Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: AI Level per track?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    76
    Platform
    PC

    AI Level per track?

    With the AI knowingly at different speeds at any given track relative to actual %, is there a chance to have a track specific ai difficulty option. Or basically it remembers your level each track?

  2. #2
    GT5 Pilot Zaskarspants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    1,491
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    I am not sure I understand you correctly but the difficulty and aggression level is set globally.

    I do find I have cars / tracks where I am running higher AI, up to 120 at Oulton park gt5, simply because I love that circuit and have raced on it most often.

    A AI per track slider would just add more confusion in my view for no real gain, also it begs the question, what about AI per car settings and it becomes never ending.

    You versus the AI will always be a complex interplay of your skills and theirs and the variations are a natural and unavoidable result of that.

    Perhaps in another five years each AI car will be thread running in some complex spiking neural network that can learn adapt and react as your skills grow, until then some player input will likely be needed to get the perfect balance.
    Cockpit view. 32 inch distance to 58 inch 4k HDR TV. Proper fov, 78. World movement 30, all other camera movement, 0. G920, shifter, Raw, 100, 40-60, 15-35, 0. Assists, all off. Currently play 90-120/100 AI. 10-20 lap quick races, some tt. Decent hifi, big speakers. Home made rig.
    You Tube Channel, recording my attempts to beat the AI at 120/100.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAW...nmkXnpurVpNxzQ
    The following user likes this Post: falm


  3. #3
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    8,059
    Platform
    PC
    SMS is still going through all the tracks and variations. There were changes to some in the recent patch, but there are still more to come. It will take some time as you saw from Doug's response on the Formula C that the tuning is every car and track combination.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips
    The following 3 users likes this Post: Konan, lokid, yannara


  4. #4
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    96
    Platform
    PC
    Be cool if you based AI lap speed on a players qualifying speed. Perhaps make the AI range +5% and -5% (or user adjustable %) from the players qualifying time on each track to sort of "Auto balance" the AI.

    If no qualification is done, just use the current AI strength setting.
    PC: i7-4790k@4.5, 16GB RAM, GTX 1080, 34" 1080p Ultawide Display, TrackIR5
    The following user likes this Post: GenBrien


  5. #5
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    416
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by gelfie View Post
    Be cool if you based AI lap speed on a players qualifying speed. Perhaps make the AI range +5% and -5% (or user adjustable %) from the players qualifying time on each track to sort of "Auto balance" the AI.

    If no qualification is done, just use the current AI strength setting.
    If they went for that though it would always put the player at a huge disadvantage if they sold out during qualifying. Either that or the player could take advantage and sand bag in qualifying for easy wins.

    Honestly adaptive AI always sounds great on paper, but look at RaceRooms adaptive AI. You literally have to train the AI for each and every car/track combo. It becomes a huge chore and if you don't do it properly the game will just shoot the AI difficulty to the max and you'll have zero chance and competing unless you're an alien.

    I'm not saying SMS have a perfect system, I actually think the skill gap from track to track is still too great even after patch 4, but I don't think an adaptive AI is the answer unless they find new ways to have the AI adjust to you.

    I've taken the approach that some tracks I'll dominate and some I won't. Hopefully future updates will make the AI behave more consistently from track to track in the future.

    Having said all that I think the AI is actually pretty good compared to some of my other favorite titles to play. I had some tight racing with them yesterday at COTA and Road America in the Formula C. Fingers crossed the AI continue with this upward trend.
    Ryzen 1700 @3.8ghz|16GBs RAM @2933mhz|EVGA SC2 Hybrid 1080ti|1TB Samsung 960 EVO|250GB Samsung SSD|480GB SanDisk SSD
    1TB WD HDD|750w 80+ gold EVGA G3 PSU|Dell 27" 1440p 144hz G-Sync monitor|Fanatec V2.5|Fanatec Formula Carbon Rim|Fanatec V3 Pedals|TH8A Shifter|Fanatec Handbrake

  6. #6
    WMD Member GenBrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    582
    Platform
    PS4 Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by Tar Heel View Post
    Either that or the player could take advantage and sand bag in qualifying for easy wins.
    I'm always laughing really loud each time I read about difficulty in this game and how you could cheat your way

    You can already do the whole career with 0% if you want, so ''cheating'' by slowing down or cheating by lowering the slider is really no different
    XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
    CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
    Keyboard: Logitech G15 Monitor: Lg 24'' 1920*1080 Mouse: G700s PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Logitech G27, TrackIr5
    Case: Cooler Master 690
    The following 2 users likes this Post: Mad LL, Schnizz58


  7. #7
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    416
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by GenBrien View Post
    I'm always laughing really loud each time I read about difficulty in this game and how you could cheat your way

    You can already do the whole career with 0% if you want, so ''cheating'' by slowing down or cheating by lowering the slider is really no different
    Yeah you make a good point. I guess my issue with adaptive AI is more so on the premise that some AI will always be faster than your time. In my experience it just makes it almost impossible to win because if there is always an AI that will be faster than your best, chances are you would never win a race unless something goes wrong. I want a challenge from the AI and I feel adaptive AI in R3E for example is worse than just finding the right difficulty.
    Ryzen 1700 @3.8ghz|16GBs RAM @2933mhz|EVGA SC2 Hybrid 1080ti|1TB Samsung 960 EVO|250GB Samsung SSD|480GB SanDisk SSD
    1TB WD HDD|750w 80+ gold EVGA G3 PSU|Dell 27" 1440p 144hz G-Sync monitor|Fanatec V2.5|Fanatec Formula Carbon Rim|Fanatec V3 Pedals|TH8A Shifter|Fanatec Handbrake

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    76
    Platform
    PC
    i suppose, dougs interaction and help makes me want to continue to play and support PC2 regardless of my rants and moans.. At the moment I’ve taken to writing down my ai skill level.. tbd most sit around the 90-95 apart from silverstone anyone find that a lot harder than the rest, but like how brands was?

  9. #9
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    8,059
    Platform
    PC
    Also, it doesn't help that other changes to the AI forces SMS to revisit some tracks to re-tune all over again.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips
    The following user likes this Post: Konan


  10. #10
    WMD Member falm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Linz
    Posts
    216
    Platform
    PS4 Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
    Also, it doesn't help that other changes to the AI forces SMS to revisit some tracks to re-tune all over again.
    IMHO this problem cant be fully solved until the next generation Consoles. Alone that fact that AI is running on a different physics engine leads to tweaking, the closer the AI physics will come to the player physics the better the overall balancing (just think "puddles").
    And as @Zaskarspants mentioned also we players run not all track / car combo's with the same skill, leading to the observation that the AI "seems to be off".

    Overall I'm happy with what we have in PC2 and I do not expect any game changing improvements.

    Maybe we see in the next title some sort of adaptive AI so that we can skip the fiddling with the AI speed slider completely, only aggression could stay.
    The following user likes this Post: Zaskarspants


Similar Threads

  1. grip level of ai
    By deadly in forum Technical Help & Support (PC)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2017, 08:24
  2. CRL Level
    By Stewy32 in forum Multiplayer
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27-09-2017, 17:52
  3. Hud level don t save
    By Fre.Mo in forum PS4 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26-07-2015, 23:42
  4. AI level changes according to the race?
    By jhonatas in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-07-2015, 14:26
  5. AI Difficulty level ?
    By Ixoye56 in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2015, 21:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •