Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 98

Thread: Stutter Fix

  1. #11
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by Maurice Boeschen View Post
    I had them only in some corners like the first 5 at Algarve. Setting the fps cap completely eliminated the stuttering/jittering.
    Yep, some corners, guess it's mostly combination of turn radius and vehicle speed that affect camera panning speed, when it starts skipping frames or something along these lines. It's almost like stroboscope effect.

  2. #12
    Superkart Pilot Kitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    North Wales
    Posts
    249
    Platform
    PC
    yep corners and was also getting it on the straights at classic hockenheim

  3. #13
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    39
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew_WOT View Post
    1) Turn Vsync off in game
    2) Force Adaptive Vsync in video driver
    3) Add the following launch options in Steam game properties -fpscap 63
    Andrew - Thanks for the fix.

    I use MSI Afterburner with Rivatuner Statistics Server.
    The latest beta allows realtime graphs on the OSD during the game.
    http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html



    1) Turn Vsync off in game
    2) Force Adaptive Vsync in video driver.

    The Frametime and FPS graphs were not flat.

    3) -fpscap 63 fix
    It made some improvement, but the graphs were still bumpy on my system. It probably varies with different monitors and hardware.
    I tried -fpscap 60. This cut the FPS to below 60.

    I then tried the same fix I'd used in pCars 1 - Set the Framerate limiter in Rivatuner Statistics Server to 60fps.
    The graphs are flat!!!!!



    ***** I have read that using an external framerate limiter might increase lag. *****



    Why Frame Time Analysis is important
    https://www.vortez.net/articles_page...nalysis,1.html
    Last edited by Richard83945; 24-09-2017 at 12:17.
    Asus Z170 ROG Hero VIII | Intel i7 6700K | 16GB memory | Samsung SSD 850 256GB SSD | Asus Strix GTX 970 | Asus PG279Q | Windows 10 Pro FCU
    Thrustmaster TX
    The following 2 users likes this Post: Andrew_WOT, IJerichoI


  4. #14
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    292
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard83945 View Post
    ...Set the Framerate limiter in Rivatuner Statistics Server to 60fps.
    Is this a global setting in Riva, or can it be per game?
    PC: Asrock z370 Extreme4 (W10-x64) | i7-8700K | GSkill (2x8GB) | MSI 1080Ti Gaming X | Oculus Rift CV1 | XFX 650W CE | Samsung 860 Evo 250GB/500GB SSD
    Gear: T300RS / G27 pedals (Ricmotech Load Cell) | WSP v2

  5. #15
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    39
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by sherpa25 View Post
    Is this a global setting in Riva, or can it be per game?
    Yes it can be per game.
    I'm not sure what the difference is between pCARS2.exe and pCARS2AVX.exe.
    pCARS2AVX.exe is the one to choose in RivaTuner.

    Here are my settings:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RivaTuner.JPG 
Views:	352 
Size:	59.1 KB 
ID:	240390
    Asus Z170 ROG Hero VIII | Intel i7 6700K | 16GB memory | Samsung SSD 850 256GB SSD | Asus Strix GTX 970 | Asus PG279Q | Windows 10 Pro FCU
    Thrustmaster TX
    The following 2 users likes this Post: Andrew_WOT, sherpa25


  6. #16
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    152
    Platform
    PC
    Why not just enable Steams own FPS on screen overlay?
    i5 6600k, GTX1070, 16GB DDR4, T300RS + T3PA

  7. #17
    Moderator +WMD 1/2 Member Roger Prynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Newquay, Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    7,691
    Platform
    PC
    ^ Because that's all it does, display FPS.
    Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3P AMD 970 ATX | CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz (4.20 GHz Turbo) 8x Core | CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 | Memory: 16GB DDR3 (1600MHz)
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 2GB GDDR5 - (Driver: 385.69)| Displays: 55" LG 4K UHD TV @ 60Hz - 24" Monitor 1920x1080 @ 60Hz | PSU: Sea Sonic X - 850 Watt
    Storage: SSD 250GB Samsung 850 EVO x2 - 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata III x2 | Sound: X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatality Pro + 400W Technics 7.1
    Wheel: G25 & Pedals with Nixim mod springs (NO PROFILER USED) | RIG: Playseat Challenge | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A few helpful links for you



  8. #18
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    39
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by thepharcyde View Post
    Why not just enable Steams own FPS on screen overlay?
    The RivaTuner beta OSD displays realtime line graphs which show very fast changes in FPS and framerate.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	60fps limit in RivaTuner.JPG 
Views:	347 
Size:	50.7 KB 
ID:	240406
    Asus Z170 ROG Hero VIII | Intel i7 6700K | 16GB memory | Samsung SSD 850 256GB SSD | Asus Strix GTX 970 | Asus PG279Q | Windows 10 Pro FCU
    Thrustmaster TX

  9. #19
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    152
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard83945 View Post
    The RivaTuner beta OSD displays realtime line graphs which show very fast changes in FPS and framerate.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	60fps limit in RivaTuner.JPG 
Views:	347 
Size:	50.7 KB 
ID:	240406
    That's just overkill IMO - I don't even use Steams own counter, I've found in the past using it you spend so much time tweaking settings to maintain 'x' FPS that it detracts from racing.
    i5 6600k, GTX1070, 16GB DDR4, T300RS + T3PA

  10. #20
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by thepharcyde View Post
    That's just overkill IMO - I don't even use Steams own counter, I've found in the past using it you spend so much time tweaking settings to maintain 'x' FPS that it detracts from racing.
    Come on, this is Project Cars. You spend most time either tuning graphics or ffb.
    The following 2 users likes this Post: Gloomy, Richard83945


Similar Threads

  1. sound stutter on upshift
    By ShimonART in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-08-2017, 21:05
  2. AI Car stutter
    By Tex-Rec in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-04-2017, 20:02
  3. Help = Stutter even 60 FPS ( Cornering Problem )
    By Tex-Rec in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 27-12-2016, 00:30
  4. Replay Stutter
    By Ezuna in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-01-2016, 06:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •