Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Performance question

  1. #1
    GT3 Pilot Olijke Poffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,845
    Platform
    PC

    Performance question

    Hi all,

    As you can see in my sig, I have 3x27inch screens 2560*1440. Or 7680*1440 combined. With some games I need to switch to 1080p 1920*1080 or 5760*1080.
    Not a problem to do so but I read somewhere that switching back from 1440p to non native 1080p does not give the same fps as gaming in native 1080p.
    Is this correct? Does this mean I better can buy a new triple screen setup to win FPS. The non native 1080p res is still displayed on the 1440p screens so My GPU does not have less pixels to calculate. There are only lesser dpi if I understand.
    That said, my screens are made for DTP they are not gaming screens. So my screens can only produce 60fps max. In 1440p that is not a problem because my system can’t produce a higher fps in that res anyway. But when I game in the non native 1080p I could see more fps if my screens could handle more fps than the current max 60.
    My screens do still cost €300+ I can find a lot of good gaming screens made for gaming in that price range.

    Can anybody shine a light on this?
    Last edited by Olijke Poffer; 23-02-2022 at 11:52.
    Steam: Bull Shark CPU: Intel i7 8700k 6 cores @ 4.9 Ghz | RAM: 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz | GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB Mobo: MSI Z370 Krait Gaming | SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | OS: Win 10 x64 | Screen: G-MASTER GB3467WQSU-B1 3440*1440 | Controller:Fanatec CSW v2.5, ClubSport Shifter SQ V 1.5, CSL Elite pedals & loadcell brake| Misc: Oculus Rift , Simlab GT1 EVO Rig , Wife for serving Coffee and Beer.

  2. #2
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Posts
    12
    Platform
    PC
    One thing I got caught out with, and it might not be a problem for you since it seems game dependant, is the cable spec.

    Just make sure your HDMI/Display port cables have a high enough bitrate or that can be something that limits FPS & resolution. I tried upgrading to a 4k screen on the old cable and the cable just could not send sufficient data down quickly enough.

    Hopefully that helps a little
    The following user likes this Post: Olijke Poffer


  3. #3
    WMD Member Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    9,031
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Olijke Poffer View Post
    I read somewhere that switching back from 1440p to non native 1080p does not give the same fps as gaming in native 1080p.
    I think that is likely going to be game dependent. Removing the idea of triple monitors, 2560 x 1440 = 3,686,400 pixels. 1920 x 1080 = 2,073,600 pixels. Triple monitors just multiples the numbers by 3. Your system will work harder to produce more pixels per second (FPS) at 1440p vs 1080p. That's just data. However, when I said it will be game dependent as it depends on where the game spends there "processing budget". Is the title heavily focused on GPU or CPU? If the title is heavily CPU focused, then typically your CPU will limit performance and the difference between resolutions is lower. Something that is more GPU bound will show the difference of rendering between the two resolutions but it's definitely based on the title.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips
    The following user likes this Post: Olijke Poffer


  4. #4
    GT3 Pilot Olijke Poffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,845
    Platform
    PC
    Thanks guys. The fun part of this all, I played AMS2 almost only on 1080p. Just recently I turned it back to 1440p and did lower some settings like reflection and the amount of cars on the track. It looks like the game runs way smoother in 1440p than it did in 1080p. Shoot me. Anyway, I will think it over before buying new hardware. Will doe some more tests
    Steam: Bull Shark CPU: Intel i7 8700k 6 cores @ 4.9 Ghz | RAM: 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz | GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB Mobo: MSI Z370 Krait Gaming | SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | OS: Win 10 x64 | Screen: G-MASTER GB3467WQSU-B1 3440*1440 | Controller:Fanatec CSW v2.5, ClubSport Shifter SQ V 1.5, CSL Elite pedals & loadcell brake| Misc: Oculus Rift , Simlab GT1 EVO Rig , Wife for serving Coffee and Beer.

  5. #5
    WMD Member Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    9,031
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Olijke Poffer View Post
    Thanks guys. The fun part of this all, I played AMS2 almost only on 1080p. Just recently I turned it back to 1440p and did lower some settings like reflection and the amount of cars on the track. It looks like the game runs way smoother in 1440p than it did in 1080p. Shoot me. Anyway, I will think it over before buying new hardware. Will doe some more tests
    When you do test, you need to try and only change one thing at a time. Changing multiple things, you won't know what change made the difference.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  6. #6
    GT3 Pilot Olijke Poffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,845
    Platform
    PC
    Yeah that is the only way indeed.
    Steam: Bull Shark CPU: Intel i7 8700k 6 cores @ 4.9 Ghz | RAM: 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz | GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB Mobo: MSI Z370 Krait Gaming | SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | OS: Win 10 x64 | Screen: G-MASTER GB3467WQSU-B1 3440*1440 | Controller:Fanatec CSW v2.5, ClubSport Shifter SQ V 1.5, CSL Elite pedals & loadcell brake| Misc: Oculus Rift , Simlab GT1 EVO Rig , Wife for serving Coffee and Beer.

  7. #7
    GT3 Pilot
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    4,839
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Olijke Poffer View Post
    Thanks guys. The fun part of this all, I played AMS2 almost only on 1080p. Just recently I turned it back to 1440p and did lower some settings like reflection and the amount of cars on the track. It looks like the game runs way smoother in 1440p than it did in 1080p. Shoot me. Anyway, I will think it over before buying new hardware. Will doe some more tests
    Well, when monitors run in lower than their native resolution, they need to do some processing to adjust the image they receive to the actual resolution they have (a 1440p monitor always has 1440p pixels), otherwise it would look really bad. Maybe it's this conversion that causes the issue in 1080p...

  8. #8
    GT3 Pilot Olijke Poffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,845
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by cpcdem View Post
    Well, when monitors run in lower than their native resolution, they need to do some processing to adjust the image they receive to the actual resolution they have (a 1440p monitor always has 1440p pixels), otherwise it would look really bad. Maybe it's this conversion that causes the issue in 1080p...
    Yes it is something I thought about as well. There must be something going on under the hood.
    Steam: Bull Shark CPU: Intel i7 8700k 6 cores @ 4.9 Ghz | RAM: 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz | GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB Mobo: MSI Z370 Krait Gaming | SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | OS: Win 10 x64 | Screen: G-MASTER GB3467WQSU-B1 3440*1440 | Controller:Fanatec CSW v2.5, ClubSport Shifter SQ V 1.5, CSL Elite pedals & loadcell brake| Misc: Oculus Rift , Simlab GT1 EVO Rig , Wife for serving Coffee and Beer.
    The following user likes this Post: cpcdem


  9. #9
    WMD Member Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    9,031
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Olijke Poffer View Post
    Yeah that is the only way indeed.
    I'm just making that comment as your statement seemed to elude that you changed more than one thing:

    Just recently I turned it back to 1440p and did lower some settings like reflection and the amount of cars on the track.

    Unless you run the exact same settings at 1080p, it's hard to compare just the resolution change. There are some settings in the Madness Engine which are just resource hogs regardless of your resolution. Reflections are one of those.
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  10. #10
    GT3 Pilot Olijke Poffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,845
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
    I'm just making that comment as your statement seemed to elude that you changed more than one thing:

    Just recently I turned it back to 1440p and did lower some settings like reflection and the amount of cars on the track.

    Unless you run the exact same settings at 1080p, it's hard to compare just the resolution change. There are some settings in the Madness Engine which are just resource hogs regardless of your resolution. Reflections are one of those.
    I understand what you said. I just wrote it in a not very clear way I guess.
    Reflection and shadows are fps killers indeed. And the amount of cars on the track. With 15 it runs smooth with 25 inc myself I start notice FPS drops. (In 1440p that is) not strange as the combined pixel count is 11059200. Every extra math is a hit on my GPU.
    Steam: Bull Shark CPU: Intel i7 8700k 6 cores @ 4.9 Ghz | RAM: 16GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 @ 3000 Mhz | GPU: MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB Mobo: MSI Z370 Krait Gaming | SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | OS: Win 10 x64 | Screen: G-MASTER GB3467WQSU-B1 3440*1440 | Controller:Fanatec CSW v2.5, ClubSport Shifter SQ V 1.5, CSL Elite pedals & loadcell brake| Misc: Oculus Rift , Simlab GT1 EVO Rig , Wife for serving Coffee and Beer.
    The following user likes this Post: Mahjik


Similar Threads

  1. Question to performance ranking on racing license
    By Racerjohn in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-10-2020, 08:16
  2. Computer Performance vs Car Performance
    By belaki in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-02-2019, 00:51
  3. Cars performance stats VS actual in-game cars performance
    By TORAZ55 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-09-2017, 22:43
  4. Real performance vs Balanced performance
    By Javaniceday in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-07-2017, 15:57
  5. Performance question.
    By sweets in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2015, 19:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •