Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Thrustmaster TSS Handbrake and TM Sim Hub

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    279
    Platform
    XBOX1 X

    Thrustmaster TSS Handbrake and TM Sim Hub

    Has anyone got the Thrustmaster TSS Handbrake + and the TM Sim Hub - the ones compatible with PS4 and Xbox One? I was wondering how good they are. I've been waiting for a Thrustmaster Handbrake for ages to complete my setup, so really looking forward to trying it out in a few days time.
    Last edited by The_Senser; 02-10-2018 at 06:55.

  2. #2
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    279
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    Just got the TSS Handbrake + and TM Sim Hub setup, the Rig is pretty much complete now.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	42999647_10213466609281526_5962666250512367616_n.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	61.8 KB 
ID:	260934
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	43135790_10213466600881316_977278542159020032_n.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	54.8 KB 
ID:	260935
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	43195837_10213466587560983_3299505438562713600_n.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	49.2 KB 
ID:	260936
    The following 2 users likes this Post: MarcoM, Zaskarspants


  3. #3
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    279
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    Ok, so for anyone who is interested, I will do a quick review of the Thrustmaster TSS Sparco Handbrake + with the TM Sim Hub for the Xbox One, PS4 and PC.

    So far I have only used the hardware on the Xbox One in Handbrake mode as I already have a TH8A shifter. The handbrake is quite large and is of almost all metal construction and is quite heavy. It is very adjustable in terms of the angle you can set for the shaft and also the length. I bought the Fanatec Handbrake Mount for the GT Omega to mount the handbrake onto, but unfortunately the bolt patterns are not the same, with the TSS being bigger than the Fanatec Handbrake. In use it has a very solid feel with a very positive click when in Sequential Mode and quite a lot of resistance in both Sequential and Handbrake modes. When applying the Handbrake it does feel quite realistic IMHO. The Sparco handle is a 1 : 1 replica of the Sparco Drifting Handbrake, which is of metal construction with rubber O-rings around it for grip. Be Handle and the red locking bolt have some quite sharp edges and it could be quite uncomfortable to use without gloves.

    During setup, you need to download the latest drivers and update you Wheel and the Handbrake. You must also download a Calibration utility which you use to Calibrate and test in either Sequential or Handbrake modes, this also allows you to make software adjustments to add or reduce dead zones.

    If you have a TH8A Shifter, you need to purchase the TM Sim Hub http://www.thrustmaster.com/en_UK/products/tm-sim-hub in order to use the Handbrake with the Xbox One or PS4. The TM Sim Hub is also primarily metal construction with 4 din plugs to plug in devices and one lead which connects to the Wheel Base. If you have the TH8A and the TSS, you plug both into the TM Sim Hub and then plug that into the Wheel Base. The TM Sim Hub is not powered. It also has a Micro USB Port on the front for doing Firmware Updates.

    For use on the PC, you don't need the TM Sim Hub, but plug the hardware directly into the PC with the supplied USB Adapters.

    In Project Cars and Project Cars 2, the Handbrake works as a progressive handbrake which you can assign through the Controls Screen. For Forza games it appears to work as an E-Brake. The handbrake only appears to work in cars which have a handbrake, so no handbrake turns in a Formula A car :-). It is supposed to work with Assetto Corsa as a progressive Handbrake but so far I have not been able to get the game to recognise it.

    If anyone has any questions, please feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer them.
    Last edited by The_Senser; 12-10-2018 at 06:40.

  4. #4
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    1
    Platform
    PC
    Thank you. Was wondering how to connect both shifter and handbrake to the Box.
    Although good to know: while the shifter come with a table clamp, the handbrake does not.

  5. #5
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    279
    Platform
    XBOX1 X
    Quote Originally Posted by VeryStef View Post
    Thank you. Was wondering how to connect both shifter and handbrake to the Box.
    Although good to know: while the shifter come with a table clamp, the handbrake does not.
    Yes, they have made this separate clamp http://www.thrustmaster.com/en_UK/pr...m-racing-clamp which you can also bolt your TH8A Shifter to also. That's probably why they didn't include any sort of clamp with the Handbrake itself. At 89.99, that would probably be added to the cost of the Handbrake whether you are going to use it or not (if its was included). That would make the Handbrake about 350 which would be too high a price point I think, especially when the Fanatec Handbrake is about 130.

    Its a real shame that they didn't opt for to use the same bolt pattern as the Fanatec Handbrake, as I believe they could have.

    I have attached mine with a single bolt at the front and the rest is held in place with heavy duty Velcro (which I also used to attach my button box) for now, it may sound funny, but the stuff is really strong. There is a little flex sideways, but some of that is coming from the mount itself.

    I may consider the clamp at a later date, but as that is a desk clamp I don't know how easily I can fix it to the Rig. I am not a DIY'er so really just want something that just works without me having to fabricate something or mod something.

    If you have somewhere to mount it, and are into Rallying, Rally Cross or Drifting and you have a Thrustmaster Setup then I can recommend the TSS Handbrake / Shifter, it does seem to be a very solid, well made product.
    Last edited by The_Senser; 12-10-2018 at 06:39.

Similar Threads

  1. Thrustmaster TG T in PC2
    By fabiosathler1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2018, 10:09
  2. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 13-12-2017, 23:33
  3. thrustmaster and guillemot thrustmaster what is the difference??/
    By Mario Navarrete in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-08-2015, 01:35
  4. Thrustmaster T100 detected as Thrustmaster F430
    By t0tec in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2015, 13:19
  5. how to use a thrustmaster TH8
    By steve50 in forum PS4 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-06-2015, 13:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •