Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Most Realistic Handling Cars Out of the Box???

Kart Driver
    Platform
    PC

Most Realistic Handling Cars Out of the Box???

Hi Everyone! I'm new to Sim Racing and to Project Cars 2. Actually, I'm a retired Engineer, and the last time I raced simulators was in the '80s and '90s, before the internet existed. But now that I have the time, I decided to check up on the latest Sim state of the art, and decided to build a new PC and Sim Rig.

Over the past several decades, I have owned several 'exotic' road cars, and one of my cars now is a 2018 Porsche GT3. I'm still breaking it in, and I haven't tracked it. But after downloading Project Cars 2, as my first Racing Sim, and (finally) getting all my controls set up and working properly, I decided to try the GT3 with Laguna Seca, where I've often been for the Monterey Historic Races.

I was REALLY disappointed to see how poorly the car seemed to handle corners.... seems like it sometimes is like a Model T rail with no suspension. Seems like you sometimes have to tip-toe around the tight ones too slowly like on ice. Not realistic, IMO, compared to my real GT3. I'm not thinking of the feeling of the brakes or steering FFB, just the speed I seem to be able to take some turns.

As an Engineer, I understand, at least to some extent, how Sims tend to model cars, suspension, tires, etc. in different ways. I don't recall how PC2 specifically does it. But of course, I understand that handling in sims depends upon not just car modeling, but also track modeling... even apart from FFB. Here on the forums, I've seen some suggested car setups, and also a prominent suspension spreadsheet tool. But I don't really want to take the time to try to dial in suspension, tires, etc for cars I decide I'll want to drive. So here's my question and thanks for reading my background to this point: