Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dreaded lost career

  1. #1
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    5
    Platform
    PC

    Dreaded lost career

    I have GOTY on VR and have lost my career data as others have reported. I've searched but cant find a solution. I have not restarted a new game and have the "default.sav" file and have copied it to my desktop.
    Everything was going great and I decided to change some of the visual settings, lens flare, interior glare etc. and when I restarted my career was reset. Can I start a new game and replace the new default file with my copy I have saved to restore my lost data, or is there another way to get it back?
    Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    2,699
    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeeJay View Post
    I have GOTY on VR and have lost my career data as others have reported. I've searched but cant find a solution. I have not restarted a new game and have the "default.sav" file and have copied it to my desktop.
    Everything was going great and I decided to change some of the visual settings, lens flare, interior glare etc. and when I restarted my career was reset. Can I start a new game and replace the new default file with my copy I have saved to restore my lost data, or is there another way to get it back?
    Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
    Guess you are talking about PC not PC2 ?

    First, do you have a backup of a previous save (File History in Windows 10, for example).. if so replace it..

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  3. #3
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    5
    Platform
    PC
    HI Mad Al
    Thanks for the response. Yes its PC game of the year on Oculus. Great game, but when I changed some visual settings the career progress went back to ZERO.
    I have not started the career again and I have the "default.sav" file but I dont know if, or how I can get it back.

  4. #4
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    2,699
    Ah, if it's the Oculus version, I've no idea where that has the user files.. are you saying you have a backup of an older version of the default.sav file, prior to making the graphics changes? In that case, copy it over the current version (wherever that happens to be) and that should allow you to continue with the career (I'm afraid you'll have to do a search to find it)

    Graphics should be stored completely separately from the main save file, so no idea why that would cause an issue..

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  5. #5
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    5
    Platform
    PC
    Unfortunately not that simple. The save game file is exactly where it should be. For some reason it is no longer recognised by the game since I made the graphics changes. I have taken a copy of the file and saved it to my desktop as backup.
    If I could remember the changes I made I would revert the changes, or if there was a "default settings" option I could use that, but I can't find one.
    I'm thinking that re-installing the game, launching career without making graphics changes, then replacing the new default.sav with the copy I have on my desktop might work.

    I haven't tried this yet because I dont know if the game settings will be kept in temp files somewhere and new install will have my current settings anyway.
    Last edited by MrDeeJay; 11-03-2018 at 12:36.

  6. #6
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    2,699
    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeeJay View Post
    Unfortunately not that simple. The save game file is exactly where it should be. For some reason it is no longer recognised by the game since I made the graphics changes. I have taken a copy of the file and saved it to my desktop as backup.
    If I could remember the changes I made I would revert the changes, or if there was a "default settings" option I could use that, but I can't find one.
    I'm thinking that re-installing the game, launching career without making graphics changes, then replacing the new default.sav with the copy I have on my desktop might work.

    I haven't tried this yet because I dont know if the game settings will be kept in temp files somewhere and new install will have my current settings anyway.
    Ah, I thought you meant you had a save prior to the changes.. chances of getting it back after it has crapped on the save file are pretty slim by all accounts (I can't recall anyone saying they got anything back)
    The easiest thing to try in that case is to delete the graphicsconfigdx11.xls and graphicsconfigoculusdx11.xml (assuming they are named the same for the Oculus version) and see if that helps at all (clutching at straws somewhat)

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  7. #7
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    5
    Platform
    PC
    Started again and lost all data 3 times now. This game is a disaster for me on Oculus.
    This latest one, played the game last night half way through season 2, and all was fine. Switch it on tonight and its like the game has never been played before. Everything back to zero, menu tutorials playing again. There was NO CRASH, NO CONTROLLER ISSUES, it just completely resets for no reason. There is no load file in the menu. THIS IS RIDICULOUS>
    I bought this game for the career progression. I used to play Gran Tourismo for that very reason.

    How do I go about getting a refund?

  8. #8
    Moderator Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    7,276
    Platform
    PC
    You have to work with the retailer you purchased from...
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | 2x EVGA GTX 970 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | 2x Buttkickers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  9. #9
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    5
    Platform
    PC
    I got it from Oculus online. As far as they're concerned I've played hours and hours of the game. The problem is the game itself, not the supplier. It's poorly developed and the support is terrible. I've been reading about this for months and can't find answers anywhere, it's been reported as far back as 2016. and it's still happening. 2 YEARS to sort the problem.. Ridiculous.

  10. #10
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    2,699
    Quote Originally Posted by MrDeeJay View Post
    I got it from Oculus online. As far as they're concerned I've played hours and hours of the game. The problem is the game itself, not the supplier. It's poorly developed and the support is terrible. I've been reading about this for months and can't find answers anywhere, it's been reported as far back as 2016. and it's still happening. 2 YEARS to sort the problem.. Ridiculous.
    Simple question, are you backing it up on a regular basis... ?

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - MS HABU Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - Gigabyte GTX1060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

Similar Threads

  1. Lost career....again
    By _Alex_D_ in forum Technical Help & Support (PC)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-03-2018, 14:58
  2. Lost career again..what a bore
    By Spaldy in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-12-2015, 10:28
  3. lost career in bsod
    By timop in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23-10-2015, 20:17
  4. Career save lost
    By JA96 in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-08-2015, 19:55
  5. Lost Career Progression / freezing when trying to "continue career"
    By BraddersF1 in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13-05-2015, 20:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •