Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 91

Thread: Using TH8A as a handbrake

  1. #21
    WMD Member Neil Bateman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    751
    Platform
    PC
    Found this video on TH8A used as a handbrake, its old so not sure if it will still work this way.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rcX3NYMIO9E
    CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K 3.90GHz Turbo | MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 7 Intel Z97 | MEMORY: 16.00GB Kingston HyperX Fury 1600Mhz | GPU: 2 x MSI GTX970 4GB GAMING TWIN FROZER SLI | Primary Monitor: BenQ 27" XL2730Z 2560 x 1440 (WQHD) 144Hz | Secondry Monitor: HannsG HG216D" 22" 1680 x 1050 60Hz | Tablet: 9" Inch Quad Core Camera Android 4.4 16GB | PSU: Super Flower Leadex Gold 650 W | Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3 | Speakers: Dell MMS 5650 5.1 | OS Drive: 120GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO | Games Drive: Samsung 120GB 850 Evo SSD |Back Up Drive: 1TB Hitachi HDS721010CLA332 ATA Device (SATA) | External Storage: 1TB Western Digital WD Ext HDD | OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64-bit |Cockpit: GT Omega Pro Racing Simulator Professional - RS6 Seat | Wheel: Logitech G27 | Pedals: Thrustmaster T3PA PRO | Headset: Gamdias HEPHAESTUS GHS2000 | Keyboard/Mouse: Logitech MX3200 cordless. |



    DX11 | 2560x1440 | POST PROCESSING FILTER: ON | LENS FLARE: ON | SUN FLARE EXT: FULL| SUN FLARE INT: FULL | BLOOM: ON | RAIN DROPS: ON | CREPSULAR RAYS: YES | SCREEN DIRT: YES | TEXT RES: HIGH | TEXT FILT: 16X | AA: DS2M | FXAA: HIGH | SMAA: OFF | REFLECTIONS:HIGH | ENVIRONMENT: HIGH | CAR: ULTRA | TRACK: ULTRA | SHADOW: ULTRA | M BLUR: LOW | RENDER FRAMES: 2 | GRASS: LOW | PARTICLE LEVEL: HIGH | PARTICLE DENSITY: HIGH | STRETCHED HEADLIGHTS: YES |

  2. #22
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    9
    Platform
    PS4
    Unfortunately this only works for Pc and not console.

  3. #23
    Superkart Pilot GUTTER-BOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Denver Colorado
    Posts
    274
    Platform
    PS4
    I modded my TH8A and use 4th gear as the handbrake. With my mod, I can quickly jump from handbrake to H pattern shifter in about 15 seconds. I now have small carabiner style clips where the springs attach to the shifter, but this gives you an idea about the mod.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	61294520-C4F4-4991-ACCB-28EF2FBF6253.jpeg 
Views:	134 
Size:	107.4 KB 
ID:	244596

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3E55CF41-CC2A-40F8-AEAB-DD75AFF23D5E.jpeg 
Views:	135 
Size:	118.7 KB 
ID:	244600
    Last edited by GUTTER-BOY; 05-11-2017 at 22:19.

  4. #24
    Superkart Pilot GUTTER-BOY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Denver Colorado
    Posts
    274
    Platform
    PS4
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F4C7A380-5811-47A5-A3F4-EF43D8986C2D.jpeg 
Views:	134 
Size:	93.8 KB 
ID:	244597

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	11FF22DF-49A2-48BD-A849-1E477CBA9EBB.jpeg 
Views:	134 
Size:	93.8 KB 
ID:	244598

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	82B44F88-8340-452D-B15B-B3C1A7997E4E.jpeg 
Views:	135 
Size:	106.3 KB 
ID:	244599
    The following 2 users likes this Post: Madhun67, VIPR_SOA


  5. #25
    WMD Member Madhun67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Columbus,Ohio
    Posts
    196
    Platform
    PC
    ^sweet setup.............................hope i can use the TH8A soon.
    PS4 T300RS BASE , FANATEC CLUBSPORT V3 ,TH8A ,FANATEC SHIFTER,TRAKRACER RS8

  6. #26
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    27
    Platform
    PS4
    Does anybody know whether the functionality to use TH8A as a handbrake will be deployed in a future PCARS2 update?

  7. #27
    Superkart Pilot Djuvinile's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    373
    Platform
    PS4
    Havent heard or read anything about it.. i think the problem is the R1 and L1 buttons are hard coded from th8a to ps4..
    PS4 ID: Djuvinile
    T300rs/F1-Rim/TH8A/Playseat Challenge/T3PA/
    Crew Chief/ RS Dash

  8. #28
    WMD Member JohnSchoonsBeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Nr Reading, UK
    Posts
    650
    Platform
    PS4 Pro
    I've found using the th8a as a digital switch handbrake as pretty worthless. For me it needs to be analogue or its not worth the switchover.

    Has anyone got the Thrustmaster T Flight HOTAS 4 flight stick for ps4? It would be interesting to know if it can be mapped as an analogue handbrake in the game. It is supposedly possible on PC. As it is designed for PS4 I'm hoping one of the axis can be mapped to the handbrake.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B01...zgL&ref=plSrch
    Last edited by JohnSchoonsBeard; 11-12-2017 at 13:52.
    CRAP pCARS Club organiser

    Project CARS setup: PS4 Pro, T300RS wheel, T3PA pedals, TH8A Gear stick or DS4, PSVR in large cinematic mode or UHD 55" Samsung (HDR) TV (UE55KS7000), pCARS Dash, Crew Chief, RS Dash, Sony STR DH 810 AV amp (7.1) or Turtle Beach DSS 7.1 surround processor and px22 headphones, Bluetooth keyboard.

  9. #29
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    27
    Platform
    PS4
    How has it been made to work with DIRT? I read that if connecting it directly to the PS4 rather than via the wheel it recognises it as a different control device and thus can be mapped sperately.

    Valid point about digital/analogue though, don’t really want a handbrake that operates like a light switch!!

    Don’t really want to delve into the RX without a decent handbrake option.

  10. #30
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PS4
    Dirt is able to recognize th8rs as separate Device, even those "so called" simcade games like wrc7,wrc6 and dirt 4 are able to do so

Similar Threads

  1. Handbrake for PC2
    By ramm21 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 27-12-2017, 10:01
  2. No handbrake
    By Pepsipie in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15-12-2016, 09:43
  3. g29 handbrake mod
    By remoteplayer in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-08-2016, 06:00
  4. No handbrake?
    By Crunked in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14-01-2016, 09:14
  5. TH8A/TH8RS Shifter As A Handbrake
    By C6ckneyGeezer in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14-11-2015, 13:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •