Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Xbox 360 Controller no change to sensitivity when making adjustments to the settings

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1
    Platform
    PC

    Xbox 360 Controller no change to sensitivity when making adjustments to the settings

    With my 360 controller, the sensitivity seems really high to the point where I can't even drive cars in certain classes because minor steering corrections become overcorrections that turn into over-countercorrections which turn into spinning out. I've played with the sensitivity and even turned it all the way down to zero but it seems exactly the same. I also messed around with controller damping, but that didn't seem to make any difference either. Fortunately I can still enjoy the game as long as I stick to slower cars, but it would be great if someone knew of a fix.
    The following 2 users likes this Post: NeonFlux, Sando


  2. #2
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    75
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by fugazni View Post
    With my 360 controller, the sensitivity seems really high to the point where I can't even drive cars in certain classes because minor steering corrections become overcorrections that turn into over-countercorrections which turn into spinning out. I've played with the sensitivity and even turned it all the way down to zero but it seems exactly the same. I also messed around with controller damping, but that didn't seem to make any difference either. Fortunately I can still enjoy the game as long as I stick to slower cars, but it would be great if someone knew of a fix.
    At least the deadzone bug present since NFS1 is finally fixed . I had hope that an option to ditch all filtering would be present, but as you say, even setting all dampening effects to 0 and setting steering sensitivity to 50 doesn't do a real 1:1 input/output.

    Funny thing is that it's now possible to set a custom wheel under xinput, so I was hoping to get the wheel "treatment" without even using my utility, but after correctly assigning the axes/buttons I couldn't steer the car, brake/accel and everything else was working fine but no steering. I tried then to assign the right stick just for testing purposes, and even the triggers but still no wheel movement. Probably a bug unless I missed something but can't see what. And even calibration worked fine...

    I then tried my utility, that forced pc1 into "thinking" that I had a wheel instead of a gamepad but... it didn't worked in pc2. I checked what was wrong and it seems that pc2 uses the xinput9_1_0.dll file instead of xinput1_3.dll. Since both versions are virtually the same (from MS documentation xinput9_1_0 is older than xinput1_3...) a simple file renaming will do the job.

    So you may try it and see if it helps (click on my signature to go to the utility download page), but to get it to work with pc2 you'll have to do the same steps as for pc1 but an additional step is needed: do a copy/paste of xinput1_3.dll and rename the copy as xinput9_1_0.dll (and keep both in pc2 folder)

    I'll try to release a corrected version in the next days, so only one xinput dll is needed. If it's possible I'll also include a save game/profile as for pc1 for quick testing. Only bought the game a couple days ago so didn't check if a generic profile save can be included as for pc1.

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Kart Driver xelapc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Posts
    46
    Platform
    PC
    Hi, I'm using the simple xbox 360 Racing wheel (U-shape). Works fine in AC under "xbox pad" adjustment. Now in pc2 an annoying "deadzone" is still there. Using now the ACE wrapper, steering and gas/bracke and all buttons work well - but no FFB. Is there a solition without the wrapper and then without that f*** deadzone when configure original via "xbox 360 pad"
    Thx gor answering / Xela1

  4. #4
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    75
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by xelapc View Post
    Hi, I'm using the simple xbox 360 Racing wheel (U-shape). Works fine in AC under "xbox pad" adjustment. Now in pc2 an annoying "deadzone" is still there. Using now the ACE wrapper, steering and gas/bracke and all buttons work well - but no FFB. Is there a solition without the wrapper and then without that f*** deadzone when configure original via "xbox 360 pad"
    Thx gor answering / Xela1
    If you have it to force it to use dinput then you won't have FFB as MS doesn't give FFB for their devices under that API . But it's kind of strange that the you still have the dz bug as it seemed solved for the x360 gamepad.

    But in your case if you want to get rid of the dz you only need the xinput dll as you don't need to fake the device. So, copy xinput1_3.dll to pcars2 folder and rename it to xinput9_1_0.dll. Launch the editor, before running the game, and uncheck "disable xinput", as well as the rumble options ("On pressing button" & "On pressing trigger" as they will interfere with xinput FFB). Also, set all axis values to their default (right click and click on "reset selected"), and filter only LX ( if that's your steering axis - Axes->Filter->LX check). Then launch the game and test it with negative dz. Do alt-tab to go to the editor and change the dz value, save the profile, return to the game and reload the changes on the fly by pressing F4 (or F1, as I dunno in which version I changed the default key, check the readme).

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Kart Driver xelapc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Posts
    46
    Platform
    PC
    thx Dwayne for your support and your little pogramm. Will give it a try tonight. Your explanation means that follow your advice I can use xbox360 config and steering works without deadzone and ffb will work too? at the moment it is config as a fake wheel ..
    Will give you another info later
    greetings Xela1

  6. #6
    Kart Driver xelapc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Posts
    46
    Platform
    PC
    no, don't get it. Checked 1h it doesn't work. I assume the dll file wasn't connected with the game. So I turn back with your app to the fake-wheel adjustment. This works well but no FFB bzw. fake-FFB by the triggers.

    Maybe Dwayne you get one of these XBox 360Racing wheels (U-shaped) you can test it. Give me a sign if you find it out and it will function. katjan10@gmx.de

    Greetings from Stuttgart
    Xela1

    AC at the moment is better driving ... but no eyecandy in that pC2 way

  7. #7
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    75
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by xelapc View Post
    no, don't get it. Checked 1h it doesn't work. I assume the dll file wasn't connected with the game. So I turn back with your app to the fake-wheel adjustment. This works well but no FFB bzw. fake-FFB by the triggers.

    Maybe Dwayne you get one of these XBox 360Racing wheels (U-shaped) you can test it. Give me a sign if you find it out and it will function. katjan10@gmx.de

    Greetings from Stuttgart
    Xela1

    AC at the moment is better driving ... but no eyecandy in that pC2 way
    If you renamed xinput1_3 to xinput9_1_0 it should have load it (if not then check if you have the correct version as it can be 64 or 32 bits). Also, make sure you don't have enabled "Disabled xinput" in the editor as well as the pass-through option. Dinput8.dll is not needed for what you need so you can just delete it. To know if the wrapper was loaded enable the console, if it opens when u launch the game it means the utility was loaded (alt-tab after launching the game to check it), or/and enable the file log (if it's created then it also means the wrapper was loaded).

    But if you could fake the device (in pcars2) it means that you had to do the steps in my first reply? Otherwise it wouldn't work as xinput wouldn't be disabled and the game would not be under forced dinput (unknown wheel device).

  8. #8
    Kart Driver xelapc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Posts
    46
    Platform
    PC
    Thx. And than? Which config menue in pc2 should I use? The xbox 360 pad? If yes, deadzone is still there, 30 degrees. It feels like I didn't use your fabulous ACE wrapper. What about the dxACE.ini? Will there a new one generate while starting the ACE.exe? Dwayne would you please repeat step by step (1,2,3...) what to do. Many thx! Maybe I should send a video while I configure
    Greetings

  9. #9
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    1
    Platform
    PC
    Hi, my xbox 360 controller doesn't vibrate so much when I adjust the vibration to 100. Knows anybody what can it be?
    The following user likes this Post: xelapc


  10. #10
    Kart Driver xelapc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Posts
    46
    Platform
    PC
    also. Seems to be a another bug. Also 'deadzone' or/and 'controller damper' and 'Damper saturation' don't work in a right way. All four adjustments haven't got a '0' Value!!

Similar Threads

  1. Sensitivity/Dead Zone Settings for Regular Old PS4 Controller?
    By apexbuddha in forum Project CARS 2 on Playstation 4
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-09-2017, 22:40
  2. Controller settings for XBox One
    By breyzipp in forum Project CARS 2 on XBOX One
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-09-2017, 07:20
  3. speed sensitivity and controller filtering sensitivity? Please explain?
    By CreasingCurve1 in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-10-2015, 02:51
  4. Change/apply GFX and Controller Settings during play
    By nedge2k in forum Feature Suggestions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-09-2015, 12:54
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2015, 15:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •