Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Game freeze on track load

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC

    Game freeze on track load

    Hi!

    This game used to run perfectly for me in VR, and on desktop. Now, it gets hung up and freezes whenever I try to load into a practice session. I've seen some of the other posts before about this, but none seem to offer fixes that work. I was going to post this yesterday but it suddenly started working again. Now, I'm back to square one and it's not working again.

    Specs: i5-4670K, MSI 1070ti, 8gb RAM, PC2 is on Windows install disk, Win10, Logitech G27

    Running programs: Steam, Malwarebytes

  2. #2
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,306
    So it's freezing even when loading into pancake mode ?

    Ryzen R7 3800X - Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite - 16Gig DDR4 (Ballistix Elite 3600) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 860 250G SSD, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec GT3 RS V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Pro (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. i7-4790T - Asus H97-Plus - 16G DDR3 PC-12800 - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

    YouTube channel - My attempt at a PC2 Career - a work in progress! - Trying other other racing content

  3. #3
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mad Al View Post
    So it's freezing even when loading into pancake mode ?
    Nope, it works fine just using my monitor.

  4. #4
    WMD Member satco1066's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    1,733
    Platform
    PC
    It would be nice to know, what VR headset you are using. And what mode ?
    Please be more specific.
    Every car could be a race car, as long as you have the balls to drive it like that !

    System MSI Mortar Titanium B450 | CPU Ryzen 5-3600x | RAM 32GB DDR4 | GPU RTX2080ti 11GB | OS Win 10 pro x64 V1903 | Screen Samsung KU6179 4k 49"
    Base Thrustmaster TS-PC Racer | Rim 458TX, GTE, T500RS Rim, TS-PC | Pedals Fanatec CSPv3 | Gearshifter TM T8HA | Button Box BBJ SimRacing 30F pro series
    HMD Oculus CV1 / HP Reverb | Motion Next Level Motion V3
    Devil's Core - Drivers Club ( german language )
    Closed Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/941216635916992/

  5. #5
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    I am using a Vive. Not sure exactly what you mean specifically by mode. I have only tried this with the practice sessions as that's usually what I end up doing when I play. I haven't tried it in career mode yet.

    Edit: Custom race does not work either. Career works, oddly enough. Then, once I exited the career race, I went back to private testing; it ignored my track preference and used the same track from the previous race, and spawns me in an empty garage on the floor.

    I've already tried deleting and reinstalling the game, and verifying my game files. Maybe this is an issue with a new SteamVR update?
    Last edited by bluejay122; 04-01-2020 at 03:37.

  6. #6
    WMD Member satco1066's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    1,733
    Platform
    PC
    if you owned an Oculus , you could have used it with oculus native or SteamVR. Thats what i meant with mode, not knowing what headset you use.
    Do you understand now, what i meant with "be specific" ?

    Ok , you can try to switch between SteamVR and SteamVR beta.
    Reinstalling game is mostly not needed, but you could try to delete or rename the pCars2 folder in documents. It could be a corrupted config file.
    Every car could be a race car, as long as you have the balls to drive it like that !

    System MSI Mortar Titanium B450 | CPU Ryzen 5-3600x | RAM 32GB DDR4 | GPU RTX2080ti 11GB | OS Win 10 pro x64 V1903 | Screen Samsung KU6179 4k 49"
    Base Thrustmaster TS-PC Racer | Rim 458TX, GTE, T500RS Rim, TS-PC | Pedals Fanatec CSPv3 | Gearshifter TM T8HA | Button Box BBJ SimRacing 30F pro series
    HMD Oculus CV1 / HP Reverb | Motion Next Level Motion V3
    Devil's Core - Drivers Club ( german language )
    Closed Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/941216635916992/

  7. #7
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    I think I found the fix, I turned off VR view and it started working. So far I have not encountered more issues.

Similar Threads

  1. Once in a while the game will freeze for 1 second.
    By tapidlittle in forum Technical Help & Support (PC)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-06-2018, 14:36
  2. Lag and game freeze at end of qualifying
    By FxUK in forum Technical Help & Support (PC)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 22-04-2018, 02:55
  3. 47+ cars with Ruf rg8 gt3 causing game freeze on load screen!!
    By rosko in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18-06-2016, 10:20
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-08-2015, 22:00
  5. Game freeze!
    By Im Sorry in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2015, 13:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •