Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: error create device failed.

  1. #11
    WMD Member BullWinkle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    East Coast, Canada
    Posts
    1,175
    Platform
    PC
    Sounds like it could be a factory OverClock problem with the CPU and/or GPU possibly. Can you post your make/model of your laptop please? Maybe it can be remedied in the BIOS settings by turning off any OC settings and/or reducing them.
    AsRock X370 Taichi MB /AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.4Ghz / G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 / Samsung NVMe SSD 960 Evo M.2
    Samsung 250GB 850 EVO (SSD) / 2 X SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX480 8GB/OC 1342Mhz / SeaSonic Focus 750W Gold / AMD Adrenalin 18.2.1 drivers / Acer XZ271U bmijpphzx 27 Curved WQHD 2560 x 1440p 144Hz monitor.
    Windows 10 64bit / TrackIR 5, ver 5.2 final drivers / Logitech G27
    The following user likes this Post: Sankyo


  2. #12
    Moderator Sankyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    8,087
    Platform
    PC
    So you can play the game for a while, and then at a certain moment it crashes and it (apparently) cannot find the video card anymore? Does sound like an overheating issue to me. The 'funny' thing about overheating is that you'll only see the temperatures for the places where there are actually temperature sensors. Those are usually placed where overheating is most likely to happen, but overheating on other places can still happen. Also, temperatures only reaching 30 C does sound a bit suspicious, especially when running such a demanding game as pCARS2. Even my big-ass high-airflow watercooled-CPU desktop doesn't manage to keep temps that low.
    CPU i7 7700K | RAM Corsair 16GB 2400MHz | GPU Asus GTX1080 Ti OC 11GB | Mobo Asus Strix Z270H | Audio SB Zx @ 5.1/AKG K401 | OS Win 10 x64 | Screen LG 27EA63V-P 27" 1920x1080 | Controllers Fanatec CSW v2.5 + UH, CSP v3, CSS SQ, CSH | Misc TrackIR 4 Pro, Playseat Revolution, DS button box

    With the right to say what you think comes the obligation to think about what you say.
    I'd rather have questions that cannot be answered than answers that cannot be questioned - Richard Feynman
    Teach how to think, not what to think

  3. #13
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,201
    are you using vsync ? If not, turn it on and lower the settings to reduce the load a little, you could even add a framerate cap to help more (in the steam library, right click Project CARS 2 and select properties, then click on Set Launch Options, add "-fpscap 30" to the options to limit framerate to 30 fps, without the quotes)

    You could also add -skipcrowds and -pthreads 4 to see if that helps (see http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...Launch-Options and the linked threads from there)

    i7 4770K - ASUS Z87-A - 16Gig DDR3 (2x 8G Crucial Ballistix PC3-12800) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 840 250G SSD , WD 320G Blue, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative Audigy 4 - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Home (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

  4. #14
    WMD Member MaximusN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Close enough to enjoy the sounds of the TT-circuit
    Posts
    2,166
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Sankyo View Post
    Also, temperatures only reaching 30 C does sound a bit suspicious, especially when running such a demanding game as pCARS2. Even my big-ass high-airflow watercooled-CPU desktop doesn't manage to keep temps that low.
    Not a bit, but very suspicious. My 4770K is around 35C at idle across all cores(with a big tower cooler). GPU more in the 50s idle I think. No way a laptop can keep temps that low under load unless it's something not used at all being warmed up by surrounding components and the airflow.
    Life's too short to front wheel drive
    DD1, 918 Wheel, SQ V1.5 Shifter, CS Handbrake V1.5 , V3 pedals, INNO3D 1080Ti, 4770K, 55" UHD LG/Vive

    /// MaximusDoriftus (Steam)

  5. #15
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    8
    Platform
    PC
    It's not running long enough to reach higher temperatures. Like I said definitely not a temperature issue.
    It's an Clevo p970ed and there is nothing in the bios to change.
    Changing graphics settings doesn't worked.
    Yesterday I installed the nvidia studio drivers and it worked bit only one time.

  6. #16
    GT3 Pilot
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    3,800
    Platform
    PC
    But you say your fans are spinning like crazy. There is no other reason for the fans to start spinning like crazy, apart from VERY HIGH temps. Unless they are set to always spin at max speed, but aparently they are not, since you do not get that from the beginning...

  7. #17
    Moderator Sankyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    8,087
    Platform
    PC
    Wasn't there an issue with the main menu in pCARS2 that it would run at a gazillion FPS and have a huge GPU load?
    CPU i7 7700K | RAM Corsair 16GB 2400MHz | GPU Asus GTX1080 Ti OC 11GB | Mobo Asus Strix Z270H | Audio SB Zx @ 5.1/AKG K401 | OS Win 10 x64 | Screen LG 27EA63V-P 27" 1920x1080 | Controllers Fanatec CSW v2.5 + UH, CSP v3, CSS SQ, CSH | Misc TrackIR 4 Pro, Playseat Revolution, DS button box

    With the right to say what you think comes the obligation to think about what you say.
    I'd rather have questions that cannot be answered than answers that cannot be questioned - Richard Feynman
    Teach how to think, not what to think

  8. #18
    WMD Member Asturbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Asturias / Spain
    Posts
    1,279
    Platform
    PC
    Yes, in my computer in the menu the FPS goes over 400 and that causes an annoying high frecuency noise from the GPU. If I'm correct that disappears with Vsync, but don't think its the problem.
    CPU: Intel i7-8700K | GPU: nVidia RTX2080 | RAM: Gskill 2x8GB DDR4 3200 | MB: Asus ROG Strix Z370 | SSD: Samsung EVO 970 500Gb | Monitor: Acer Predator Z35P UW WQHD | Wheel: Fanatec CSW 2.5 | SO: Windows 10 Pro 64bits
    WMD1 & WMD2 Gold Member /// Steam Profile /// Unofficial Issue List /// Button Box Label Template /// DS Flags Calculator /// Open Weather App /// DS Config Samples /// Google Standings /// PC3 wish list

  9. #19
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    8
    Platform
    PC
    Man how often do you wanna hear it? It is Not an temperature issue!!! That's the only thing I'm sure about. Like I said it is also not possible to stop this crash. After an restart while crashing the fans are spinning again no matter how long the device was shut down and no matter what temperature.
    Main menu fps stays about 125 to 130 without any problem just the crash after a few seconds in game.

  10. #20
    WMD Member BullWinkle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    East Coast, Canada
    Posts
    1,175
    Platform
    PC
    Do any other games using DX10+ crash? or is PCars the only game on your LapTop?
    Try running DirectX benchmark software and see if you still get a crash.
    https://benchmark.unigine.com/heaven
    https://benchmarks.ul.com/3dmark#windows
    AsRock X370 Taichi MB /AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.4Ghz / G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 / Samsung NVMe SSD 960 Evo M.2
    Samsung 250GB 850 EVO (SSD) / 2 X SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX480 8GB/OC 1342Mhz / SeaSonic Focus 750W Gold / AMD Adrenalin 18.2.1 drivers / Acer XZ271U bmijpphzx 27 Curved WQHD 2560 x 1440p 144Hz monitor.
    Windows 10 64bit / TrackIR 5, ver 5.2 final drivers / Logitech G27

Similar Threads

  1. No input device in session
    By David Slute in forum Technical Help & Support (PC)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14-11-2017, 08:54
  2. Create Device Failed. Windows 7 must be a least build 7601
    By Shon in forum Technical Help & Support (PC)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-10-2017, 05:43
  3. [Known Issue] ERROR! Failed to load data. do you want to retry the load?
    By Bogusmorgan in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-06-2015, 07:28
  4. Recommend me a pvr device
    By Oi Oi JC in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-05-2015, 15:40
  5. Failed to JOIN or CREATE session
    By gruiageo in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-05-2015, 23:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •