars - Game of the Year Edition is taking a while to load"
    By Super in forum Virtual Reality Devices Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23-12-2016, 19:53
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21-01-2016, 13:19
  3. [FFB] Taking the Micky?
    By Napalmhardcore in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 182
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 08:46
  4. AI Taking each other out of the race
    By GoPrO_BMX in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2015, 14:52
  5. Picture saving from game to my phone
    By ViperFan 3393 in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-06-2015, 10:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •