Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Pit Crew Mistakes ( or just worthless pit crew? )

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    457
    Platform
    PS4

    Pit Crew Mistakes ( or just worthless pit crew? )

    This weekend, I was racing online , where I'm pretty sure pit stop mistakes were turned on, and I had what I see as a pretty odd pit stop... even when considering pit stop mistakes were on.


    So, the scene is that I'm running in 4th place, on the 11th lap of a 35 lap race with a required ( mandatory ) pit stop needed at Dubai... I'd just had a spin a lap or two earlier and there was a 6 second gap between myself and 3rd place, I was coming up on some lap traffic, and it seemed like a good idea to pit in and get my mandatory pit stop out of the way... I go in with zero damage, pit stop should only be for 1 liter of fuel and then I should be on my way...

    I get into the pit box, fuel goes in... 4 seconds should be pretty typical for this type of stop. Then... the graphics show there is repair work being done... yet, well, there should have been no need for any repairs, let alone one that takes 28 seconds.

    So, is this all just chalked up to random 'mistakes' on this pit stop or what?

    Annoying to say the least... Considering I was 36 seconds out of 1st place , and about 28 seconds behind 2nd place at the end of the race, I can only wonder what might have been...


    https://youtu.be/HD-302FnMR4
    Playstation 4 and PC , Playseat Challenge, Logitech G29 has been retired... now run Fanatec Elite + Playstation, v3 pedals, and McLaren GT3 wheel

  2. #2
    Superkart Pilot HockeyNick30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    101
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    I've had a random "mechanical problem" relayed to me by the crew chief once I stopped in the box, so maybe chalk it up to randomness? Easily added 45 seconds to the stop.

  3. #3
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    457
    Platform
    PS4
    Quote Originally Posted by HockeyNick30 View Post
    I've had a random "mechanical problem" relayed to me by the crew chief once I stopped in the box, so maybe chalk it up to randomness? Easily added 45 seconds to the stop.
    Maybe that's what happened, I had 'chat' sent to headphones that I wasn't wearing ( on PS4 chat is so loud compared to race sounds , it's really hard to leave it on and actually concentrate on the race , without fear that some random mic sounds come in and scare the crap out of you)... so anyway, if there was some talk of a 'mechanical' failure, I wasn't able to hear it.
    Playstation 4 and PC , Playseat Challenge, Logitech G29 has been retired... now run Fanatec Elite + Playstation, v3 pedals, and McLaren GT3 wheel
    The following user likes this Post: HockeyNick30


  4. #4
    WMD Member Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    8,232
    Platform
    PC
    If you have the race engineer enabled, it should let you know if there is a mechanical problem. I would also suggest you set Damage Repair to be off/none in your strategy unless you know you actually want to fix something.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  5. #5
    GT4 Pilot AbeWoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,583
    Platform
    PC
    if you had any sort of damage at all, they will repair it. even slight aero damage. Also, they may have been replacing your brake pads/rotors if you had all repair options set to 'yes'
    ***ALL MY TIRE RELATED DISCUSSION ARE REFERRING TO MODERN GT/LMP TIRES***
    PC Rig: intel i7-6700k @ 1.21 gigawatts of electricity | Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming | EVGA 1080 Ti SC2 Gaming | Fanatec CSL Elite Base | CSL Elite Load-Cell Pedals | Formula F1 2018 Wheel
    Other endeavours: lacrosse, hockey, snowboarding, DCS F/A-18C

  6. #6
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    487
    Platform
    PC
    That's caused by the Pitstop Mistakes option. I've had the same issue in the past, 30 seconds of repairs while I had no damage and had pitstop repairs set to off.

  7. #7
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    457
    Platform
    PS4
    My strategy was to add 1 Liter of fuel, no tires, no repairs... nothing but 1 liter of fuel. If you look at the video, there were absolutely no indications of any damage from the HUD, everything said '0'...

    Call me crazy, but I don't know why a pit crew or crew chief on their own would decide that repairs were needed, when I myself as the driver give them no indications of any problem.
    Playstation 4 and PC , Playseat Challenge, Logitech G29 has been retired... now run Fanatec Elite + Playstation, v3 pedals, and McLaren GT3 wheel

  8. #8
    GT4 Pilot AbeWoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,583
    Platform
    PC
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	30.7 KB 
ID:	251199
    ***ALL MY TIRE RELATED DISCUSSION ARE REFERRING TO MODERN GT/LMP TIRES***
    PC Rig: intel i7-6700k @ 1.21 gigawatts of electricity | Gigabyte Z170X G1 Gaming | EVGA 1080 Ti SC2 Gaming | Fanatec CSL Elite Base | CSL Elite Load-Cell Pedals | Formula F1 2018 Wheel
    Other endeavours: lacrosse, hockey, snowboarding, DCS F/A-18C
    The following user likes this Post: JasonSandwich


Similar Threads

  1. Pit crew and option to turn Pit Crew on are missing
    By snipeme77 in forum Technical Help & Support (XBOX1)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2017, 01:28
  2. when are we getting pit crew
    By Toyotagt1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 16-10-2015, 09:01
  3. The crew.
    By wraithsrike in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-09-2015, 13:34
  4. No Pit Crew
    By MuddyGore6 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-07-2015, 08:39
  5. Pit crew?
    By DannyElite in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 19-06-2015, 21:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •