Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New to PC2 - A couple of questions

  1. #1
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC

    New to PC2 - A couple of questions

    I got PC2 in the humble bundle recently, what a bargain that was, and am having an absolute BLAST playing it in VR. It's probably one of the best examples of VR v Flat screen and the immersion factor going through the roof.

    My "late to the party" questions are:

    1. PC2 is a few years old, is there a PC3 on the horizon?
    2. I tried online but found it hard to jump into a server - is the online scene a bit quiet now?
    3. In VR playing using a controller, I cannot figure out the equivalent of the Escape key ie to return to the menu screen...?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Superkart Pilot PawelK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    586
    Platform
    PC
    1. supposedly it is

    2. I usually see between 15 and 60 lobbies running, depending on the time and day, so finding a race should not be a problem if you are not to picky, I mean OK with racing in GT3, most lobbies are in GT3.

    At this moment I see 28 lobbies


    3. It does not seem to be assignable to a wheel or controller button but I may be wrong. I race in VR with a wheel and I just have my keyboard nearby and can hit Esc without looking.
    Frenzy Conducive "Benzine Wagons" Being "Tuned-Up" By Mechanicians

    A few simracing videos

  3. #3
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by PawelK View Post

    2. I usually see between 15 and 60 lobbies running, depending on the time and day, so finding a race should not be a problem if you are not to picky, I mean OK with racing in GT3, most lobbies are in GT3.

    At this moment I see 28 lobbies
    WhatI find frustrating is joining a lobby and then nothing happends for 10 minutes - how do I avoid that. For example if I join a lobby that is already Q, will I get to join the race?


    Quote Originally Posted by PawelK View Post
    3. It does not seem to be assignable to a wheel or controller button but I may be wrong. I race in VR with a wheel and I just have my keyboard nearby and can hit Esc without looking.
    Haha, that's what I do but its a pain in the backside because the orientation keeps changing where the KB is.

    That's cool you race in VR - are there any forums or groups specialising in VR online racing?

  4. #4
    Superkart Pilot PawelK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    586
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by R0CKY View Post
    WhatI find frustrating is joining a lobby and then nothing happends for 10 minutes - how do I avoid that. For example if I join a lobby that is already Q, will I get to join the race?
    If you join Q when there is still at least 3 or 4 minutes left, you will join quali and can race. Later you can only spectate.

    You may want to read my post here: http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...-racing-how-to

    Also be patient, PC2 multiplayer isn't bug-less by any means.



    Quote Originally Posted by R0CKY View Post
    Haha, that's what I do but its a pain in the backside because the orientation keeps changing where the KB is.
    Not with the wheel :-)

    Quote Originally Posted by R0CKY View Post
    That's cool you race in VR - are there any forums or groups specialising in VR online racing?
    Not that I am aware of. There are some threads here with tips about VR setup.

    I used to race on a single monitor, but with proper FOV I couldn't see well, especially apexes of tight corners. Switched to VR and it became so much better, plus the immersion. Though resolution sucks.
    Frenzy Conducive "Benzine Wagons" Being "Tuned-Up" By Mechanicians

    A few simracing videos

  5. #5
    WMD Member Mad Al's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    3,451
    I think you should find this should do the trick...
    Controls -> Edit Assignments-> Game -> Pause

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200325090529_1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	144.5 KB 
ID:	278732

    Ryzen R7 3800X - Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite - 16Gig DDR4 (Ballistix Elite 3600) - ZOTAC GTX1080Ti FE with EVGA Hybrid Cooler - iiiyama ProLite B2783QSU - Oculus Rift CV1 - Samsung 860 250G SSD, WD 6T Black, WD 2T Black, OCZ 120G Vertex 2 SSD, LiteOn iHAS122 DVD-RW - Creative 5.1 speaker system - Logitech G19 - Gigabyte GM-M6880X Gaming Mouse - Fanatec CSL Elite + Formula V2 + CSP V3 + SSH Shifter - Windows 10 Pro (64 bit).

    Second machine used for additional testing. Ryzen R5 3600X - Asus Prime X570-P - 32G DDR4 (Crucial Ballistix 3200) - EVGA RTX2060 - iiyama Prolite E2607WS - Oculus Rift CV1 - W10 Pro (64 bit) - xbox360 pad or Logitech DFP (all at stock speeds)

    HTPC - For testing of Steam Big Picture Mode (Hopefully from Media Portal 2) - i5-4590S - ASUS H81M-C - 8G DDR3 PC-10666 - Gigabyte GTX1050Ti - Windows 10 Home (64 bit) - xbox360 pad

    YouTube channel - My attempt at a PC2 Career - a work in progress! - Trying other other racing content
    The following user likes this Post: hkraft300


  6. #6
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by PawelK View Post
    If you join Q when there is still at least 3 or 4 minutes left, you will join quali and can race. Later you can only spectate.

    You may want to read my post here: [/url]
    Nice one, thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by PawelK View Post
    Not with the wheel :-)
    Yesterday I bit the bullet and decided to shell out on a decent wheel from Amazon - I waited too long - out of stock! So controller it is for the foreseeable future. Its fine though.

    Quote Originally Posted by PawelK View Post
    Switched to VR and it became so much better, plus the immersion. Though resolution sucks.
    I'm having some cracking VR moments in PC2 for sure. I tried it originally on the old Vive, but as you say, the res was just not good enough. On my Vive Pro it is "good" but not "great". I can't wait for the next gen of HMDs - these will really be great for sim racing.

    What HMD are you using?

  7. #7
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    13
    Platform
    PC
    Hey MadAl, thanks for the screenshot and tip - that's fixed it for me, no need to keep removing headset now!

    Thanks.
    The following user likes this Post: Mad Al


  8. #8
    Superkart Pilot PawelK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    586
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Mad Al View Post
    I think you should find this should do the trick...
    Controls -> Edit Assignments-> Game -> Pause
    Am I blind or what?


    Quote Originally Posted by R0CKY View Post
    Yesterday I bit the bullet and decided to shell out on a decent wheel from Amazon - I waited too long - out of stock! So controller it is for the foreseeable future. Its fine though.
    Depending on where (what country) you are , there may be a better deals occasionally. I got my Thrustmaster TX from BH Photo video for $300, even now normal prices are in $450-$500 range.


    Quote Originally Posted by R0CKY View Post
    What HMD are you using?
    Odyssey+. Higher-resolution headsets like Pimax are pretty costly, but I guess that upgrading the PC to be able to run high-res VR costs far more.
    Frenzy Conducive "Benzine Wagons" Being "Tuned-Up" By Mechanicians

    A few simracing videos

  9. #9
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    9
    Platform
    PC
    Controls -> Edit Assignments-> Game -> Pause.

Similar Threads

  1. Couple of stock car questions...
    By hoanggia1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-06-2018, 01:50
  2. Couple of questions queries
    By Leper Messiah in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-05-2018, 12:01
  3. a couple of questions...
    By Madmazz116 in forum Project CARS 2 on Playstation 4
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-10-2017, 13:40
  4. couple of questions
    By ian2726 in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2016, 09:25
  5. Have a couple questions...
    By Brokencarr00t1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-08-2015, 15:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •