Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How much faster are you with VR - How much faster are you with a wheel ??

Kart Driver
    Platform
    PC

How much faster are you with VR - How much faster are you with a wheel ??

I started playing with since day 0 of PC2 in VR with my new Rift and was initially impressed and also kind of let down. The graphics are not shiny....at all. I was considering sending back the rift because as impressive as it still is, the graphics were not doing it for me.

But then I decided to play 2D because PC2 looks simply stunning and wanted to compare my performance. WOW. I am going 4 to 5 seconds faster with the rift!!

Dont get me wrong. I love the feeling and with my gtx 1070 and 7700k cpu I am able to run the supersampling option at 1.40, which really clears the graphics. Being there, in VR in a racing game, is really hard to explain, you get to see the minor bumps in the road, dirt, every minor nuance that you simply cant get even in a 55" tv, where I iusually game. But I wasnt expecting such a drastic performance improvement.

How much does VR improve your laptimes?

What about going from a gamepad to a proper wheel and pedals??
    I am using an xbox one gamepad and my times are two seconds higher than the bunch in the community event of this launch week. How much did your laptimes improve from going from a gamepad to a wheel?

Superkart Pilot
    Platform
    PC
    I can definitely read the tracks better in vr, specially helpful for tracks I'm not really familiar with. It's easier to know when to turn in as I can actually see and judge the turns better. If it's a track I've been racing a thousand times it doesn't make as much of a difference as I have most of that memorized but it still helps.
    As for the wheel, I'm on my 3rd wheel setup over the last 8 years, I haven't used a game pad to race in that time.
    I remember when I first went to a wheel my laps were initially worse until I got used to it.

WMD Member
    Platform