Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Different launchers

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot jimortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    564
    Platform
    PC

    Different launchers

    In steam apps pcars 2 folder, there are 2 launchers 1 is just pcars 2 and the other is pcars 2 avx? the game version in the bottom right ends in avx
    Core I7- 6700K - Nvidia GTX 1080 -Gigabyte Z170 HD3P Motherboard - 16gb memory - 2tb HD - Alienware 34" Gsync 144hz Monitor - Thrustmaster TSPC-racer - T3PA pro pedals- TH8A Shifter - Corsair Void wireless headset- GT Omega wheelstand - Oculus rift

  2. #2
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    6,534
    Platform
    PC
    When the main launcher is used, it will detect if the CPU is capable of using AVX instructions or not. Then it will load the appropriate version of the sim.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  3. #3
    Superkart Pilot jimortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    564
    Platform
    PC
    What is avx?
    Core I7- 6700K - Nvidia GTX 1080 -Gigabyte Z170 HD3P Motherboard - 16gb memory - 2tb HD - Alienware 34" Gsync 144hz Monitor - Thrustmaster TSPC-racer - T3PA pro pedals- TH8A Shifter - Corsair Void wireless headset- GT Omega wheelstand - Oculus rift

  4. #4
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    6,534
    Platform
    PC
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanc...tor_Extensions

    In short, it can make certain things faster...
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  5. #5
    Superkart Pilot jimortality's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    564
    Platform
    PC
    So the fact my version is showing ending in avx then I assume it's loading it automatically.
    Core I7- 6700K - Nvidia GTX 1080 -Gigabyte Z170 HD3P Motherboard - 16gb memory - 2tb HD - Alienware 34" Gsync 144hz Monitor - Thrustmaster TSPC-racer - T3PA pro pedals- TH8A Shifter - Corsair Void wireless headset- GT Omega wheelstand - Oculus rift

  6. #6
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    6,534
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by jimortality View Post
    So the fact my version is showing ending in avx then I assume it's loading it automatically.
    Yes. That means PC2 detected that your CPU supports the AVX instruction set and loaded that executable.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •