Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: UDP or Shared Memory

  1. #1
    GT5 Pilot inthebagbud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    all over the place like my driving!
    Posts
    1,644
    Platform
    PC

    UDP or Shared Memory

    Hi

    I have just moved to PC and wondered if there is any advantage to using shared memory over UDP for 3rd party apps

    Thanks
    ]CPU:i7 8700K | RAM:Corsair 16GB 3000MHz | GPU:Asus ROG GTX1080 Ti 11GB | Board:Asus Rog Strix Z370-E | Win 10 x64 |
    SEn:Aut | FF:100 | Sho:100 | Abs:50 | dri:0.03 | For:100 | SPr:100 | dPr:Off | brF:100|
    FFB: JS Low Comp 100|50/60|50/40|25 plus anti jolt | RAW 100/77/30/50 |
    Playseat® Alcantara| Fanatec ClubSport Wheel Base V2, Wheel Rim GT, Pedals V3 ,Shifter SQ

  2. #2
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    6,548
    Platform
    PC
    UDP is a broadcast approach which can have an impact on your home network (depending on your setup). Shared Memory will not have that impact but it also reduces what you can use for your 3rd Party app (i.e. unless the app has a local component, you can't use a mobile device for the 3rd party app).

    In general, Shared Memory will be the best option.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips
    The following user likes this Post: inthebagbud


  3. #3
    GT5 Pilot mr_belowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,397
    Platform
    PC
    If you can use shared memory, use it. There are lots of differences between UDP and shared memory, the main difference being shared memory actually works. UDP only works properly in pcars 1 mode and even then there are bugs - some stuff isn't consistent between the pcars 1 version of the pcars 1 API and the pcars 2 version of the pcars 1 api

    There's a lot more data in the pcars 2 shared memory compared to the pcars 1 UDP
    Crew Chief details here http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...r-for-PC-users
    Website, download link and forum: http://thecrewchief.org
    Or make a donation, if you think the chief needs to drink more beer:
    https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...=LW33XFXP4DPZE
    The following 2 users likes this Post: inthebagbud, Jetsun


  4. #4
    GT5 Pilot inthebagbud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    all over the place like my driving!
    Posts
    1,644
    Platform
    PC
    Many thanks for taking time to answer shared memory it is then
    ]CPU:i7 8700K | RAM:Corsair 16GB 3000MHz | GPU:Asus ROG GTX1080 Ti 11GB | Board:Asus Rog Strix Z370-E | Win 10 x64 |
    SEn:Aut | FF:100 | Sho:100 | Abs:50 | dri:0.03 | For:100 | SPr:100 | dPr:Off | brF:100|
    FFB: JS Low Comp 100|50/60|50/40|25 plus anti jolt | RAW 100/77/30/50 |
    Playseat® Alcantara| Fanatec ClubSport Wheel Base V2, Wheel Rim GT, Pedals V3 ,Shifter SQ
    The following user likes this Post: Jetsun


  5. #5
    GT5 Pilot inthebagbud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    all over the place like my driving!
    Posts
    1,644
    Platform
    PC
    Ha you thought I had gone away

    Doing more reading and see that there are some concerns about the Pcars 2 UDP output by the app providers and that PCars 1 output should be used - is this the case with regard to shared memory output?

    I assume that I can have both shared memory and UDP running at the same time to use apps that use either one or the other?

    Thanks again
    ]CPU:i7 8700K | RAM:Corsair 16GB 3000MHz | GPU:Asus ROG GTX1080 Ti 11GB | Board:Asus Rog Strix Z370-E | Win 10 x64 |
    SEn:Aut | FF:100 | Sho:100 | Abs:50 | dri:0.03 | For:100 | SPr:100 | dPr:Off | brF:100|
    FFB: JS Low Comp 100|50/60|50/40|25 plus anti jolt | RAW 100/77/30/50 |
    Playseat® Alcantara| Fanatec ClubSport Wheel Base V2, Wheel Rim GT, Pedals V3 ,Shifter SQ

  6. #6
    WMD Member satco1066's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    894
    Platform
    PC
    yes you can use both.
    e.g. i use Pc2 shared memory for Simvibe and PC1 UDP for 2 different dashboards
    System Shuttle SX79 | CPU i7 4930k @ 3.4 GHz | RAM 16GB 1600MHz | GPU GTX1080 8GB OS Win 10 pro x64 V1703 | Screen Samsung KU6179 4k 49" / ACER H6220BD projector
    Base Thrustmaster T500 | Rim 458TX, GTE, T500RS Rim, F1 | Pedals TM T3PA pro | Gearshifter TM T8HA | Button Box BBJ SimRacing 30F pro series
    HMD Oculus CV1
    Devil's Core Project Cars Team ( german language )
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/devilscorede/
    Closed Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/941216635916992/
    STEAM: http://steamcommunity.com/groups/devils-core/

    The following user likes this Post: inthebagbud


  7. #7
    GT5 Pilot inthebagbud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    all over the place like my driving!
    Posts
    1,644
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by satco1066 View Post
    yes you can use both.
    e.g. i use Pc2 shared memory for Simvibe and PC1 UDP for 2 different dashboards

    Many thanks I did try this last session with Vrhive in shared memory but couldn't get the software to read anything - UDP was fine - so I will keep plugging away
    ]CPU:i7 8700K | RAM:Corsair 16GB 3000MHz | GPU:Asus ROG GTX1080 Ti 11GB | Board:Asus Rog Strix Z370-E | Win 10 x64 |
    SEn:Aut | FF:100 | Sho:100 | Abs:50 | dri:0.03 | For:100 | SPr:100 | dPr:Off | brF:100|
    FFB: JS Low Comp 100|50/60|50/40|25 plus anti jolt | RAW 100/77/30/50 |
    Playseat® Alcantara| Fanatec ClubSport Wheel Base V2, Wheel Rim GT, Pedals V3 ,Shifter SQ

  8. #8
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    6,548
    Platform
    PC
    You have to verify whether the app you are using supports PC1 or PC2 shared memory (and set PC2 accordingly).
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  9. #9
    GT5 Pilot inthebagbud's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    all over the place like my driving!
    Posts
    1,644
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
    You have to verify whether the app you are using supports PC1 or PC2 shared memory (and set PC2 accordingly).
    Yes what I didn't realise was that to use shared memory the app needed to run on the gaming PC
    ]CPU:i7 8700K | RAM:Corsair 16GB 3000MHz | GPU:Asus ROG GTX1080 Ti 11GB | Board:Asus Rog Strix Z370-E | Win 10 x64 |
    SEn:Aut | FF:100 | Sho:100 | Abs:50 | dri:0.03 | For:100 | SPr:100 | dPr:Off | brF:100|
    FFB: JS Low Comp 100|50/60|50/40|25 plus anti jolt | RAW 100/77/30/50 |
    Playseat® Alcantara| Fanatec ClubSport Wheel Base V2, Wheel Rim GT, Pedals V3 ,Shifter SQ

Similar Threads

  1. Shared Memory API wish list :)
    By bigj_pcars in forum Third-Party Apps & API Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2017, 20:14
  2. [HowTo] Shared Memory (API) App
    By Lars Rosenquist in forum Third-Party Apps & API Discussion
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 09-03-2017, 13:56
  3. Use Shared Memory ON = no internet connection
    By slimzlim in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-08-2016, 23:27
  4. Shared Memory On/Off Hotkey...
    By townnet in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2015, 03:52
  5. [ANSWERED] what its shared memory
    By Chanur in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 21:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •