Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Manual vs Automatic Tranmission

Platform
    PC

Manual vs Automatic Tranmission

Hi, I'm new to sim racing games, and was wondering how much of a difference Manual vs Automatic makes in competitive play, and if Automatic is viable at all. I prefer the ease of Automatic, but if it makes a huge difference against decent opponents, I might have to get used to Manual, thanks.

Platform
    PC
    Well, the gearbox doesn't get broken and with some cars you're faster to change gears by yourself.

I still prefer the manual if you have the shifter to do a job. It's more entertaining
    The following 2 users likes this Post: hkraft300, rocho

Platform
    PC

Quote Originally Posted by attaGee View Post
    Well, the gearbox doesn't get broken and with some cars you're faster to change gears by yourself.

I still prefer the manual if you have the shifter to do a job. It's more entertaining
    Thanks for the advice.

Superkart Pilot
    Platform
    PS4 Pro
    Manual, whether sequential or stick give you better control. Auto does not always pick the best gear for a corner and prevents you selecting a different gear from time to time to balance the car little better.
    PS4 Pro - T300 Alcantara - T3PA - TH8A - Wheel Stand Pro
    The following 2 users likes this Post: hkraft300, Zaskarspants

Platform
    PC
    Manual every day of the week. If you use automatic it removes the ability to short shift to prevent wheelspin.
    Gigabyte Z270X Motherboard, Intel I7 7700K CPU @ 4.5gHz, 16GB 3000 MHz RAM, Geforce GTX 1080Ti GPU.
    Oculus Rift, Logitech G29 wheel.
    The following 2 users likes this Post: racesafegrandad, Zaskarspants

Platform
    PC
    I've used manual exclusively for years now. I use whatever shifting method the car has, whether that be a manual, sequential, or paddles.