Page 28 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1826272829 LastLast
Results 271 to 280 of 284

Thread: Blurred Vr (Oculus)

  1. #271
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    532
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Ramjet View Post
    Hey Jim I am using the settings below which I settled on after some testing from the last update and to me it looks best with VR Supersampling ingame set at 1.2

    <prop name="SharpeningStrength" sharpeningstrength="0.985000" />
    <prop name="SharpeningClamp" sharpeningclamp="0.080000" />
    <prop name="OffsetBias" offsetbias="1.060000" />

    Previously I ran the default settings with SS at 1.4 but I now believe setting ss lower with sharper settings gives me optimal performance with my hardware, but then ymmv. Cheers blanes
    Cool, I had a play about with the sharpening stuff when it was first mentioned, I spent ages one day tweaking each setting in turn from low to high values to see what it would do, but settled on a small tweak over std worked well enough.

    Running SS1.4 myself and 0.08 I think it was on the clamp setting. I will give these a try though as im always looking for a tweak here or there to make it better, and lowering to SS1.2 helps a bit with FPS.

    My setup is close to yours, 8600k and 1080ti with a rift.
    Last edited by Gav88888; 14-06-2018 at 14:51.
    The following user likes this Post: Ramjet


  2. #272
    WMD Member Ramjet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Brisbane ~ Aussie
    Posts
    267
    I think your system maybe 20% overall more grunt than mine being faster cpu and gpu, wouldn't it ?
    i7 6700K@4.6Ghz | Asus Z170 Pro Gaming | 16GB Corsair DDR4 3000 | GB 1080 G1 Gaming | Creative X-Fi | Win10 Pro | Samsung 960 EVO 250 SSD | GTUltimate2 Cockpit | AccuForce Pro + CSS SQ + CSP V3 | NL Motion V3 | Bkg2 + SimVibe | Philips BDM4065 40inch 4K Monitor | Sony 65inch ZD9 | Oculus Rift CV1 | Zalman Mid-Tower |SeaSonic 850w Silver80 | Turbo-Charged Beagle Foxy Mutt

  3. #273
    GT4 Pilot Olijke Poffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,346
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Gav88888 View Post
    Cool, I had a play about with the sharpening stuff when it was first mentioned, I spent ages one day tweaking each setting in turn from low to high values to see what it would do, but settled on a small tweak over std worked well enough.

    Running SS1.4 myself and 0.08 I think it was on the clamp setting. I will give these a try though as im always looking for a tweak here or there to make it better, and lowering to SS1.2 helps a bit with FPS.

    My setup is close to yours, 8600k and 1080ti with a rift.



    I think SS at 1.4 is to much even for your system..
    Steam: Olijke Poffer CPU: Intel i7 8700k 6 cores @ 4.9 Ghz | RAM: 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz | GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB Mobo: MSI Z370 Krait Gaming | SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | OS: Win 10 x64 | Screen:IIyama PROLITE XUB2792QSU-B1 2550x1440 | Controller:Fanatec CSW v2.5, Fanatec Mclaren GT3 rim, CSL Elite pedals & loadcell brake & TH8A Shifter| Misc: Oculus Rift , Playseat Evolution , Wife for serving Coffee and Beer.
    The following user likes this Post: BigDad


  4. #274
    Superkart Pilot jimortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    674
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Garton View Post
    Go on then; a new patch is going live on Steam soon, with just this addition (thanks especially to TomC for going above and beyond to make it happen).

    The sharpening feature is controlled by three values in your graphics config XML file (itself found in your Project CARS 2 documents folder, separate files for VR and non-VR, e.g. graphicsconfigoculusdx11.xml and graphicsconfigdx11.xml):

    Code:
    <prop name="SharpeningStrength" sharpeningstrength="0.000000" />
    <prop name="SharpeningClamp" sharpeningclamp="0.045000" />
    <prop name="OffsetBias" offsetbias="1.000000" />
    ... to create these values in the file the first time, either delete your current file and run the game (after you've installed the 4.0.0.3 patch of course), or, if you want to maintain your current settings, run the game and go in and out of the "Performance" graphics menu.

    The values are used as follows (apologies for the somewhat technical explanations - the only value most people will want to change probably is the first one, strength):

    • Strength (0.0->3.0, default 0.0) - the strength of the sharpening, zero being off. I find a subtle amount like 0.6 to be a good starting point. Too high a value will cause shimmering effects and a generally unnatural look to the image. Note that having sharpening on at all will have a small performance cost, but the size of that hit doesn't vary with the amount of sharpening.
    • Clamp (0.0->1.0, default 0.045) - limits the amount of sharpening at the local pixel level (if you have a large continuity difference between the original pixel and blurred pixel it limits the amount of offset applied).
    • Offset (0.0->6.0, default 1.0) - the offset from the current pixel for the sampling pattern (so if it's 1 it will sample neighbouring pixels, any less and it will bias towards the central pixel, any more and it will start sampling pixels outside the normal kernel).
    Is the default strength 0.6 or 0.06? thanks
    Core I7- 6700K - Nvidia GTX 1080 TI -Gigabyte Z170 HD3P Motherboard - 16gb memory - 2tb HD - Alienware 34" Gsync 144hz Monitor - Thrustmaster TSPC-racer - T3PA pro pedals- TH8A Shifter - Corsair Void wireless headset- GT Omega wheelstand - Oculus rift steam - jimortality

  5. #275
    GT4 Pilot Olijke Poffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,346
    Platform
    PC
    Just delete or rename the file and restart pcars. A fresh copy will be added with settings set to default. But I believe it is 0.06.
    Steam: Olijke Poffer CPU: Intel i7 8700k 6 cores @ 4.9 Ghz | RAM: 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz | GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB Mobo: MSI Z370 Krait Gaming | SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | OS: Win 10 x64 | Screen:IIyama PROLITE XUB2792QSU-B1 2550x1440 | Controller:Fanatec CSW v2.5, Fanatec Mclaren GT3 rim, CSL Elite pedals & loadcell brake & TH8A Shifter| Misc: Oculus Rift , Playseat Evolution , Wife for serving Coffee and Beer.

  6. #276
    Superkart Pilot jimortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    674
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Olijke Poffer View Post
    Just delete or rename the file and restart pcars. A fresh copy will be added with settings set to default. But I believe it is 0.06.
    NO I did that and it starts at 0.0
    Core I7- 6700K - Nvidia GTX 1080 TI -Gigabyte Z170 HD3P Motherboard - 16gb memory - 2tb HD - Alienware 34" Gsync 144hz Monitor - Thrustmaster TSPC-racer - T3PA pro pedals- TH8A Shifter - Corsair Void wireless headset- GT Omega wheelstand - Oculus rift steam - jimortality
    The following user likes this Post: Olijke Poffer


  7. #277
    WMD Member Chin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    155
    Platform
    PC
    Which is exactly the default as Andy noted: "Strength (0.0->3.0, default 0.0)"
    i5-8600K || MSI Z370 Pro Carbon || 16GB DDR4 3000 || GTX 1080Ti || 240Gb SSD+1TB HDD || Xonar DG || Win10 64b || CSWv2+CSPv2 || Oculus Rift

  8. #278
    Superkart Pilot jimortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    674
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Chin View Post
    Which is exactly the default as Andy noted: "Strength (0.0->3.0, default 0.0)"
    Yes but that wasn't my question, it was whether it's 0.6 or 0.06 which are the settings Andy then used. 0.0 is off.
    Core I7- 6700K - Nvidia GTX 1080 TI -Gigabyte Z170 HD3P Motherboard - 16gb memory - 2tb HD - Alienware 34" Gsync 144hz Monitor - Thrustmaster TSPC-racer - T3PA pro pedals- TH8A Shifter - Corsair Void wireless headset- GT Omega wheelstand - Oculus rift steam - jimortality

  9. #279
    GT4 Pilot BigDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Lakeside QR
    Posts
    2,791
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by jimortality View Post
    Yes but that wasn't my question, it was whether it's 0.6 or 0.06 which are the settings Andy then used. 0.0 is off.
    0.6 !
    GPU: Galax GTX 1080Ti EXOC/ CPU: Intel i7 7700K @ 4.9GHz(So Far!)/ Cooler: Noctua NH-u14s / Mobo: Asrock z170 Extreme4/ RAM: 16GB Trident Z 3200MHz/ PSU: Coolermaster V750/ Storage: 2TB WD / Kingston 120GB SSD/250GB Evo 850 SSD/ Case: Storm Enforcer/ OS: Win 10/ Display: Sony 55" @ 3840x2160p / Wheel: Fanatec CSW v2 / McLaren GT3 / CS Universal Hub with magnetic shifter Mod/ Pedals: CSR Elite/ FTW / VR: Oculus Rift / : 2ndLastJedi

  10. #280
    Superkart Pilot jimortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    674
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by BigDad View Post
    0.6 !
    Thank you Dad, that's all I was looking for but I can see why my post would be confusing. Yes 0.0 is default but Andy then said that was off and changed it to 0.6
    Core I7- 6700K - Nvidia GTX 1080 TI -Gigabyte Z170 HD3P Motherboard - 16gb memory - 2tb HD - Alienware 34" Gsync 144hz Monitor - Thrustmaster TSPC-racer - T3PA pro pedals- TH8A Shifter - Corsair Void wireless headset- GT Omega wheelstand - Oculus rift steam - jimortality
    The following user likes this Post: Chin


Similar Threads

  1. [HELMET DOF] Blurred dash display?
    By karl25 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-09-2018, 01:16
  2. For Oculus rift - Steam vs. Oculus store for PC
    By hamp in forum Virtual Reality Devices Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-06-2016, 15:37
  3. Blurred mirrors and instruments
    By redglyph in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-10-2015, 10:47
  4. The Blurred Effect
    By dopeyj86 in forum PS4 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 18-05-2015, 12:37
  5. help with painting rims for Stock Car (blurred file), please
    By Hooper57 in forum The Paint Shop - Car Painting & Designs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-05-2015, 13:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •