Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Losing the will to live!!

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC

    Losing the will to live!!

    Hi all

    First post here so hi to everyone.

    New to PC gaming, currently can’t see the enjoyment in it but hoping some help here will change that.

    I’m not that great with anything more than standard PC use, but can find my way around complex stuff with assistance. I’m told the PC is pretty decent for gaming, few years old but built (not by me) as a gaming PC and have just put 16gb of ram in, dual channel.

    I’ve given up on Assetto corsa, as no matter what I did, with hours of help, I can’t get much above 30fps.

    So I’ve downloaded project cars to try. And I’m having issues here too, and I cannot understand why. I’ve spent hours today google all sorts and finding handy tips, but NOTHING I do changes anything. The main issue is average looking screenplay. Which is guess is due to FPS.

    I’ve tried changing all settings to high and low, tried the ‘low specs experience’ install, tried plugging the screen into all of the HDMI ports.....nothing. Just crappy looking low end graphics.

    I am running in a Sony TV, so 60hz, but Forza runs very well so can’t see why it would be the TV??

    I now literally don’t know where to turn, as I thought my failings with AC were due to me being a novice, but now not getting far with Project Cars either.

    Sorry for the waffle! Thanks, Mark
    Last edited by Mark_H; 24-01-2021 at 11:50. Reason: Typo

  2. #2
    WMD Member Asturbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Asturias / Spain
    Posts
    1,580
    Platform
    PC
    Could you post your system specs (CPU/GPU)?
    CPU: Intel i9-9900KF | GPU: nVidia RTX2080Ti | RAM: Gskill 2x16GB DDR4 3600 | MB: Asus ROG Strix Z370 | SSD: Samsung EVO 970 500Gb | Monitor: Acer Predator Z35P UW WQHD | Wheel: Fanatec DD1 + Porsche Endurance + Formula 1 V2 | SO: Windows 10 Pro 64bits
    WMD1 & WMD2 Gold Member /// Steam Profile /// Unofficial Issue List /// Button Box Label Template /// DS Flags Calculator /// Open Weather App /// DS Config Samples /// Google Standings /// PCARS4 wish list

  3. #3
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    Sure, these OK?

    i3-6100 3.2 GHZ, 16gb RAM
    AMD Radeon R9 200 (drivers up to date)
    Strix motherboard

    Thanks, Mark

  4. #4
    WMD Member John Hargreaves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    3,094
    Platform
    PC
    Is the Sony TV 4K or 1080p?
    i7-7700K/MSI RTX 3080/Win10 64bit/64Gb RAM/Asus Xonar DX+Beyer Dynamic DT990 Pro headphones/LG 34" UM65 @2560x1080/HP Reverb G2/Fanatec CSL wheel + Clubsport V3 pedals/DSD P2 button box

    WMD1 + WMD2 Member

  5. #5
    Superkart Pilot Twinz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    879
    Platform
    PC
    The R290 looks borderline at 1080p:

    https://www.techspot.com/amp/review/...rks/page2.html

    Fps in the 40's?
    Steam name: z1nonly YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Z1NONLY/featured Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/z1nonly172
    5800X / RTX 3080 FE / 32gb DDR4 @3600 C15 / HP Reverb Pro / GTA-F racing simulator / Fanatec CSL Elite-P1 / CS V3 pedals / CS Shifter SQ V 1.5

  6. #6
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    It’s not a 4K no.

    No idea how to check the FPS whilst playing?

    I have just found display settings on the graphics control centre and enabled a couple of things there, which dare I say, think have improved it!

  7. #7
    WMD Member Asturbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Asturias / Spain
    Posts
    1,580
    Platform
    PC
    You can check the FPS activating the overlay in GeForce Experience. EDIT: Forget it, your GPU is AMD.

    Anyway, your CPU is only 2 cores and it's a bottleneck for sim racing. Probably you could find a second hand 6th/7th i5/i7 processor (test your MoBo CPU compatibility list), arround 100€ and it will a big improvement. But your GPU is on the limit too. With that setup, is normal you get poor FPS.
    Last edited by Asturbo; 24-01-2021 at 13:10.
    CPU: Intel i9-9900KF | GPU: nVidia RTX2080Ti | RAM: Gskill 2x16GB DDR4 3600 | MB: Asus ROG Strix Z370 | SSD: Samsung EVO 970 500Gb | Monitor: Acer Predator Z35P UW WQHD | Wheel: Fanatec DD1 + Porsche Endurance + Formula 1 V2 | SO: Windows 10 Pro 64bits
    WMD1 & WMD2 Gold Member /// Steam Profile /// Unofficial Issue List /// Button Box Label Template /// DS Flags Calculator /// Open Weather App /// DS Config Samples /// Google Standings /// PCARS4 wish list

  8. #8
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    I did wonder about GE Force haha.

    Ok will have a look into i5/i7, thank you.

    After toggling the setting for the TV via the graphics settings, I hopped onto Assetto Corsa and FPS jumped to 130-140!!! It was 30 haha.

    This may have been the issue previously as PC now looking loads better
    The following user likes this Post: John Hargreaves


Similar Threads

  1. Losing control in MP
    By MARC35 in forum Multiplayer
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-11-2017, 21:51
  2. Losing top speed
    By Pekous in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 19-07-2015, 23:16
  3. Losing Control
    By jsykes in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-06-2015, 03:37
  4. Losing FFB in Multiplayer
    By Rhime in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-06-2015, 14:37
  5. Losing FFB
    By HLR Ghosty in forum XB1 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 17:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •