Page 19 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 190 of 230

Thread: Project CARS 2 PC System Requirements

  1. #181
    Kart Driver Bankai_Bullett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    40
    Platform
    PS4
    Quote Originally Posted by Azure Flare View Post
    Clock speeds only mean so much. As long as it's at least powerful as the i5-3450. For example, you could probably run PCars 2 on a system that has an i7-4765T, which has a base clock of 2.0 GHZ, and a Turbo of 3.0 GHz. It would probably be a bit of a bottleneck, but you could run it.
    I'm a bit dense when it comes to comparing CPUs, or hell, PC specs in general lol
    So, what I'm getting is that mine could run the game in theory, but there may be some bottle-necking... even if mine is turboing to 3.5Ghz???

    Next question, can one work around a bottleneck?

  2. #182
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    5,802
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Bankai_Bullett View Post
    I'm a bit dense when it comes to comparing CPUs, or hell, PC specs in general lol
    So, what I'm getting is that mine could run the game in theory, but there may be some bottle-necking... even if mine is turboing to 3.5Ghz???

    Next question, can one work around a bottleneck?
    With an upgrade, yes.
    Addressing expectations on realism and simulation - Project CARS PC Leaderboards - Learn how to race properly - Forum Resources for Pcars
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A good explanation of the different tyre types - FFB Guide - Official FFB Guide - A new home for all your setups - How to use the Advance Search
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 378.66)| Displays: 50" LG 4K UHD TV 3840x2160 @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim brake mod (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - Anniversary


  3. #183
    Kart Driver Bankai_Bullett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    40
    Platform
    PS4
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Prynne View Post
    With an upgrade, yes.
    So in my case... no.

  4. #184
    Moderator Bealdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Leipzig
    Posts
    6,291
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Bankai_Bullett View Post
    I'm a bit dense when it comes to comparing CPUs, or hell, PC specs in general lol
    So, what I'm getting is that mine could run the game in theory, but there may be some bottle-necking... even if mine is turboing to 3.5Ghz???

    Next question, can one work around a bottleneck?
    When all four cores are used your CPU is "only" turboing to 3.1GHz.
    Since it's a Gen 7 i5 you should be fine. You could run into issues when racing against too many AI opponents.
    You'll have to try and find the sweet spot/best compromise for your system.
    Main Rig: CPU I7 4790K@Stock | GPU Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB | RAM 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz | MB Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 3 | SSD Samsung 850 EVO 120GB | HDD Seagate SATA 1TB | O.S. Win 10 Pro 64bit
    Second Rig: CPU Q6600@2,80GHz | GPU Nvidia GTX 460 1GB | RAM 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB ASUS P5Q SE2 | HDD WD SATA 320GB | O.S. Win 7 64bit
    STEAM ID: Bealdor

    The forum search is a powerful tool, if you know how to use it...

    Before posting a problem, make sure to check our Known Issues Threads: PC / PS4 / XB1

    [QRWEP] Quick Race Weekend Event Planner
    The following user likes this Post: Bankai_Bullett


  5. #185
    WMD Member HLR Ghosty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Wrexham, UK
    Posts
    97
    Platform
    PC
    The game is much more optimised than the first, I managed a steady 60 fps with medium to high settings with the setup in my sig in the dry, would lose a few fps at the start of a race in the wet. This was with 24 cars on track but I usually limit it to 16.
    CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K 3.30GHz | Mobo: Intel Z68 DDR3 | Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler | Ram: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit | HDD: 3.5TB| GPU: Gigabyte GTX 770 WF | Logitech G27
    Xbox One | Turtle Beach PX51's | 42inch LG Cinema Smart TV | LG 300w Sound Bar/Subwoofer
    The following 2 users likes this Post: OddTimer, roddypoddy


  6. #186
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Larisa
    Posts
    883
    Platform
    PC
    Assuming I bought a 1080ti for pcars2 with my current system, and moving it over to my new system in a few months when prices have settled, would it be a significant upgrade? I obviously know it trumps my current card, but will it be able to flex with my i5 2500? (non-K, I wish I had known back then.)
    Windows 10-64bit, Intel i2500, AMD R9 380 4GB, 8GB RAM, 32'' full HD, T300, 599XX wheel, T3PA pedals.

  7. #187
    Super Moderator Remco Van Dijk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,845
    Quote Originally Posted by konnos View Post
    Assuming I bought a 1080ti for pcars2 with my current system, and moving it over to my new system in a few months when prices have settled, would it be a significant upgrade? I obviously know it trumps my current card, but will it be able to flex with my i5 2500? (non-K, I wish I had known back then.)
    I think that with the new card being more powerful, you can crank up details and especially AA for better visuals. Whenever FPS is limited by the GPU (lots of objects, finer details) it will make a difference. In cases of the amount of AI making the CPU the bottleneck, it obviously won't. There's a grey area where CPU and GPU have to work together, and there I wouldn't know when the new GPU would improve performance and when not.

    I upgraded from i2600K + GTX1070 OC to i7700K + GTX1080Ti OC, and yeah it's both CPU and GPU that got significantly upgraded but what I find most noticeable is that I can run at High SuperSampling for much better jaggies reduction and still run a solid 60 FPS. This IMO is solely due to the better GPU.
    CPU i7 7700K | RAM Corsair 16GB 2400MHz | GPU Asus GTX1080 Ti OC 11GB | Mobo Asus Strix Z270H | Audio SB Zx @ 5.1/AKG K401 | OS Win 10 x64 | Screen LG 27EA63V-P 27" 1920x1080 | Controllers Fanatec CSW v2.5 + UH, CSP v3, CSS SQ, CSH | Misc TrackIR 4 Pro, Playseat Revolution, DS button box
    Texture Res HIGH | AF 16x | VSync ON | AA MSAA Medium | Reflections HIGH | EnvMap HIGH | Vehicle ULTRA | Track ULTRA | Shadows HIGH | Motion Blur OFF | Particle Quality HIGH | Particle Density HIGH | Crepuscular Rays ON | Heat Haze OFF | Stretched Headlights ON | Detailed Grass OFF
    With the right to say what you think comes the obligation to think about what you say. || Don't take life too seriously. No-one gets out alive anyway.

  8. #188
    Scott Tanner
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Remco Van Dijk View Post
    I think that with the new card being more powerful, you can crank up details and especially AA for better visuals. Whenever FPS is limited by the GPU (lots of objects, finer details) it will make a difference. In cases of the amount of AI making the CPU the bottleneck, it obviously won't. There's a grey area where CPU and GPU have to work together, and there I wouldn't know when the new GPU would improve performance and when not.

    I upgraded from i2600K + GTX1070 OC to i7700K + GTX1080Ti OC, and yeah it's both CPU and GPU that got significantly upgraded but what I find most noticeable is that I can run at High SuperSampling for much better jaggies reduction and still run a solid 60 FPS. This IMO is solely due to the better GPU.
    Very nice.

    I'm still using a GTX 970 and during the pCars 2 beta the card ran very well on a single screen with high (not max settings) but I run race sims on 3 x 2560x1080 screens and the 970 struggles to get 70 with settings on the lowest and ideally i wish to run race sims at 120-150 (even if set to low) due to the reduced frame time (in milliseconds) eg: 60fps is 18ms frame time 140-150 is 4-6 ms frame time, so it looks like i'll need to upgrade to at least a 1070 which is an amazing card but still at prices higher than launch due to the recent mining craze.

  9. #189
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    25
    Platform
    PC
    I was running an I5-2500 with 8gn and GTX 1070 for most of the Beta - I was able to run Triple Screens (Independant (corrrect) rendering) and sit at a stable 45-55fps with 5760x1080. This was running most options maxed, however shadows at medium and low anti aliasing. If i dropped track to high detail instead of ultra (A few less objects i could get 50-60fps. Obviously lowering a few other things would boost more.

    .. If i switched back to my ultrawide i could sit on 70+fps @ 3440x1440. So those with 1920x1080 setups would easily get 80-90fps with similar specs.

    Toward the end of Beta (and looking at performance in other games also) - i started to suspect by CPU was bottlenecking my GPU - as others with same GPU but better CPUs were getting better performance, so i upgraded my CPU to an I7-7700 - I got around 20% boost in FPS (Across all games). So now sitting on 80-90FPS in pcars2 on triples and around 120+ on ultrawide.
    CPU : I7-7700k, 16gb Gskill 3200 DDR4 Ram. GTX 1070
    3x27" AOC Monitors, G29, with custom perfect pedal mod.

  10. #190
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    9
    Platform
    PC
    I've played the 1st Project Cars on my Desktop on Steam though it's out of commission at the moment so I'm using my gaming laptop and wanted to know if these specs would work for Project Cars 2. I'm pretty sure I'd be okay even though I pre-ordered Project Cars 2 on PSN, saw the specs on the minimum and recommended specs and thought gee even on the PS4 Pro which I have they probably have to butcher some quality to make it run just fine given that it's been proven that the PS4 Pro is just as powerful as a mid-range computer but hopefully they won't have to sacrifice too much to get it to work on the Pro. Anyways I'm pretty confident in these specs that I should be able to run the game max settings if I play it on Steam but what do you think?

    Windows 10

    Direct X 12

    Intel Core i7-7700HQ 6M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz

    Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060

    16GB Memory RAM

Similar Threads

  1. System requirements
    By fra z in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-03-2017, 20:27
  2. System requirements
    By fra z in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2017, 17:41
  3. Project cars has many initiation requirements.
    By maxpainpayne in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2016, 13:28
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2015, 18:42
  5. Misleading PC System Requirements
    By F1_Racer68 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 13-05-2015, 19:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •