Thread: Tire life confusion!

Kart Driver
    Platform
    PC

Tire life confusion!

Hi all, I'm new to PC2, still learning and have come across quite a confusing (for me) issue. It's a broad issue however I'll use an example to explain myself. In the Ferrari 488 GT3, at Oschersleben. Temps below 30 so using the soft tire. During the tune process I set pressures to reach the ideal operating pressure of 1.8bar. Then, at the start of the race and in the first laps the tires balloon beyond 2.0bar...why is this happening is it a set up issue or a ME issue? Also, it snows during the race. So I pit for the appropriate tire, and the tire pressure/temps drop like a stone to the point the car is undrivable, no matter what I do. Again, is this a set up issue or a ME issue? I'd really be grateful for any advice, I'm running PC platform with the Thrustmaster T300rs. Thanks!

Platform
    PS4
    Setup issues.
    1: how many laps did you run during tuning? It takes 6-8 laps for the pressure and temp to settle. If your brakes keeping getting hotter in that time, your pressures can run away from you. Also the game race start has automatic warming so after green light it'll take a few laps for the car to settle.

2: you'll have to adjust tire pressures for the cool conditions. Reduce temp leads to reduce pressure and vice versa. Pump more air in. You'll have to save the tire pressures in your pit strategy in the pre-race ready menu.
    G29 FFB RAW 100-40-5-10

Kart Driver
    Platform
    PC
    Thanks for the advice, I think I get it...! So to clarify, it's normal enough for the tires to balloon out as they'll resettle back down to the pressures I set? Also, for tyres to work better in cooler conditions I need higher start temps or lower? �� thanks again!

Handling QA Lead Jussi Karjalainen's Avatar
    Platform
    PC