Page 3 of 38 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 380

Thread: 2019 VR headsets and PC2 discussion

  1. #21
    Superkart Pilot PawelK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    282
    Platform
    PC
    Yeah, my next headset probably will not be a WMR. Still, at the time I was buying it, the trick with slight diffusion of pixels made it beat other headsets that were on the market in the same price range.

  2. #22
    Superkart Pilot gazza1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    115
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by PawelK View Post
    I use the Odyssey+ too, managed to buy it pretty cheaply right when it came out. Compared to some other headsets I tried before (Vive I think) I liked how, despite similar resolution, the Odyssey+ is able to hide pixel borders better. I'd love to have better resolution, but I am also very aware that I would have to buy not only a new headset but also a new graphic card or maybe an entire new PC. Not ready for that yet.

    What I would really like to see in new headsets, in addition to obvious things like higher resolution, is getting all technical glitches out, as they diminish the the user experience a lot.

    For example, if I want to play PC2, the procedure is as follows:.

    1.Check in the mixed reality portal if things are working, sometimes it has a message of driver failure, then I have to go to Device Manager. uninstall the headset, and the Scan for hardware changes for it to re-install.

    2. Click "wake up" in mixed reality portal and immediately put the headset on.

    3. Wait until it starts and then do the "look to the sides and to the floor" thing for the headset to orient itself.

    4. In about 10% of cases it fails to do so, and I have to take the headset off and do the boundary setup, i.e., walk around the room with the headset in my hand. Because otherwise it defaults to the seated mode which, surprisingly, is not good for seated simracing. Because in the seated mode it does not support head movements forward and back, and that ruins everything.

    5. Once I get the headset oriented in the normal standing mode, it displays the boundary. Which is stupid and annoying when simracing, I don't need it, I am seated, I won't trip over a sofa or run into a wall. So I have to take the headset off, and turn the boundary off in mixed realty portal

    6. Then I go to Steam and start Steam VR. After it started, I check if the default windows audio output switched from my regular sound card to the headset. Per Steam VR setting it should, but in 20% of cases the headset audio remains disabled after the headset is woken up. In such case I have to go to Sounds, and enable that audio output manually

    7. Then I start PC2 and put the headset back on (I do not start the game from VR, e.g. from Steam VR Home, because that requires using headset controllers, and I have them in a drawer, because I do not use them for gaming or anything).

    8. I wait until PC2 gets to the menu and I check if the mouse is working. In 10% of cases, it is not working with headset on, only with headset off. In those cases I have to close the game, take the headset off, close Steam VR, and start again at 6.

    9. If I am lucky, I can race.

    I really wish it was a simpler and less error-prone process.
    I have the Odyssey+, i dont have the same problem as you, I start my games with Steam VR OFF, I get an error on screen ( something like THIS HMD is NOT SUPPORTED) click OK and it works perfectly, I had a CV1 before this and find it a big upgrade with better resolution and better colours and brighter display, I think WMR gets a bad press especially with racing sims where the controllers are not required.

  3. #23
    WMD Member John Hargreaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    2,154
    Platform
    PC
    I've read lots of different views about WMR across all sorts of sim sites, and it's weird. Some people report a flawless experience but quite a lot of people have a slightly hit and miss one. I think MRTV had the Reverb working on PC2, but Tom's couldn't get it to launch, and it does put doubts in your mind. Add to that HP have employed Monty Python to handle the launch, so no one knows when to expect the Reverb. That screen though.
    i7-7700K/GigaByte RTX 2080/Win10 64bit/32Gb RAM/Asus Xonar DX+Beyer Dynamic DT990 Pro headphones/LG 34" UM65 @2560x1080/Oculus CV1/HP Reverb/Logitech G29+G25 shifter/DSD P2 button box

    WMD1 + WMD2 Member
    The following user likes this Post: bporion


  4. #24
    WMD Member John Hargreaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    2,154
    Platform
    PC
    Cautiously optimistic

    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comm...m_a_cv1_owner/

    Rift S: optics good, sound crap.
    i7-7700K/GigaByte RTX 2080/Win10 64bit/32Gb RAM/Asus Xonar DX+Beyer Dynamic DT990 Pro headphones/LG 34" UM65 @2560x1080/Oculus CV1/HP Reverb/Logitech G29+G25 shifter/DSD P2 button box

    WMD1 + WMD2 Member

  5. #25
    Superkart Pilot PawelK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    282
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by gazza1101 View Post
    I have the Odyssey+, i dont have the same problem as you, I start my games with Steam VR OFF, I get an error on screen ( something like THIS HMD is NOT SUPPORTED) click OK and it works perfectly,
    Hm, when I try to start PC2 with Steam VR off, it will give me 3 options: Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Clipboard-1.png 
Views:	74 
Size:	13.2 KB 
ID:	268267
    I use 1 to start in the monitor (to record replays as videos). The game will start in VR using option 2, and will start Steam VR automatically, but then it gives me no chance to check if the audio output thing worked correctly.
    Option 3 is probably only available because I have Oculus software installed though I have no Rift, but it was needed for a workaround to run Dirt Rally in WMR VR, which does not work anymore. I probably should uninstall.

  6. #26
    GT4 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,077
    Platform
    PC
    We have been discussing this on our Discord as a few guys have the Rift and Vive, one had the Odyssey+ and they have all said they would wait for reverb for the extra resolution.

    I myself had or still have but don't use the any more (prefer triples) the Pimax 4k and looking at the screenshots between Rift S and Reverb the 4k does sit about in between the 2, only thing the Pimax has going for it is resolution clarity.

    Barring issues aside I don't think it's worth going for the Rift S over the Reverb if you have a Rift or Vive personally.
    'Racers Without Borders'
    https://steamcommunity.com/groups/RW...GINTERNATIONAL
    https://discord.gg/b7g9wGf
    http://rwbracing.club/
    Commodore 64, 64K RAM, Tape Drive, Grundig TV. Overclocked ;-)

  7. #27
    WMD Member bporion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,307
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by John Hargreaves View Post
    Cautiously optimistic

    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comm...m_a_cv1_owner/

    Rift S: optics good, sound crap.
    so far i like the S but i want to know if i can use my 5.1 sound system whit the S like i do whit the Rift , i use VR mostly for racing and while racing i want my sound coming from my 5.1 system and i cant find that info anywhere .
    OS : Windows 10 64 bit \ Processor : Intel Core i7 8700k \ RAM : Corsair Vengeance led 3000mhz DDR4 16GB \ MB : S1151 ATX ASUS TUF Z370 PRO Gaming \ games on D : ST 1000DM003-1SB102 ATA Device \ ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce GTX 1080ti 11GB \ Cooler Master HAF XM case \ Dell Alienware AW3418DW \ Buttkicker Gamer Pro 2 whit Simhub \ Yamaha 5.1 amp \ RSEAT RS1 Assetto Corsa edition \ Fanatec V2 , Clubsport Shifter SQ , Clubsport Formula Carbon , BMW GT2 Wheel , CSR Pedals \ Renovatio SRD9C CSW sli-style data display \ Sim Racing Hardware Monsta \ Oculus Rift S and Touch System .


    First racing game : Auto Racing from Intellivision .
    The following user likes this Post: Fiyah


  8. #28
    WMD Member satco1066's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    1,632
    Platform
    PC
    if Windows sound automatically switches to the Rift, just disable the Rift in Audiopanel.
    Audio is a Windows "problem"
    Every car could be a race car, as long as you have the balls to drive it like that !

    System MSI Mortar Titanium B450 | CPU Ryzen 5-1600x | RAM 32GB DDR4 | GPU RTX2080ti 11GB | OS Win 10 pro x64 V1903 | Screen Samsung KU6179 4k 49"
    Base Thrustmaster TS-PC Racer | Rim 458TX, GTE, T500RS Rim, TS-PC | Pedals Fanatec CSPv3 | Gearshifter TM T8HA | Button Box BBJ SimRacing 30F pro series
    HMD Oculus CV1 / HP Reverb | Motion Next Level Motion V3
    Devil's Core - Drivers Club ( german language )
    Closed Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/941216635916992/
    The following user likes this Post: bporion


  9. #29
    WMD Member bporion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,307
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by satco1066 View Post
    if Windows sound automatically switches to the Rift, just disable the Rift in Audiopanel.
    Audio is a Windows "problem"
    i still need someone to check whit an S and make sure .
    OS : Windows 10 64 bit \ Processor : Intel Core i7 8700k \ RAM : Corsair Vengeance led 3000mhz DDR4 16GB \ MB : S1151 ATX ASUS TUF Z370 PRO Gaming \ games on D : ST 1000DM003-1SB102 ATA Device \ ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce GTX 1080ti 11GB \ Cooler Master HAF XM case \ Dell Alienware AW3418DW \ Buttkicker Gamer Pro 2 whit Simhub \ Yamaha 5.1 amp \ RSEAT RS1 Assetto Corsa edition \ Fanatec V2 , Clubsport Shifter SQ , Clubsport Formula Carbon , BMW GT2 Wheel , CSR Pedals \ Renovatio SRD9C CSW sli-style data display \ Sim Racing Hardware Monsta \ Oculus Rift S and Touch System .


    First racing game : Auto Racing from Intellivision .

  10. #30
    GT3 Pilot morpwr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    4,954
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by bporion View Post
    i still need someone to check whit an S and make sure .
    If they ever ship mine ill let you know.
    MOBO: asus rog maximus x hero / CPU: intel i7 8700k 5.1ghz / RAM:corsair platinum 32GB DDR4 3866-ocd4000 / COOLING: thermaltake floe 360 / GPU: asus GeForce RTX2080ti oc / PSU: evga super nova 850g2 / STORAGE: Samsung evo 500gb- Samsung evo 1tb / CASE: thermaltake core x71 / RIG:Gt omega /SimRacing Bay 30nm OSW / Heusinkveld pro pedals / Fanatec shifter /VR:rift / BACKUP: ps4 http://pcars.oscarolim.pt/
    The following user likes this Post: Olijke Poffer


Similar Threads

  1. SMS-R 2019 Discussion Thread
    By Stewy32 in forum eSports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19-02-2019, 10:55
  2. Gaming headsets
    By dault3883 in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 18-05-2017, 13:30
  3. headsets
    By BACON 1st CLASS in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-02-2017, 23:25
  4. Headsets on XBone
    By RobIzYoDaddy in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 05-06-2015, 22:14
  5. Let's Talk Headsets....
    By GraySmithMusic in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 01-06-2015, 11:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •