Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Mounting rift sensor up high, is it ok?

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot Juiced46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    781
    Platform
    XBOX1 X

    Mounting rift sensor up high, is it ok?

    I am putting the finishing touches on my new PC VR setup. One of them is neatening up some wiring. My rig is sort of "mobile" as it is setup in my theater room. I have it on carpet sliders so I can move it and a quick plug and play setup with my PC hidden in another room. Currently I have the rift sensor attached to my rig on a bracket that came with it for a monitor mount. Its temporary as I have it ziptied on there for now. If I do not want to use VR I need to pull the monitor mount out of the rig. What I want to do is mount the sensor to the wall. However, due to I run a projector, I need to mount it above the screen. Which is at about 7 ft. Would it be ok for me to mount the sensor above the screen and point it down at the rig? (see pic) Or would it be too much of an angle? You can see in the picture of how i have the sensor mounted currently. If I have to, I can also put it next to the screen and lower, but I would like to keep the sensor out of plain sight if possible which is why I want to go above the screen, plus it will be cleaner wiring it that way also.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190109_193034 (Large).jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	122.3 KB 
ID:	263452
    Last edited by Juiced46; 12-01-2019 at 15:04.
    Epson 4K Projector/100" Elite Screen/Xbox One X/Fanatec V2.5/CSL Elite Pedals w/LC/Trak-Racer RS8 Rig/
    *****For Sale Thrustmaster TX458 Italia wheel w/Pedals cheap. PM me for info*****

  2. #2
    WMD Member satco1066's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    1,397
    Platform
    PC
    should be no big problem to mount it left or right to the screen
    Every car could be a race car, as long as you have the balls to drive it like that !

    System Shuttle SX79 | CPU i7 4930k @ 3.4 GHz | RAM 16GB 1600MHz | GPU GTX1080ti 11GB | OS Win 10 pro x64 V1709 | Screen Samsung KU6179 4k 49"
    Base Thrustmaster TS-PC Racer | Rim 458TX, GTE, T500RS Rim, TS-PC | Pedals Fanatec CSPv3 | Gearshifter TM T8HA | Button Box BBJ SimRacing 30F pro series
    HMD Oculus CV1 | Motion Next Level Motion V3
    Devil's Core Project Cars Team ( german language )

    Closed Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/941216635916992/

    Hey FANBOYS! I constantly drive Assetto Corsa, ACC, rFactor2, R3E and Project CARS 2. I like them all. Don't tell me THINGS!
    The following user likes this Post: bporion


  3. #3
    Kart Driver DaWorstPlaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    48
    Platform
    PC
    Yes you can. I have 2 Oculus sensors mounted that way.
    What line?
    PC: Ryzen7 2700x, RTX 2080, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD HD, Oculus Rift and Vive Pro
    Wheel/Pedal: Fanatec Clubsport wheel, pedal, shifter and handbrake

Similar Threads

  1. ISSUE: High input lag while steering using motion sensor in DS4
    By JasperBowels in forum Technical Help & Support (PS4)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24-11-2017, 14:52
  2. Sim rig building & mounting, portable solutions.
    By rosko in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 30-10-2016, 10:33
  3. Mounting phone to t300/wheelstand pro combo?
    By sigurd in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-03-2016, 23:02
  4. wheel stand pro and g27 reverse mounting
    By DreamsKnight in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-03-2016, 23:04
  5. help for mounting steering wheel...
    By bridga83 in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20-05-2015, 17:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •