Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: G29 Wheel - Game Pause when turning

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC

    G29 Wheel - Game Pause when turning

    Hi all,

    Sorry if this is a know and fixable bug but Google has let me down.

    Whenever I turn my G29 left or right past a certain point (most noticeable on hairpins) the game pause menu opens. Clearly this is unworkable in a race and highly distracting. Any idea on a fix?

    Randie

  2. #2
    GT5 Pilot Fanapryde's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,841
    Platform
    PC
    A shot in the dark, but I know it has happened before...
    While turning the wheel that far, you did not touch the pause button by accident ?
    Sim-Lab P1 rig with integrated triple monitor brackets, Logitech Z906 5.1, OSW Simucube small Mige - BissC encoder / SSRG Custom wheel / Fanatec CSW shifter / Heusinkveld Ultimate pedals / Heusinkveld SQ shifter / ignitIONControls R1 button box. Creative 7.1 soundcard (x2) / 3 BENQ XL2720Z 144 Hz 27" PC: ASUS Pro Series - Intel i7 4790 (8x 4GHz) - Win10Pro - nVidia GTX 1080 ti - 16 GB ddr3 - SSD 256 GB / / RS Dash

  3. #3
    Moderator+WMD 1/2 Member Siberian Tiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rafz, Switzerland
    Posts
    2,028
    Platform
    PC
    I do have many Friends with the G29 on PC, and no one has that Problem, that you described...
    So, try to map the Pause Button to an other Key, and see if it happen again...
    Member Status: WMD 1 Senior x3 / WMD2 Gold
    Portable System: Dell XPS 17 Notebook CPU: Intel Core i7-2670QM @2.2 GHZ , RAM: 8GB, GPU: NVIDIA GForce GT555M, HDD: WD 2.5" Notebook 500GB, OS: Windows 7 64-bit,Wheel: Logitech G25, Sound: NVidia Onboard Soundcard
    Gaming System AsRock Z77 Extreme 4 / i7 7700K with Antec H2o 920 Liquid Cooling System / PSU: Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 680W / GPU: MSI Gaming GTX1070 (OC) / RAM: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance / SSD: 250GB Samsung Basic 840 / HDD: 1TB WD Caviar Black / OS: Windows 7 64-Bit / Wheel: Thrustmaster T500RS - Standart GT Rim / Monitor: Epson EH-TW3200 Homecinema 16:9 Full HD Beamer / RacingSeat: Playseat with some Modifications...

  4. #4
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Fanapryde View Post
    A shot in the dark, but I know it has happened before...
    While turning the wheel that far, you did not touch the pause button by accident ?
    Hi,

    No I thought this might be the case but have discounted it.

  5. #5
    WMD Member Mahjik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    9,089
    Platform
    PC
    If you un-map the buttons to do nothing, does it still happen?
    Intel i7-4790K @4.4GHz | 16gb ram | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 | 5040x1050 | Windows 8.1 64-bit | Thrustmaster TX Servo Base | Thrustmaster TH8A Shifter
    ProtoSimTech PT-1 Pedals | rSeat Evo V2 | Front/Rear Transducers | SimVibe | Black Max II Button Controller | Sennheiser PC 360 Headset


    Forum Rules
    PC2 FAQ & Tips

  6. #6
    GT4 Pilot Charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2,182
    Platform
    PC
    It's a known problem, it's the flimsy wires that run to the connector block fail and cause all sorts of button presses, some guy modded it with heavier gauge wire and a new connector block, if it's under warranty take it back.
    'Racers Without Borders'
    http://rwbracing.club/
    https://www.rwbracing.club/events/
    Discord rwbracing.club/discord
    Commodore 64, 64K RAM, Tape Drive, Grundig TV. Overclocked ;-)
    The following 3 users likes this Post: DerrellBiffle, Invincible, Silraed


  7. #7
    GT4 Pilot Silraed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    2,003
    Platform
    PC
    As Charger says it is to do with the wires and the connectors, whether they are stretched too tight or just low quality and bad quality control I don't think anybody knows. It is valid grounds for a warranty replacement however so I would recommend going through that as well.
    r5 2600X | Asus RX Vega 56 Strix | 16GB RAM | Fanatec CSL Elite + CSP V3 + TH8A shifter | Next Level Racing Wheel Stand

  8. #8
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Pricktoria
    Posts
    313
    Platform
    PC
    Yep, I agree with the guys above, I had this issue with mine and returned it after 4 months, is a big problem, I didn't go for a replacement, went for the t500 instead.

  9. #9
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Randie View Post
    Hi all,

    Sorry if this is a know and fixable bug but Google has let me down.

    Whenever I turn my G29 left or right past a certain point (most noticeable on hairpins) the game pause menu opens. Clearly this is unworkable in a race and highly distracting. Any idea on a fix?

    Randie
    This is a known problem with the G29 and G920 wheels. The main harness / wire connector that hooks up to the wheel (from the main body) is getting stressed and causes some of the wires / crimp to break. There was a long thread about this on the Logitech Forum but it seems Logitech recently upgraded to new forum software so it got deleted.

    Contact Logitech and they will replace the wheel, the next time you get a wheel, you might want to tug on the cable leading from the body see if you can give it some more slack - some people have been hot glue-gunning the wires on the connector to reinforce it.

    If you can still return your wheel, might want to do it and get something else. It'll eventually break.

    Aftermarket needs to sell some parts for the G29 / G920.. The C-clamps for one breaks for some people, there's also a market for for an extension wiring harness with better wires to fix the problem you are running into - Logitech's approach is just to replace the wheel which basically means it'll break again (and not fixing the root cause).
    Last edited by funks; 15-08-2016 at 00:32.

Similar Threads

  1. [BUG] Photo mode does not pause playback during in-game replay
    By DisturbedUKR in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13-01-2016, 20:43
  2. Win10 - G27 Turning In-Game Car Wheel About 270 Degrees, Calibrated at 900 Degrees
    By WildKarrde in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 21:05
  3. Ghosting while turning wheel?
    By kesj in forum PS4 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2015, 08:31
  4. Steam overlay does not pause game
    By SmileinHD in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-05-2015, 22:21
  5. PAUSE FREEZES GAME
    By Initia1 B in forum Project CARS on Xbox One
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18-05-2015, 18:48

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •