Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Framerate "loW" - graphic card and cpu not fully used

  1. #1
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    12
    Platform
    PC

    Framerate "loW" - graphic card and cpu not fully used

    Hi everyone!

    I have a question about framerate in project cars. I resantly bought a gtx760 and i struggle getting 60fps on some tracks. Ok, you could say cpu or gpu is too weak, but here is my problem:

    While monitoring the cpu and gpu usage in the game on the problematic tracks i see that the gpu is almost allways at about 50-60% and the cpu is max at 80%. So there should still be headroom for better performance. But even if i lower the graphic settings i still get about 40 fps on some tracks. So what the heck is limiting the performance here? The ram isn't full, cpu is not at its limit and the gpu sometimes looks like it want to run the game a second time.

    Any advice whats going on there?

  2. #2
    WMD Member Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    8,232
    Platform
    PC
    What is your CPU?

    pCARS is more CPU heavy than GPU heavy.. i.e. if you don't have enough CPU to feed the GPU, then a better GPU won't help...
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips
    The following user likes this Post: BullWinkle


  3. #3
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    12
    Platform
    PC
    My CPU is a phenom x4 955 black edition.

    The strange thing is, the cpu is not fully loaded while plying. Instead it is often only at 70% so there should be some ressources left for the game. This is what irritates me.

  4. #4
    WMD Member BullWinkle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    East Coast, Canada
    Posts
    1,177
    Platform
    PC
    Please post your full system specs. Operating System? 64 or 32 bit?, amount of memory installed, motherboard, DDR2 or DDR3 memory slots? etc.
    It would just help those trying to assist.
    AsRock X370 Taichi MB /AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.4Ghz / G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 / Samsung NVMe SSD 960 Evo M.2
    Samsung 250GB 850 EVO (SSD) / 2 X SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX480 8GB/OC 1342Mhz / SeaSonic Focus 750W Gold / AMD Adrenalin 18.2.1 drivers / Acer XZ271U bmijpphzx 27 Curved WQHD 2560 x 1440p 144Hz monitor.
    Windows 10 64bit / TrackIR 5, ver 5.2 final drivers / Logitech G27

  5. #5
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,367
    It would also help to know what tracks you are talking about (as you seem to have specific track issues) and are you talking about running solo, or with AI, in MP or what...

    Ryzen R7 3800X - Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite - 16Gig DDR4 (Ballistix Elite 3600) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 860 250G SSD, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Pro (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. Ryzen R5 3600X - Asus Prime X570-P - 16G DDR4 (Crucial Ballistix 3200) - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

    YouTube channel - My attempt at a PC2 Career - a work in progress! - Trying other other racing content

  6. #6
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    12
    Platform
    PC
    Thanks for your reply.

    Tracks will i check this evening and give feedback here. I am playing in Solo with AI in career mode.

    Edit: Whoops, did not see the other reply, sorry:

    System is:

    CPU: AMD Phenom x4 955 black edition (not overclocked)
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 760 (not overclocked)
    Ram: 8gb ddr3
    Windows 10 64bit
    Mainboard: Asrock N68-GS3

    Other Hardware: Thrustmaster f430 wheel

    If you need any more information, please tell me. Thanks for all your help :-)
    Last edited by noisefloor; 16-06-2017 at 11:19.
    The following user likes this Post: BullWinkle


  7. #7
    WMD Member Sampo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    715
    Platform
    PC
    Do you have vsync on in the graphics settings?
    CPU Intel i7-9700K @ 4.9 GHz all cores | Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | RAM 16GB DDR4 3200MHz | GPU nVidia RTX2070 Super 8GB (445.78) | Audio Realtek 5.1 on MB | Screen AOC U3477PQU | OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Wheel Logitech G27
    In-game settings: 3440x1440 | Texture Resolution HIGH | AF 16x | VSync ON (adaptive) | AA None | Reflections HIGH | Envmap HIGH | Vehicle HIGH | World HIGH | Shadows HIGH | Motion Blur NO | Render Frames Ahead 1 | Particles HIGH/HIGH/HIGH

    PC2Info, a PC program that shows most stats the game provides over UDP

  8. #8
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    12
    Platform
    PC
    Nope, v-sync is off.

    The last track i experience those fps "issues" was Oulton Park. Right out of the box i got about 60 fps, then it drops down sometimes to about 40 or below. GPU was between 40-50% load and cpu was about 70-75%. So both are not fully loaded. Sadly, no chance to get up to constant higher fps.

    I know it is not a major issue because it is still playable but i still want to understand what is going on there.

  9. #9
    WMD Member Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    8,232
    Platform
    PC
    You will need to share your visual settings in-game.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  10. #10
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    12
    Platform
    PC
    Will post them later but it looks like i found a possible problem: the windows 10 gaming mode. Somehow it was activated for project cars. After deactivating it seems to get better.

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone using "Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming" or "Zotac Amp" graphics card ?
    By Kunal_Racedriver in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-10-2016, 21:38
  2. [ANSWERED] How to get the trophy "Fully Loaded"?
    By ophabyo in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2016, 11:57
  3. What is "Jitter Tweak" in graphic options?
    By kacperflak in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 25-02-2016, 00:44
  4. Replies: 51
    Last Post: 04-11-2015, 09:00
  5. Replies: 27
    Last Post: 14-09-2015, 18:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •