Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 49

Thread: SIM Dashboard - Highly customizable Companion App for Android (supports PC/PS4/XBOX)

  1. #11
    Kart Driver StryderIT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    24
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by z3r0cool77 View Post
    Dont know if this is a problem with the app or with pcars 2 telemetry data but the wheel spin widget doesnt seem to work properly. I use it in f1 2017 and it works fine but in pcars you can pop the clutch and smoke the tires and it doesnt activate. Even when set to max sensitivity. The brake lockup widget works perfectly however. Occasionally the spin widget will light up but is only ever for a split second and can cant seem to get it to do so at will.
    The issue will be fixed in the next update, it's basically a problem with inverted data. If you are in the reverse gear it should work, but the forward gears are currently broken.
    The update will be released soon.
    PC - Wheel Thrustmaster T300RS - T3PA-PRO - TH8A Shifter - RaceRoom RR3055 Seat - SIM Dashboard Android Companion App

  2. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    608
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    Quote Originally Posted by StryderIT View Post
    The issue will be fixed in the next update, it's basically a problem with inverted data. If you are in the reverse gear it should work, but the forward gears are currently broken.
    The update will be released soon.
    Awesome thanks, and as always for the rapid response.

  3. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    608
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    Recently got an update to the app. Where as the tire spin widget wasnt working before now it seems way too sensitive. Driving a ginetta gt5 for example, once I hit about 145 kph the slip widget constantly lights up on the rear tires going in a straight line and set to minimum sensitivity (detection agressiveness.)

    Will also add that I changed to an xbox one x, dont know if that can have any effect on the data being sent to the app. The tire physics certainly feel different but no idea if that can effect telemetry output.

    Edit: after driving around with it some more, I believe it may be so sensitive that it is picking up the tire scrub caused by toe angle. In a car with more rear toe, the rears start showing straight line spin and if the front has higher toe settings the front starts showing spin at high speed.

    Edit: not toe scrub. Tried removing all toe and it still occurred. In the radical rx8 it starts at 215 kph on the front tires. (Rwd car)
    Last edited by z3r0cool77; 05-12-2017 at 18:33.

  4. #14
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    74
    Platform
    PC
    Is there any provision for "SIM Dashboard" to have native support on Pcars 2?
    I use another program that reads data from Pcars 2 and I can not change the game to export information in compatibility mode of Pcars 1. I am looking forward to this update.

  5. #15
    Kart Driver StryderIT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    24
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by z3r0cool77 View Post
    Recently got an update to the app. Where as the tire spin widget wasnt working before now it seems way too sensitive. Driving a ginetta gt5 for example, once I hit about 145 kph the slip widget constantly lights up on the rear tires going in a straight line and set to minimum sensitivity (detection agressiveness.)

    Will also add that I changed to an xbox one x, dont know if that can have any effect on the data being sent to the app. The tire physics certainly feel different but no idea if that can effect telemetry output.

    Edit: after driving around with it some more, I believe it may be so sensitive that it is picking up the tire scrub caused by toe angle. In a car with more rear toe, the rears start showing straight line spin and if the front has higher toe settings the front starts showing spin at high speed.

    Edit: not toe scrub. Tried removing all toe and it still occurred. In the radical rx8 it starts at 215 kph on the front tires. (Rwd car)
    I'll have to look into that for the next update. Need to capture and analyze some telemetry data to be able to say more about the problem, but there should be a way to fix it or at least prevent it from lighting up at high speeds.

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Tavares View Post
    Is there any provision for "SIM Dashboard" to have native support on Pcars 2?
    I use another program that reads data from Pcars 2 and I can not change the game to export information in compatibility mode of Pcars 1. I am looking forward to this update.
    I already wanted to integrate the Pcars 2 API, but at the moment the documentation of this API is outdated and new versions of the game come with breaking changes in that API (you can read that here in detail). So for the moment I'll wait until the new format is more stable and I don't have to fear that a new update of the game breaks the implementation.
    PC - Wheel Thrustmaster T300RS - T3PA-PRO - TH8A Shifter - RaceRoom RR3055 Seat - SIM Dashboard Android Companion App
    The following user likes this Post: SpinnPaget


  6. #16
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    74
    Platform
    PC
    I understand.
    Thank you so much for the quick response and the great work.

  7. #17
    Kart Driver StryderIT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    24
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by StryderIT View Post
    I'll have to look into that for the next update. Need to capture and analyze some telemetry data to be able to say more about the problem, but there should be a way to fix it or at least prevent it from lighting up at high speeds.
    After more investigation it seems that my first assumption was false, the data is sent like it was sent in Project Cars 1.
    The problem is more or less that the game does not provide enough information about the wheel size, so for some cars the calculation may not work as desired.

    In the end I can't prevent whats happening with the data which is available, so I made some changes to the options of the Widget. The detection level can then be selected with a higher precision and the detection can be disabled at a selectable speed. So if you are having problems with false positive detection at a certain higher speed, you can cap the detection at that speed, so it works at lower speeds and does not annoy at higher speeds.
    Last edited by StryderIT; 10-12-2017 at 11:56.
    PC - Wheel Thrustmaster T300RS - T3PA-PRO - TH8A Shifter - RaceRoom RR3055 Seat - SIM Dashboard Android Companion App
    The following user likes this Post: z3r0cool77


  8. #18
    Kart Driver Itzcoatl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    21
    Platform
    PC
    Just downloaded this during the week and happily paid for pcars1+2 access - great app!

    I've been trying to reduce the amount of HUD elements while racing as I find it distracting, so this is great to map things like oil/water temp and other car stats that I might only need to check occasionally during a race.
    i7-7700k | GTX 1070 OC (8GB) | 16GB DDR4 | Asus B-250 PRIME MoBo | 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD | Logitech G920 w/ shifter | Triple Monitors 1080p | Oculus Rift

  9. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    608
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    Fixes for wheel spin and all the new features are much appreciated. Awesome work as always. Have a quick question, messing around in different cars I find that I need to adjust the lockup, spin and shift lights depending in the car. Because I have quite a lot on the screen its a bit much to do every time I drive something different so I was thinking of making different pages labeled with the car type and setup for each car for the ones I drive most. I use an older android tablet so my concern is that it may increase memory usage and slow down the apps functionality. Before I take the time to start trying this is it even something I just be worried about?

    Second question is about the udp channel. I believe during setup it said to use 6 or higher and in the menu description in game it says that higher numbers increase the rate that data is sent. However I find that the higher I go the more more slowly the app seems to update and it seems pretty smooth on lower numbers. Is this normal and due to too much network traffic or is something screwy? If its normal are there any suggestions for setting up a network to handle higher settings?

  10. #20
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    74
    Platform
    PC
    I do not understand, the widget that shows the last lap's fuel consumption sometimes stays at 0.0 throughout the race.
    How can I avoid this?

Similar Threads

  1. DashPanel - Dashboard app for Android, PC, VR.
    By Berno in forum Third-Party Apps & API Discussion
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 25-08-2018, 09:54
  2. SIM Dashboard - Highly customizable Companion App for Android (supports PC/PS4/XBOX)
    By StryderIT in forum Third-Party Apps & API Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 27-08-2017, 14:36
  3. (UPDATE) INTENDED FOR XBOX ONE AND PS4 | Companion apps tested for CONSOLE USERS
    By InfectedJerk in forum The Driver Network - Screenshots & Videos
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-02-2016, 22:59
  4. Xbox Companion App?
    By wOoDsTeR16 in forum Third-Party Apps & API Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-12-2015, 17:14
  5. there needs to be a iOS/Android/WP companion app for Project cars
    By madmax2069 in forum Feature Suggestions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-06-2015, 03:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •