Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: [NO] Nvidia Surround still required for triple screen setup?

  1. #1
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    212
    Platform
    PC

    [NO] Nvidia Surround still required for triple screen setup?

    Hi,

    do we still need Nvidia Surround for triples (to generate one big virtual screen) or can everything be configured within PCARS2 without Surround?

    Kind regards
    Mike
    i7 3770K@4.1GHz, Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti Gaming OC, 3x1920x1200 triple screen, TM TS-PC Racer wheel, T3PA-PRO pedals, Fanatec Clubsport Shifter SQ v1.5, Windows 10 64Bit, 24GB RAM

  2. #2
    WMD Member beetes_juice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,050
    Platform
    PC
    Project CARS 2 Driver Eye Youtube Playlist
    Current Rig: Monitor: Sharp 42" LED | VR: Oculus Rift CV1 | CPU: i7-6700k @ 4.0GHz | GPU:STRIX 1080TI OC | MB: ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING | Drives: Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB M.2 + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD + WD BLACK SERIES 1TB 3.5 | RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB @ 3200MHz | Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro | PSU: EVGA 850W G2 80+GOLD
    Hardware: Wheel: FAN PC HUB | Pedals: FAN V2 | Rim: FAN GT US
    The following 2 users likes this Post: eracerhead, Fanapryde


  3. #3
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    212
    Platform
    PC
    Wow, this sounds fantastic. When I've understood correctly, we will not need Surround anymore. This is perfect!
    i7 3770K@4.1GHz, Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti Gaming OC, 3x1920x1200 triple screen, TM TS-PC Racer wheel, T3PA-PRO pedals, Fanatec Clubsport Shifter SQ v1.5, Windows 10 64Bit, 24GB RAM

  4. #4
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    239
    Platform
    PC
    The video i dont think answered your question - I personally was running Nvidia surround.. (with my 4th monitor the accesory monitor). Everything else was as per video above. I never did test without nvidia surround. (not sure how it would determine which of my 4 monitors the 3 triples are).

    At the top of the screen in the video you see Triple screen ticked (That causes each screen to render seperately) in the correct aspect ration.
    Unticking it then just makes the game render one 5760x1080 screen (Effectively elongating the side screens like the original game did).

    I noted around 15% frame rate loss when rendering independantly (as you would expect and seems better than most other sims - 15-25% loss), however to have a correct triple screen is worth it.

    That said, not sure what the AMD WMD guys were using - It may work without, i just didnt test it.
    Last edited by drathuu; 15-09-2017 at 02:21.
    CPU : I7-7700k, 16gb Gskill 3200 DDR4 Ram. GTX 1070
    3x27" AOC Monitors, G29, with custom perfect pedal mod.
    The following user likes this Post: FatnSlo


  5. #5
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    212
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by drathuu View Post
    The video i dont think answered your question - I personally was running Nvidia surround.. (with my 4th monitor the accesory monitor). Everything else was as per video above. I never did test without nvidia surround. (not sure how it would determine which of my 4 monitors the 3 triples are).

    At the top of the screen in the video you see Triple screen ticked (That causes each screen to render seperately) in the correct aspect ration.
    Unticking it then just makes the game render one 5760x1080 screen (Effectively elongating the side screens like the original game did).

    I noted around 15% frame rate loss when rendering independantly (as you would expect and seems better than most other sims - 15-25% loss), however to have a correct triple screen is worth it.

    That said, not sure what the AMD WMD guys were using - It may work without, i just didnt test it.
    Thanks for the clarification. Nvidia Surround is not working smooth with Win10 in my case. It means I can't use the "one button" activation of Surround. I have to configure it for every session completely fresh:-(
    But I can live with it.
    Last edited by Juhu_0815; 15-09-2017 at 07:39.
    i7 3770K@4.1GHz, Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti Gaming OC, 3x1920x1200 triple screen, TM TS-PC Racer wheel, T3PA-PRO pedals, Fanatec Clubsport Shifter SQ v1.5, Windows 10 64Bit, 24GB RAM

  6. #6
    WMD Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    43
    Hi Juhu,

    No you don't need Nvidia Surround enabled. My PC was running windows extended desktop when that video was shot.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Mobo: Gigabyte X79-UD3 (F16) | CPU: Intel i7 4930k @ 4.3Ghz + Corsair H100| RAM: G Skill Ripjaws 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600Mhz | Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium
    GPU: Reference Nvidia GTX 1080 with EVGA hybrid kit | | Disks: 128GB+260GB SSD (O/S and game installs), 1TB HDD (storage)| PSU: Corsair AX850W | O/S: Win 10 Home 64bit
    Input: Fanatec CSW v2 (fw176/driver 250) with Porsche 918 rim, CSP v3, CSS SQ + CSH | Display: 3x Asus VE278Q + Rift CV1 | Sound: Sennhieser PC360 Headphones


    In game settings: Rift - mainly low/medium settings, high car/texture details, DS2M | Monitor - mainly high everything | Launcher Options - dx11mt

  7. #7
    WMD Member John Hargreaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,346
    Platform
    PC
    As far as I know, it also has support for different sized displays too, they don't have to match. I didn't manage to test before the beta was pulled, but I think it should handle something like 19"-34"-19" which is what I'm planning to try.
    i5-12600K/MSI RTX 3080/Win11 64bit/64Gb RAM/Asus Xonar DX+Beyer Dynamic DT990 Pro headphones/LG 34" UM65 @2560x1080/HP Reverb G2/Fanatec CSL wheel + Clubsport V3 pedals/DSD P2 button box

    WMD1 + WMD2 Member

  8. #8
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    212
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by stephenb View Post
    Hi Juhu,

    No you don't need Nvidia Surround enabled. My PC was running windows extended desktop when that video was shot.
    Fine, this is definitly a step forward!
    i7 3770K@4.1GHz, Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti Gaming OC, 3x1920x1200 triple screen, TM TS-PC Racer wheel, T3PA-PRO pedals, Fanatec Clubsport Shifter SQ v1.5, Windows 10 64Bit, 24GB RAM

  9. #9
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Bothell (Seattle), WA
    Posts
    162
    Platform
    PC
    Anyone tried playing triple 4K monitors? Would need at least a pair of GTX 1080 Ti or Titans...

  10. #10
    Superkart Pilot
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    307
    Platform
    PC
    What's the difference with having NVidia Surround on, vs disabled? It better disabled? Asking as I currently use my triples in NVidia Surround (as well as w/ other sims) and don't want to keep switching, if not necessary.
    PC: Asrock z370 Extreme4 (W10-x64) | i7-8700K | GSkill (2x8GB) | MSI 1080Ti Gaming X | Triple Benq 27" (Oculus Rift CV1) | XFX 650W CE | Samsung 860 Evo 250GB/500GB SSD
    Gear: T300RS / CSR Elite Pedals (Backup: G27 pedals (Ricmotech Load Cell) | WSP v2

Similar Threads

  1. FPS W/ Tripple Screen and NVidia Surround
    By Rombo Deadfish in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-06-2017, 19:35
  2. Nvidia surround triple monitor help
    By downsideuped in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-09-2016, 19:35
  3. Windows 10 & Nvidia Triple Screen Issue
    By tonypbeck in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 19-01-2016, 19:15
  4. Nvidia- Triple Screen Graphics Settings
    By Hinch Jackman in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-05-2015, 18:37
  5. PC, NVIDIA surround (triple monitor issues)
    By danituga in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-05-2015, 02:50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •