Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Crash while loading track: "async file object is destroyed whilst still in use"

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    143
    Platform
    PC

    Crash while loading track: "async file object is destroyed whilst still in use"

    Hello,

    recently, whenever I try to start a free practise, Project CARS crashes and following error message occurs:

    Code:
    File: Source\Core\File\Async\BFileAsync.cpp
    Line: 125
    Func: MWL::Base::BFileAsync::~BFileAsync
    
    This async file object is being destroyed whilst still in use: 'pakfiles\tracks\badenring[group].bff'
    ... followed by ...

    Code:
    Unhandled exception trapped. EXCEPTION_BREAKPOINT at 0x4078c15b
    Thread 0x000016b4
    
    Build SMSARI.20161118.1246.BLDA000
    What's the problem? It has worked all the time until a few weeks. Here are my specs:

    Windows 7 (64-Bit)
    Intel Xeon E3-1231 v3
    16 GB RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    5,797
    Platform
    PC
    Have you tried 'Verify Integrity of Game Files' in Steam?

    Project Cars/Properties/Local Files
    Addressing expectations on realism and simulation - Project CARS PC Leaderboards - Learn how to race properly - Forum Resources for Pcars
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A good explanation of the different tyre types - FFB Guide - Official FFB Guide - A new home for all your setups - How to use the Advance Search
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 378.66)| Displays: 50" LG 4K UHD TV 3840x2160 @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim brake mod (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - Anniversary

    The following 2 users likes this Post: BullWinkle, Mattze


  3. #3
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    143
    Platform
    PC
    Steam has found 4 corrupted files. It seems that this has solved the problem, thanks for the hint. I hope it remains so. Just the fact, that I have already reinstalled the game before, seems to me a bit weird ...

  4. #4
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    5,101
    Platform
    PC
    Could be an overactive virus scanner. There are a few, like Bitdefender, which seem to not like the way pCARS does patching (and thinks it's a virus).
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    Known Issues
    The following user likes this Post: BullWinkle


  5. #5
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    143
    Platform
    PC
    Unfortunately, the same error occurs again today. I've checked the files with Steam again, but nothing was found this time. No idea, what I can do yet. These crashes are really annoying ...

  6. #6
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    5,101
    Platform
    PC
    What non-Microsoft applications do you have running (besides Steam)?
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    Known Issues

  7. #7
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    1,604
    Also, any mods..?

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + Clubsport pedals + shifter set - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i3-4130T - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  8. #8
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    143
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
    What non-Microsoft applications do you have running (besides Steam)?
    Logitech Gaming Profiler, Avira AntiVir and no mods. I could try to turn off Avira every time, but this cannot be the final solution. Avira is also always switched on and the error has so far "only" occurred twice (but remains until a system reboot).
    Last edited by Mattze; 18-07-2017 at 00:08.

  9. #9
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    1,604
    Quote Originally Posted by Mattze View Post
    Logitech Gaming Profiler, Avira AntiVir and no mods. I could try to turn off Avira every time, but this cannot be the final solution. Avira is also always switched on and the error has so far "only" occurred twice (but remains until a system reboot).
    Just set your AV to have exceptions for all the Project CARS install and user folders..

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + Clubsport pedals + shifter set - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i3-4130T - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  10. #10
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    143
    Platform
    PC
    I have the antivir program turned off and until now the error didn't return, but instead a bunch of other ones (and not the first time!).

    Code:
    File: Source\Modules\AppLoader\BAppLoaderPhase.cpp
    Line: 263
    Func: MWL::Base::BAppLoaderPhase::LoadError
    
    BAppLoaderPhase:FileError: 13 loading pakfiles\bootsplash.bff
    Code:
    File: Source\Core\Memory\BMemPoolAlloc.cpp
    Line: 243
    Func: MWL::Base::BMemPool::_Alloc
    
    Unable to allocate 1246319209 bytes of memory from the pool (Game)
    Code:
    File: Source\Modules\Resource\BResourceManager.cpp
    Line: 393
    Func: MWL::Base::BResourceManager::DecompressAssetLZX
    
    Size Error decompressing asset (XMemDecompress)
    I've played the game not often in the past due to lack of time. Now where I have more time, I know a better reason to don't do this. It doesn't look like a specific error, rather like a shitload of errors.
    Last edited by Mattze; 24-07-2017 at 20:30.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 51
    Last Post: 04-11-2015, 09:00
  2. Replies: 27
    Last Post: 14-09-2015, 18:52
  3. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 24-07-2015, 09:30
  4. this async file object is being destroyed whilst still in use
    By Noksi in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-06-2015, 21:59
  5. BDbgFatal Async File Object is being destroyed
    By DerStoffel in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26-05-2015, 08:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •