Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Only one HDMI slot and 4k TV and VR ?

  1. #1
    GT4 Pilot BigDad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Lakeside QR
    Posts
    2,794
    Platform
    PC

    Only one HDMI slot and 4k TV and VR ?

    What are people using for connections when the graphics card only has one HDMI slot but also have a 4k TV with only HDMI ports and also use VR ?
    I had a Displayport to HDMI cable for the TV that was doing 4k but that failed the other day and now only have an adaptor that goes to 1080p for the TV and I use the HDMI out from the graphics card for VR .
    When I was using the DP to HDMI cable for the TV I always had issues getting the TV to receive the signal and had to cycle the power button a few times to get an image .
    Has anyone got a good working solution ? If so , gotta link to whatever you use ?
    Last edited by BigDad; 10-08-2018 at 06:55.
    GPU: Galax GTX 1080Ti EXOC/ CPU: Intel i7 7700K @ 4.9GHz(So Far!)/ Cooler: Noctua NH-u14s / Mobo: Asrock z170 Extreme4/ RAM: 16GB Trident Z 3200MHz/ PSU: Coolermaster V750/ Storage: 2TB WD / Kingston 120GB SSD/250GB Evo 850 SSD/ Case: Storm Enforcer/ OS: Win 10/ Display: Sony 55" @ 3840x2160p / Wheel: Fanatec CSW v2 / McLaren GT3 / CS Universal Hub with magnetic shifter Mod/ Pedals: CSR Elite/ FTW / VR: Oculus Rift / : 2ndLastJedi

  2. #2
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    10
    Platform
    PC
    I use a 4K compatible AV receiver, main because I also use 5.1 surround too, but this helps with connectivity. If you look around I believe you should be able to pick up HDMI switcher/matrix boxes, which might give you more connectivity options.
    Last edited by wozza-m; 10-08-2018 at 09:06.
    PC: Win 10 | Intel 7700K | EVGA GTX1080 FTW | 32GB RAM
    Wheel: Fanatec CSW v2 | CSP v3
    Monitor: Samsung 8000 4K tv | Oculus Rift
    The following user likes this Post: BigDad


  3. #3
    WMD Member satco1066's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    1,171
    Platform
    PC
    a simple DVI->HDMI adaptor did the job for my Rift
    System Shuttle SX79 | CPU i7 4930k @ 3.4 GHz | RAM 16GB 1600MHz | GPU GTX1080ti 11GB | OS Win 10 pro x64 V1709 | Screen Samsung KU6179 4k 49"
    Base Thrustmaster TS-PC Racer | Rim 458TX, GTE, T500RS Rim, TS-PC | Pedals Fanatec CSPv3 | Gearshifter TM T8HA | Button Box BBJ SimRacing 30F pro series
    HMD Oculus CV1
    Devil's Core Project Cars Team ( german language )
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/devilscorede/
    Closed Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/941216635916992/
    STEAM: http://steamcommunity.com/groups/devils-core/


  4. #4
    GT5 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,674
    Platform
    PC
    Is the TV a smart TV? I connect to mine through my router from my PC to the TV wirelessly but I suppose if it's for gaming that really wouldn't work well but it works for casting films etc.

  5. #5
    WMD Member pippinfort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    140
    Platform
    PC
    I use:

    Oculus rift VR: HDMI on Rift connected to HDMI Port on VGA card.

    PC Monitor: HDMI port on monitor connected to Display Port on VGA card using "DP to HDMI cable".

    Onkyo 4K receiver (for 4K TV & 5.1): HDMI port on receiver connected to Display Port on VGA card using "DP to HDMI cable".

    Sony 4K TV (connected to Onkyo receiver): HDMI port on TV connected to HDMI port on VGA card using "HDMI cable".


    HDMI to DP cable: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


    Something that might of use to others:

    I find that W10 can go into the "detected new hardware" beeping loop when the receiver and 4k TV are not in use but not physically "off". I can watch W10 device manager add and remove the TV in a loop.

    I tried many combinations of cable and AV configuration to get around this issue and I could not fix it.

    The easiest solution was to plug Onkyo receiver and 4K TV into a switchable extension lead and switch their power off.


    Quote Originally Posted by BigDad View Post
    What are people using for connections when the graphics card only has one HDMI slot but also have a 4k TV with only HDMI ports and also use VR ?
    I had a Displayport to HDMI cable for the TV that was doing 4k but that failed the other day and now only have an adaptor that goes to 1080p for the TV and I use the HDMI out from the graphics card for VR .
    When I was using the DP to HDMI cable for the TV I always had issues getting the TV to receive the signal and had to cycle the power button a few times to get an image .
    Has anyone got a good working solution ? If so , gotta link to whatever you use ?
    Last edited by pippinfort; 10-08-2018 at 13:21.
    Asus Rampage V Extreme || 5930k @ 4.5 CPU / 4.3 Cache / C-States Enabled || 4x4Gb DDR4-3200 || 1x nVidia GTX1080ti FE || Custom Loop CPU & GPU || Corsair 900D || Oculus Rift || G920
    Asus Sabertooth X79 || Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-1650 v2 @ 100x47|| 4x4Gb DDR3-2133 || 1x GTX1060 || Corsair H100i GTX || XBox360 Controller

    Asus Sabertooth X58 || X5675 @ 200x20 || 12Gb DDR3-2000

  6. #6
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    144
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by satco1066 View Post
    a simple DVI->HDMI adaptor did the job for my Rift
    This is what I had to buy also, ended up returning my rift anyway though (preferred 1440p/4k 3D over much lower res VR 3D - graphics whore that I am)

  7. #7
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Guam
    Posts
    146
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by satco1066 View Post
    a simple DVI->HDMI adaptor did the job for my Rift
    Same.
    I5 6600k @ 3.5/GTX 1070 8gb/16GB 2133 ram/Hybrid 2TB HDD/Oculus Rift CV1/Proscan 4K tv @ 60hz/inactivated windows 10/Thrustmaster TX/Alcantara wheel/T3PA Pro/TH8A.

  8. #8
    WMD Member pippinfort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    140
    Platform
    PC
    I best start with this line in case I offend anyone, I am not saying anyone is wrong or anything, this is just my personal preference.

    I prefer not to use any adapters and stick to a one cable solution. Any adapter introduces two more points of failure for the connection. It's a right pain to diagnose issues if and when they arrive.

    Just an opinion, personal preference and based on my experience with all kinds of AV, multi monitor and VR tinkering.
    Last edited by pippinfort; 10-08-2018 at 16:50.
    Asus Rampage V Extreme || 5930k @ 4.5 CPU / 4.3 Cache / C-States Enabled || 4x4Gb DDR4-3200 || 1x nVidia GTX1080ti FE || Custom Loop CPU & GPU || Corsair 900D || Oculus Rift || G920
    Asus Sabertooth X79 || Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-1650 v2 @ 100x47|| 4x4Gb DDR3-2133 || 1x GTX1060 || Corsair H100i GTX || XBox360 Controller

    Asus Sabertooth X58 || X5675 @ 200x20 || 12Gb DDR3-2000
    The following user likes this Post: Charger


  9. #9
    WMD Member satco1066's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    1,171
    Platform
    PC
    technically right, but doesn't help the OP in any way
    System Shuttle SX79 | CPU i7 4930k @ 3.4 GHz | RAM 16GB 1600MHz | GPU GTX1080ti 11GB | OS Win 10 pro x64 V1709 | Screen Samsung KU6179 4k 49"
    Base Thrustmaster TS-PC Racer | Rim 458TX, GTE, T500RS Rim, TS-PC | Pedals Fanatec CSPv3 | Gearshifter TM T8HA | Button Box BBJ SimRacing 30F pro series
    HMD Oculus CV1
    Devil's Core Project Cars Team ( german language )
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/devilscorede/
    Closed Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/941216635916992/
    STEAM: http://steamcommunity.com/groups/devils-core/

    The following user likes this Post: BigDad


  10. #10
    WMD Member Chin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    155
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by pippinfort View Post
    I best start with this line in case I offend anyone, I am not saying anyone is wrong or anything, this is just my personal preference.

    I prefer not to use any adapters and stick to a one cable solution. Any adapter introduces two more points of failure for the connection. It's a right pain to diagnose issues if and when they arrive.

    Just an opinion, personal preference and based on my experience with all kinds of AV, multi monitor and VR tinkering.
    To that point...get a cable with the needed solution on either end, as you eluded to in your earlier post. You can get HDMI-DVI and HDMI-DP cables...not sure on DVI-DP (though it is really the same as HDMI, so they should be available).
    i5-8600K || MSI Z370 Pro Carbon || 16GB DDR4 3000 || GTX 1080Ti || 240Gb SSD+1TB HDD || Xonar DG || Win10 64b || CSWv2+CSPv2 || Oculus Rift

Similar Threads

  1. PS4 Audio output via HDMI to Amplifier Issue....
    By Elysium1976 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-10-2017, 07:03
  2. black screen on Windows® 10 HDMI
    By veryfasttorres in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-01-2017, 09:34
  3. The last career slot
    By Grunotti in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13-02-2016, 05:10
  4. Photo filter / hdmi box
    By gp20 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-05-2015, 22:25
  5. Nvidia and HDMI Washed out colours
    By Flihp in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 29-05-2015, 14:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •