Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Game becomes slower / starts glitching after a while

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot yannara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    306
    Platform
    PC

    Game becomes slower / starts glitching after a while

    I have this random problem, that after playing for a while, multiple sessions, the perfomance suddently drops and game starts glitchening. I would understand my hardware would be slow for this, If I notice glitching all the time, right from the start, but that is not it.

    Windows 10, i5-750 3,6GHz, 8gb of ram, HD6970 2GB, no SSD, only HDD. Game is 1.3.0.0 version.

    I can run F1 2017 fine on high graphics.

  2. #2
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,125
    Does it stop if you restart the game?

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  3. #3
    Superkart Pilot yannara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    306
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mad Al View Post
    Does it stop if you restart the game?
    Sure.

  4. #4
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    270
    Platform
    PC
    I'll get that sometimes too. Also if I leave the game in the menus for an extended amount of time, say 20 minutes to eat lunch it'll be glitchy/stuttery when I go back to it. A quick restart sorts it out though.
    Asus Rog strix gtx 1070 / i5 6600k @4.2 / 16gb ram.
    Fanatec csw base v2 / porsche 918 rs wheel / clubsport pedals v3. Openwheeler racing seat. Oculus rift.

  5. #5
    GT4 Pilot Mascot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Wales. Not WELSH Wales, but Wales nevertheless.
    Posts
    2,164
    Platform
    PC
    Memory leak perhaps? I noticed that VR performance got progressively worse as time went on. Repeating the same races under identical conditions would highlight this.
    980Ti & i5 6600k, Oculus Rift CV1, Fanatec CSW2.5, Porsche 918 RSR rim, Formula Carbon rim, BMW GT2 rim, CSS v1.5, Clubsport handbrake, CSP v3, Crew Chief through HMD, Sim Lab P1 cockpit, Sparco R333 seat, SFX-100 chassis mover motion platform, Buttkicker Gamer 2, Yamaha 5.1, 50" 4K TV, uncorked bottle of Glenmorangie

  6. #6
    Superkart Pilot yannara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    306
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Gloomy View Post
    A quick restart sorts it out though.
    The biggest issue here is, that you cannot restart the game in a middle of a race

    My race starts fine, but at some point the glitching begins. I drive 12-15min races.

  7. #7
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,125
    First and foremost are you running anything else while playing.. PC2 will use up most if not all of your 8G of ram, so not having browsers open in the background, etc. may help

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad
    The following user likes this Post: Roger Prynne


  8. #8
    Superkart Pilot yannara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    306
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mad Al View Post
    First and foremost are you running anything else while playing.. PC2 will use up most if not all of your 8G of ram, so not having browsers open in the background, etc. may help
    No I am not. Though, this gave me an idea to cut off my internet connection while playing, maybe that causes something else Im not aware of.

  9. #9
    Superkart Pilot yannara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    306
    Platform
    PC
    Again this issue. Today I played around 20min qualify fine, started racing and after peace lap, glithes stated. I drive 2 laps, at the 3rd the glitch frozed my game for a 2-3 sec and after recover, I was against the wall! Race was ruined. So, anyone else seeing this?

  10. #10
    Superkart Pilot BrunoB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Jutland
    Posts
    164
    Platform
    PC
    Check Windows event viewer.
    It can often give an idea of what is the cause.
    Often

Similar Threads

  1. The ghost is slower but i am still shown to be the slower one
    By ALoureiro2 in forum Driver Network Community Events & Leaderboards
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-08-2017, 00:16
  2. Game no longer starts
    By PDOGzCHILLIN in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30-01-2016, 01:50
  3. Game starts to run slow
    By Ptyochromis in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-10-2015, 22:38
  4. Game stops and starts at loading screen
    By Marcel Walker in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-06-2015, 08:24
  5. Black screen when the game starts
    By Scorpion50 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-05-2015, 18:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •